We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, but that's it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SBH South Beach Hotel
Ranked #85 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The room was so small. The service was nice. The breakfast was good. But parking was a total pain and overnight parking was 28/night. The a/c was fixed at 70 degrees and it was too hot. We had to pay a $20/resort fee...for nothing. There was NO pool. We overheard the clerk telling a guest that she could use the pool next door at their sister property but we were never told about it. It was just disappointing and inconsistent.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDeCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am delighted to read that we met your expectations with our Customer Service and Breakfast options on a daily basis. I also wanted to extend my sincere apologies for the inconsistency with the parking service and the miscommunication with our pool access.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    139
    74
    26
    30
See reviews for
95
125
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

we were looking for a hotel close to the exhibition centre in Miami and the SBH became available with 2 rooms as we required at so short notice as we were only going to stay for overnight as we were holidaying in orlando.we arrived and on the outside it looked great matching the online photos we entered and on through reception we got one room down and one room upstairs.both rooms were great on the corner of the building the beds were great the rooms were clean what we didn't need was a shop in our room u can have a mini bar but this was over the top. could not even make a cup of anything without having to pay for it.and why would I want to buy ur towels or tee shirts? apart from that would I stay at ur hotel and recommend it yes I would .oh need to sort out odour upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay, enjoyed our Clean Rooms and our Location was exactly what you expected. Our extensive mini bar is not meant to be a retail shop, yet a convenient amenity for our guests to take advantage of if the need presents itself.

We hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I recently traveled to Miami and before leaving I was looking for a hotel close enough to Lincoln Road but not directly on the strip. SBH South Beach Hotel is just off Collins Ave on 21st. The hotel is small but I liked how quiet it was so there wasn't much noise. The staff is super friendly and helped us in every way. Rooms are very clean, there isn't a tub in the room if you wanted to take a bath but otherwise its decent. Beds are very comfy and if you forget anything they have it available in the room like sun tan lotion or even sunglasses. Overall I enjoyed my stay. It felt more personal then other hotels I've stayed in and I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeddingGirldotca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I am glad that our Location, Friendly & Personable Staff, Comfy Beds and extensive Mini Bar selections exceeded your expectations. I will pass along your compliments to the entire team.

We hope to welcome you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here in June 2014. There was a rain storm as we arrived. We struggled into the reception after a delayed 9 hour flight . We were soaking wet and needed to ask where the parking garage was as there was no available space out front. The two young girls on the desk smiled politely but made not effort to help with the doors or our cases. We were told we would get the parking garage ticket when we filled all the checkin forms in and these were given to us. I asked if we could get the keys etc sorted later and just sort parking out first. The girl just shrugged and said we had to complete everything first . We then were given the whole talk on how to use the vouchers for breakfast , pool next door , extra towels etc. There was no feeling of being a valued guest - just someone who needed to be given the keys and vouchers.
The voucher for the parking worked fine. The garage was in the same block and the staff were efficient and friendly.
There was no restaurant at the hotel but vouchers for breakfast to be used at a place on the same block. The food was so good we went back for dinner. Vouchers were for drinks and either granola/ yogurt , pancakes or scrambled egg on toast. All were good.
We had a twin and King rooms. Both had a contemporary feel and plenty of space. The pictures on the wall were a little weird ( in the king room they were of a child in adult shoes wearing a Star Wars type white helmet and standing on a beach) but not offensive. The shower stall was large and the pressure was good.
The beds were really comfortable and the linen was white and crisp and clean.
On the second night the people opposite decided to play very loud music at about 1am. After about half an hour we rang guest services and asked if they could ask them to turn it down. Very soon after we heard someone knock on the door and politely ask that they turn the music off. The guest said it was his birthday and he was celebrating. The hotel employee was polite but insistent and the guest turned the music if. Whilst we didn't ask for off - just a lot quieter, we thought it was handled well.
Although we didn't use it we had access to the partner hotels roof pool and the hotel provided beach towels and chairs for guests.
The beach was easily and safely accessible with just one road to cross ( that had a proper crossing).
We would definitely consider the hotel again especially if the front desk service improved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieMWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our affiliate restaurant, our comfortable beds, easy beach access and breakfast. Sincere apologies in regards to your hotel first impression with our front desk team. We appreciate your feedback as we are continuously looking to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon. Feel free to contact me personally for your next booking.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had a great stay here with two friends. We had a junior suite with three beds, and the rooms looked very good and were perfectly cleaned every day. The staff helped us out with tickets to some events and taxis, so I'm also very happy with the service.

We didn't use the nearby pool, so I can't speak of that. 4 minutes walking distance to the beach, so it has a good location although not "perfect". The free breakfast was ok, the food was tasty, but it could have been a bit larger servings. You also have to walk around the block to the restaurant who serves the food.

Room Tip: The junior suite is great if you are three persons who wants to share a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear that our Spacious Rooms, Location, beach access, service and our Room Housekeeping exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

When booking this Hotel make sure you have extra money put aside as there are hidden costs. We booked with Thomas Cook (Large Travel Company) weeks before we travelled, once we got to the hotel we was asked to pay extra due to we booked with a THIRD PARTY travel agent. We was shocked with this comment. They advertise that they have triple rooms and they accommodate more than 2 people this is incorrect we got a double room and they said they dont have any larger rooms. The staff was very unhelpful and did not look bothered. We asked for extra bed sheets as we was a party of three but they did not help at all so we had to make do which was a very uncomfortable. When we checked out we was FORCED to pay an extra £25 for the use of towels, WIFI, and the pool, we stayed here for ONE night and we checked in at 4.30pm so we did not use these facilities. This really took the ..... Stay away from this hotel as it is the least friendly, most unhelpful and most of all the most rip off!!!! There are lots of hotels in Miami that are far better. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest. Would you be kind enough to reach out to me at jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com so that we can further discuss your stay?

I hope to speak with you soon so that we can address all your concerns.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

You walk in daily the staff don't acknowledge you. Rude staff. The photos on the website are misleading. Very badly renovated, unhygienic bathroom and mouldy and dirty windows. Very noisy. The worst place I have stayed at on my 6 week American trip, if not worst place I've stayed ever. Made me hate Miami.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest. Would you be kind enough to reach out to me at jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com so that we can further discuss your stay?

I hope to speak with you soon so that we can address all your concerns.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Seas Hotel
#96 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Boulan South Beach
#123 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Property: SBH South Beach Hotel
Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing