We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hostel in Miami” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Miami”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

PROS: Large dorm with ensuite bathroom. Nice atmosphere. A big pool! Good location to beach and nightlife. Helpful staff. Outside common area.

CONS: Dorms/bathrooms could be cleaner. The guy that deals with the tours walking around constantly speaking loudly on his mobile! My food in the fridge was eirther stolen or thrown away by staff even although it was labelled!

BUT overall, I would highly recommend this place. It may not be the liveliest hostel to stay but its certainly the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coops73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    216
    166
    59
    46
See reviews for
60
188
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Good location in Miami Beach. Chap and with free Internet. Rooms essential and a bit dull, however quite clean. There's also a BBQ you can use yourself. Staff helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tropics orginally for 2 nights then stayed an additional night during early July.

The hotel/hostel is basic but for the price we paid was brilliantly located and more importantly for us, clean. We stayed in a spacious double room which was equiped with a TV, phone and safe. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and could of done with a lick of paint but we received fresh towels when requested and the room was cleaned each day.

There is internet available, a pool and a selection of flyers on local attractions.

If you like luxury don't stay here. If you just want good value accommodaton, close to the centre of things with friendly staff then this maybe for you.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beenaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

If you don't mind to stay with strangers in a room but staying chep in a great location, so that's the place to be in MIami Beach! Pool, the ocean onlz one block away, great people, kitchen oustide at poolside with huge fridges, gas cooking places - simply wonderful! The bunk beds have good comfort, ok the bathrooms are a bit old, but clean. the cleaning girls funny and freindly. The receptionist good and fun people. very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huberliesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

The hostel is more like a hotel with great facilities beautiful rooms and excellent helpful staff. Thank u Raul for all the excellent deals on trips!!!! Would so stay here again. After our nighhtmare in our hostel in new york the tropics was a breath of fresh air. Large room with own tv and bathroom. Its honestly a great place to stay, we even extended ours. great pool, great kitchen, great prices. Thank u again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

MY BOOKING WAS CANCELLED 8 HOURS PRIOR TO MY ARRIVAL. i couldnt believe my own eyes when i saw the email from this hostel stating that my booking was cancelled because they could not obtain authorization on my credit card. i made the booking 2 months before coming - the deposit was taken from my bank account - and then a month after that the card i used to make the payment with was stolen so i had to block it - Obviously!! then 8 hours before we were supposed to check in at the hostel the hostel decided to check my card - and it didnt work because it was blocked!! they didnt even contact me regarding that and decided to CANCEL my booking straight away... imagine my frustration!!!! i called them and they said the room is gone but they MIGHT have something if i call a bit later... what a [--] up authorization system that is!?!?!?!? CARDS GET STOLEN AND LOST SOMETIMES!!! so be careful when u make a bookign with these guys or better just DONT. Go to INTERNATIONAL TRAVELERS MIAMI BEACH HOSTEL instead!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank izulejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was dirty and the furnishings were sparse. The cable didn't work at all. But the location was good. It was right next to great shopping and bars, and it was only a couple blocks from the beach. The staff was very nice. And surprisingly it wasn't noisy. I'd say if you're at South Beach to party and will only use the hotel to sleep in then this hotel will do just fine, but if you plan on wanting to relax at the hotel at all, choose a different place. This hotel was really cheap though. The only reason I stayed there was because I wanted to kept a budget with hotel rooms for the week. So I skimped with this hotel room the 1st 3 nights and splurged a little the next 4 at a different hotel!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#57 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Aqua Hotel
#197 of 206 in Miami Beach
2.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#17 of 80 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#8 of 80 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#1 of 80 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Ocean Blue Hostel
#30 of 80 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing