We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Time Again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Time Again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was probably my fourth time staying at the Tropics and I am never disappointed. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are basic but clean. The pool and tables by poolside are a great place to spent time after time at the beach. The location can't be beat as well as the rates are good for South Beach. I will return again to the Tropics. See you this fall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    216
    166
    59
    46
See reviews for
61
188
103
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in the tropics for 2 weeks and i really enjoyed my stay. I was in a private room and everything was good. 3mn from the beach or if you prefer the pool it´s just next door... The personnel was very helpfull and always ready to advice you. It´s really a good price-quality ratio if you are still hesitating for a place in south beach go there !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom95c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights in a female only dorm. Room was clean & tidy with an ensuite. The window in the bathroom did not stay open by itself & as there was no fan & the window in the room did not open, we had to improvise.
No lockers in the room but you could leave valueables at reception.
Staff were friendly - was not told about the kitchen by the pool though.
If you're not going to spend much time at the hotel/hostel then I recommend this place.
Wifi is only available in the lobby.
Booked tours through the hotel. One went fine the other did not & when I complained I was fobbed off & told to talk to another person & the situation didnt get rectified before I left. Recommend booking straight with the tour company.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are not opposed to staying in a hostel/hotel and want a great location with reasonable price, then this is the place for you! It is not fancy by all means, but within walking distance to most things in south beach and at a fraction of the cost of other hotels, so who cares if it's not fancy. My friends and I go on an annual trip to South Beach every year for Winter Music Festival and we have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years and every year our group grows and we joke about renting out the whole hotel. Since there is a big event on the week that we go the other hotels in same vicinity are $300 and up a night. So this one which is around $120 a night for private is a steal! I'm sure rest of the year it is cheaper, as all of South Beach would be I assume.
They have hostel type rooms or private rooms for anywhere from 2-4 people. We always get a private room. The rooms have flat screen tv's and private bathroom. Some of the rooms have air conditioning but not all do. All the staff is really friendly. The walls are paper thin so expect to hear others in the hall. But it is right across the street from the beach and close to all the major hotels that put on pool parties. Close to restaurant and shops.
So if your not fussy about your room and want to be in the vibrant part of miami and near all the nightlife then I recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shernandez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading several reviews, but The Tropics hotel was really not that bad!

The LOCATION of the hotel is PERRRRFECT!!! You are right in the heart of it all- so close to Ocean Drive, right across from the beach, TONS of restaurants and shops all around, and you are paying astronomically less than your neighbors right across the street.

The room I got (private hotel room with queen bed) was clean and comfortable- this is an old art-deco type building so don't expect everything to look fancy, but everything was entirely functional. The carpets/hallways smelled a bit old and musty, but the things that mattered (bed and bathroom) were all clean and just fine.

The staff at the front desk was very warm and pleasant, too!

I would highly recommend this Hotel for the budget traveler. My only tip: bring your own shower stuff i.e. Shampoo/Conditioner as I only received bar soap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiftyBlingBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My main complaint is that there are 4 tables outside by kitchen (under shade/roof). One smoker would sit at each, so a non-smoker had no choice but to share a table with smoke while eating: gross! This would be solved by having 2 tables reserved for non-smokers. We ended up eating in our room or carrying chairs out to pool, where there wasn't that much shade at midday. Next time I will mark a table non-smoking! However, the rest of the place was great. Very international clientele, good service, quiet (a miracle on South Beach!), kitchen is great, pool was freezing so could only do 12 laps at a time before my ears hurt, but it cut down on people using it! Can't beat the location, paid $111us/night, right next to beach & walking distance to everything. Parking a bit tricky but that's South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Totally agree with the 2 recent reviews for the Tropics.
We stayed in a private room at the end of March for 2 nights - The prices vary depending on day of the week - We were shocked by how expensive Miami is but think we hit the end of 'Spring Break' season.
We chose the Tropics using TripA reviews and have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The room even though it was old and dated was perfectly clean and well presented.
The shower water pressure was really good - which is important after a day on the beach.
The multi-storey car park just around the corner is relatively good value.
The hotel location is perfect for all the tourist hotspots - all within easy walking distance.
i would recommend emailing / calling ahead to ask for a quiet room - we asked at check-in and our request was happily met.
If you are just looking for a base to sleep then the Tropics is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#58 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#193 of 202 in Miami Beach
2.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#17 of 79 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#8 of 79 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#1 of 79 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Ocean Blue Hostel
#33 of 79 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing