We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before, went back again wish I hadn't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stayed here before, went back again wish I hadn't”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hostel before back in 2011 and it was a smooth and enjoyable experience. I wish I could say the same this year. I bought 11 friends with me after telling them it was good and friendly place to be about. The staff were extremely rude. I arrived late at the hostel one evening after travelling and didn't know which bed I was meant to be in, so I just got in any in the room until I could find out in the morning. At 3.30am a lady walked in with the receptionist from down stairs yelling very loudly at me saying I was in the wrong bed, but instead of being like oh I'm sorry miss you are in the wrong bed, he thought it was appropriate to call me by my second name several times, I do believe I'm not in the army and would have responded if he called me by my first name. He then proceeded to say if you don't get out of bed you're coming to pay the $10 fee again shouting at me like a child when infant I'm 23. I thought this was shocking customer service skills, I was totally appalled by this incident. I will never stay here again and wont recommend this hostel to anyone. If you maybecommunicate with each other before you end your shifts you may understand situations before you come barging in at 3am in the morning. I will stay else where in the near future. Absolutely awful

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    126
    85
    44
    86
See reviews for
11
46
98
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is just a standard hostel. Crap beds and dirty rooms and the air con is terrible. The staff an absolute disgrace and are miserable, they also shout at you instead of giving you help or advice. On the other hand, the people I met in the jazz we great and because of the people I met, I would be encouraged to return. The only thing letting the hostel down is the staff, we are in an English speaking country and none of them understand English, also they are rude. For e nightlife in Miami it is also a great hostel, as Ernesto sells tickets every night to the nightclubs and bars.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Was cheap and in a perfect location close to everything on south beach. Staff weren't overally friendly. Rooms were what I expected at a hostel. I stayed in a dorm With ensuite and it was perfect. I would stay again for sure. Great value for money. Only stayed for the one night though so can't judge on to much. But best first hostel experience

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejp1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, PA
Level Contributor
166 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I felt the place was overcrowded. The room in which I was looked to be smaller than the necessary to host 6 persons. Although that, they offer a breakfast in the morning (only for 1 hour, from 9 to 10 am) with pancakes, the hostel is located in the heart of South Beach, just some steps from the beach, sorrounded by art decó historic buildings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaltoPontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved it, it was really crowded messy place, but you can not get better bohemian feeling anywhere else. Stuff was very helpful, even middle of night, rooms were ok for a hostel. Beach was pretty near, was lovely to walk there.
I really enjoyed my stay, as a broke backpacker. I recomend to everyone who has same situation!

Room Tip: Be polite to the stuff and you will get best room possible;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101712g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Breakfast is not so good, Very clean and cheap hostel. The place is superb, very near from south beaches. The problem is that the close the hostel at 10pm. The lockers are very small. The rooms are large and the beds and linen are OK. I really liked it.

Room Tip: Booking are really necessary on week-ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcos f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I spent here 2 nights (in May 2010), but decided to write a review 3 years later.. =)) It was an amazing experience for me, my first stay in a hostel! Met wonderful and interesting people, went to Miami clubs.. Hotel was nice, staff was awesome, people around were crazy in a good way)). Hope everything is still the same! Good luck to you guys!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uliana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SoBe Hostel
SoBe Hostel
#7 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Posh South Beach Hostel
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Miami Hostel
Miami Hostel
#31 of 82 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Blue Hostel
Ocean Blue Hostel
#33 of 82 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rock Hostel
Rock Hostel
#6 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on South Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Property: Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Address: 321 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6902 (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Jazz on South Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jazz on South Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing