We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice and central hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very nice and central hostel!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is the best 8 room hostel we have been staying at. We stayed for 3 weeks, the room had space for everyone, clean bathroom overall a nice room, and we met alot of people while staying here. The hotel has a nice outdoor kitchen area, a computer in the lobby, its super central on southbeach, close to the beach and lincoln road and the best part: a really huge pool. What to expect from the 8 people dorm: bunkbeds, clean room and bathroom, not a crazy party hostel.

They had really friendly staff except for one guy that was very loud unproffesional and goofy. However if you want to stay in miami for a longer time I really recommend this hostel and I will go back for sure. We saved alot of money by cooking ourself and the affordable price of the dorm! Note that if you keep things in the refrigerator make sure to mark everything with room nr and name so the cleaning staff doesn't throw it away by mistake! Enjoy your stay
/ a couple from sweden

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fijje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    225
    172
    61
    47
See reviews for
67
199
106
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

On the printed booking form, the check-in time was 11 am. But in arrival, at around 1 pm, the man at the desk (who was more interested by his mobile phone conversation than by helping me) explained that they were overbooked and the bedroom would not be ready before 4 pm. We pretested but he went back to his phone... Well... He gave us the key of a room to leave our luggages. Not to mention that room was crammed out by hundreds of suitcases...
We decided to take a rest in the lobby and researched a place for lunch.
Every 10min, my partner or I asked for the restroom key or any other informations.
Half an hour later, this harassment payed and we were given our bedroom key.
Our room was on the second floor with a window viewing the street.Very noisy! So, if you can, ask for a room on the courtyard side.
The room was globally all-right but not very clean and a bit gruby. Obviously a lack of maintenance and TLC!
Dark bathroom. No plug for the bath.
Not sure I would come back.

Room Tip: Courtyard side. The best: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've stayed here in 2010 and again in Dec 2012 without fault! The Tropics Hotel is ideally located on the beach and within walking distance of most attractions. The hotel is reasonably priced and has all the amenities you need. We stayed in a spacious, clean and neat double room. The service is good and the lobby internet PC is great! We also managed to get a wireless connection from our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

You can tell a lot about the Tropics by the faded sign above the door to the entrance. The property is clean, but in real need of a renovation. The hallways are drab and poorly lit, the rooms are spare with one working electricity plug and very lumpy carpet. The beds were not comfortable - I woke up with significant back pain and I don't usually have back issues. The bathroom fixtures haven't been updated in decades. This is definitely a hostel and not a hotel. If you go in with limited expectations it is a good spot in a great location for a good price. But this is not a good spot for a romantic getaway. The staff were friendly and when our room smelled of smoke they offered us another one (though it did take quite a bit of time to get this worked out). There's a common kitchen and cooking area outside by the pool, which is also nice, and free wi-fi in the lobby. This is a good spot if you're a student on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Our double room was spacious, with a good view to the back overlooking the pool. Bed was comfy, but the carpet was worn and seemed a bit dirty. Bathroom was small but sufficient, although you could hear the adjacent bathroom through the open vent. Hostel facilities were good with a nice big pool and well equipped kitchen. The only thing which was a bit disappointing was the unfriendly welcome from the staff at reception and the towels in our private room were not replaced.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Last time I was here was Dec 2012, nothing changed, even the receptionist are the same. However, this time I chose the privet room and it was great, spacious and clean.
I repeated because of the location, and the friendly ambient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is disgusting. Some people in the front desk are very rude. It is impossible to sleep at night. It seems like all guests are drunk at night. The excellent location of the hotel does not worth to spend a night there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mao Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#191 of 208 in Miami Beach
93 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#147 of 208 in Miami Beach
131 reviews
City Center
HI - Miami Beach
HI - Miami Beach
#27 of 85 in Miami Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 85 in Miami Beach
577 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#17 of 85 in Miami Beach
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Property: Tropics Hotel & Hostel
Address: 1550 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3111
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing