We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More bang for your buck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Reviewed May 19, 2011

This is a very clean hostel. All dorms have an ensuite and rooms are cleaned daily. Pillow, linen, towels and pancake breakfast is all included in the room rate. Add to the brilliant home cooked $4 lunches and $5 dinners and there'd be no reason to leave. Expect with Miami Beach only a block away it's hard not to. The only things I can fault about this hostel is the weak wi-fi. It is un-useable in some rooms. The other thing is it lacks a large common area so I was always standing around. But I'd recommend it and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ODoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 465 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

This one is a strange one. The facilities are not by far the best, small and hot rooms, noisy A/C, old bathrooms, not that clean and other minor nuisances.

However there is something about it that makes people get together and create some real bonding during the stay. Maybe it is the beach and/or the clubbing but overall we really get happy for being there.

They provide cheap access to some great parties and provide cheap meals that are good enough,

There was people from teenagers to 60s but it is clearly a hot-spot for younger people. So expect some crazy spontaneou behavior now and then.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuno_m_faria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Went to Jazz South Beach Hostel in Feb/11. The staff and the people in the Hostel were very nice. The bedroom is average, but for me, the cleaniness is the most important.

They also offer discounted entrance to nightclubs, lunch ($4) and dinner ($5)

The location is amazing, there is a lot of restaurants, clubs and one Walgreens right in the next corner. But if you go with a car, the parking around the hostel is a little expensive (about U$ 15 / 12 hour)

We had a little problem on the checkout. They almost charged another night just because we´re 15 minutes late.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsmith23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If you want to sleep dont go here. I feel like the only way you would like this hostel is if you were getting obscenely drunk, stumbling through the awkward lobby, and passing out immediately on your uncomfortable bed in your hot/humid/bad smelling room. The hallways smelled like urine and the decorations had holes in them likely because someone punched the wall. I really did not enjoy my time here and barely slept a wink, even though I wanted to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkstarzshine00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I was there for 3 nights in halloween weekend 2010, I like that it's so close to the beach and not far from Walgreen. WiFi worked in a room too (free).

I stayed in 12-bed mixed dorm, no problems at all. Probably I was lucky that noone seemed to disturb others :)

Staffs were okay. I didn't request anything / speak with them much though.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oh_Vorapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Worst hostel I have ever experienced!
Lumpy plastic tiny beds...broken window in room so aircon was useless in the summer humidity
No food/drink in the rooms but it gets stolen in the kitchen
Saw a guest get arrested for having a beer in the 'party' hostel.....it was like a drugs raid
Ice box got taken by staff!!
Internet didnt work.....and staff couldnt care less
The staff where the MOST unhelpful rude people we had ever encountered!!!HATED IT!!!DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had booked a room for eight.
The bedroom was extremely small, there were four old bunk beds with hard mattresses, a basin on one side and a small shower room with a WC also.
the room was very expensive for what we got, we were expecting more of a European type hostel.
the employees of the hostel were very unkind.
Advantages:
they serve meals, and the food is great! home made and very cheap (3usd per meal). also there are plenty of young people and the hostel organizes for everyone to go together to a club. by going with them you get cheaper and easier entrance to some well know clubs in south beach. (you can join the group for partying even if you are staying elsewhere).
I recommend to live at another hotel and go to jazz hostel for meals and for partying.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmad94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Rock Hostel
#4 of 88 in Miami Beach
195 reviews
City Center
Beds & Drinks
Beds & Drinks
#16 of 88 in Miami Beach
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miami Hostel
#32 of 88 in Miami Beach
176 reviews
SoBe Hostel
#6 of 88 in Miami Beach
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jazz on South Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jazz on South Beach Hostel

Address: 321 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6902 (Formerly Atlantica Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > South Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $20 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Jazz on South Beach Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jazz on South Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jazz On South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing