We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cheap accomodation close to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheap accomodation close to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights in a female only dorm. Room was clean & tidy with an ensuite. The window in the bathroom did not stay open by itself & as there was no fan & the window in the room did not open, we had to improvise.
No lockers in the room but you could leave valueables at reception.
Staff were friendly - was not told about the kitchen by the pool though.
If you're not going to spend much time at the hotel/hostel then I recommend this place.
Wifi is only available in the lobby.
Booked tours through the hotel. One went fine the other did not & when I complained I was fobbed off & told to talk to another person & the situation didnt get rectified before I left. Recommend booking straight with the tour company.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    211
    156
    58
    45
See reviews for
56
180
100
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are not opposed to staying in a hostel/hotel and want a great location with reasonable price, then this is the place for you! It is not fancy by all means, but within walking distance to most things in south beach and at a fraction of the cost of other hotels, so who cares if it's not fancy. My friends and I go on an annual trip to South Beach every year for Winter Music Festival and we have been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years and every year our group grows and we joke about renting out the whole hotel. Since there is a big event on the week that we go the other hotels in same vicinity are $300 and up a night. So this one which is around $120 a night for private is a steal! I'm sure rest of the year it is cheaper, as all of South Beach would be I assume.
They have hostel type rooms or private rooms for anywhere from 2-4 people. We always get a private room. The rooms have flat screen tv's and private bathroom. Some of the rooms have air conditioning but not all do. All the staff is really friendly. The walls are paper thin so expect to hear others in the hall. But it is right across the street from the beach and close to all the major hotels that put on pool parties. Close to restaurant and shops.
So if your not fussy about your room and want to be in the vibrant part of miami and near all the nightlife then I recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shernandez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading several reviews, but The Tropics hotel was really not that bad!

The LOCATION of the hotel is PERRRRFECT!!! You are right in the heart of it all- so close to Ocean Drive, right across from the beach, TONS of restaurants and shops all around, and you are paying astronomically less than your neighbors right across the street.

The room I got (private hotel room with queen bed) was clean and comfortable- this is an old art-deco type building so don't expect everything to look fancy, but everything was entirely functional. The carpets/hallways smelled a bit old and musty, but the things that mattered (bed and bathroom) were all clean and just fine.

The staff at the front desk was very warm and pleasant, too!

I would highly recommend this Hotel for the budget traveler. My only tip: bring your own shower stuff i.e. Shampoo/Conditioner as I only received bar soap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FiftyBlingBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My main complaint is that there are 4 tables outside by kitchen (under shade/roof). One smoker would sit at each, so a non-smoker had no choice but to share a table with smoke while eating: gross! This would be solved by having 2 tables reserved for non-smokers. We ended up eating in our room or carrying chairs out to pool, where there wasn't that much shade at midday. Next time I will mark a table non-smoking! However, the rest of the place was great. Very international clientele, good service, quiet (a miracle on South Beach!), kitchen is great, pool was freezing so could only do 12 laps at a time before my ears hurt, but it cut down on people using it! Can't beat the location, paid $111us/night, right next to beach & walking distance to everything. Parking a bit tricky but that's South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liltravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Totally agree with the 2 recent reviews for the Tropics.
We stayed in a private room at the end of March for 2 nights - The prices vary depending on day of the week - We were shocked by how expensive Miami is but think we hit the end of 'Spring Break' season.
We chose the Tropics using TripA reviews and have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The room even though it was old and dated was perfectly clean and well presented.
The shower water pressure was really good - which is important after a day on the beach.
The multi-storey car park just around the corner is relatively good value.
The hotel location is perfect for all the tourist hotspots - all within easy walking distance.
i would recommend emailing / calling ahead to ask for a quiet room - we asked at check-in and our request was happily met.
If you are just looking for a base to sleep then the Tropics is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice pool, average (but clean) rooms, we had a safe in our double private room, air con worked great, poor customer service at reception, communal kitchen is a bit grubby, the lift was VERY slow.
Bottom line, you get what you are paying for! South Beach is expensive to stay.....This hotel/hostel is fine for the price and I would stay here again as I do not spend a whole lot of time inside anyway whilst visiting Miami!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krisstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during Winter Music Conference. This place is literally the cheapest place you can find in South Beach. Located in the heart of it all. On Collins Avenue across from the Loews Hotel. There is public beach access across the street. Jerrys famous Deli is basically down the blow. Parking garage is around the corner. Lincoln Road is 2 blocks away. I stayed in a 2 person room. Room was cleaned every day. It is a basic no frills hotel. Don't expect any amenities besides soap. That's it. Bring your own iron, hair dryer etc. They do offer a three percent discount for cash but they also do hold a one day deposit 1 week before your arrival. If you opt to pay in cash, the hold is removed a week after. Doesn't make sense to me. I told the hotel owner to maybe turn it into an automatic charge of 1 day stay for future bookings. My personal opinion, seems more fair that way. Overall, a great experience. If you are looking for the Ritz, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel as Collins Avenue is very noisy no matter what time of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvlenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Aqua Hotel and Suites
#172 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#24 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#30 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#56 of 78 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Posh South Beach Hostel
#4 of 78 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing