We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seedy area washington ave hotel -skip breakfast package” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Ranked #152 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“seedy area washington ave hotel -skip breakfast package”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hotel located next to tattoo parlor, rowdy sub culture people hanging out on street and street corner all evening. small sparse modern lobby with white leather benches and chairs and yellow plastic wing chair. coffin like elevator, Hallways modern, recent renovation, 2 full bed room has bathroom large 10x10 but sparse with odd high siting modern square sink with Spartan counter, no tub, long shower enclosure with terrible water pressure on 4th floor, yet room itself is too small, no dresser. 4 feet should be taken off bathroom for more space in room. made mistake of getting a breakfast package deal , do not waste your money, it is a 4 1/2" plate with 1/2 cup of scrambled eggs and 1/2 cup of potatoes and a coffee. Do you self a huge favor and walk 2 block to Ocean drive and get breakfast at News Café!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 845nowire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    392
    263
    194
    168
See reviews for
132
519
97
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I took my family and was surprised, not good. It is a few doors down from the Erotica Museum and there were ads in the hotel. There was an "intimacy kit" in the room that I did not open. Overall the room as average. We had two rooms. One was bigger than the other and that was nice. The breakfast was average also. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have kids find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We apologize for the challenges that you faced during your stay. However, we are happy to announce that the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at the Clinton for a quick weekend trip. Great location. Short walk to the beach. They provide you with beach chairs and towels if you want as well.
Breakfast was included. Its basic but does the job.
Great/friendly staff.
Walls are pretty thin but you're not on South Beach to be in the room, so it was no big deal.
Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraj124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hotel staff is friendly but untrained, they have no guidance as to how to treat guests. Hotel has had a cheap facelift and it shows. Housekeeping is horrible!!! Wrappers, candy under the bed, not mine & was there the whole week! Never replaced soap, shampoo, etc. Never cleaned-up the bathroom. No hot water, barely warm. No drawers, only closet. Breakfast included but only served as of 8:30 and no choice...spongy scrambled eggs, potatoes & bad coffee. $10 for a fruit cup!!! Free happy hour served cheap booze, headache making stuff in a plastic cup....available 7pm to 8pm when everyone is at dinner! Pool is a little bit bigger than a jacuzzi and area is really run down. Can hear everything in the hallway or next room and at all hours of the night. This is NOT a hotel for anyone over 21.

Room Tip: get a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorineGerharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We wanted to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but please do understand that during spring break week the entire beach is full of spring breakers . Our south beach boutique hotel is much quieter compare to other South beach hotels in the area. Depending on the city wide events the demographics tends to change for the entire city. Please contact me during your future stays because i want to take care personally of you and your stay.

Thanks Again
Best regards
Luigi T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed there for an overnight for a connection flight. Decided to have some fun by staying right on South Beach. Excellent location. Walking distance to many things. Rooms are clean, though not very spacious. For the rate can't be beat. Don't depend on the shuttle has funky times. Make sure you check that out.

Room Tip: No views from rooms on the side. But they'er at least quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beantownchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We loved staying at The Clinton! Great price for a nice room, great breakfast, good Happy Hour! The manager really took care of us. Everyone was so nice! Great location!! Walking distance to a bunch of restaurants and the beach too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khanebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A big disappointment overall. We have stayed at other SB hotels and has some idea what to expect. The walls are paper thin. You don't have to have loud neighbours to hear an average conversation very clearly. Unbearble at times. I wasn't ready for soap scum in the soap dish from the last guest and a very dirty bathroom mirror. There was shoe prints on one wall?? The room was not professionally painted and table surfaces had peeling paint on them. The window blind
was broken and could not be completely closed for privacy. Not an immediate issue as we faced a brick wall. The restaurant staff changes weekly and don't speak any english. Don't even think about going for any reason other that the happy hour offer.
i suspect if you see a good on this hotel review it has been written by the staff.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ensure that you get a quiet room with better soundproofing between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31ymw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We apologize for the challenges that you faced during your stay. However, we are happy to announce that the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Property: Clinton Hotel South Beach
Address: 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2004, Step out of the Clinton Hotel South Beach and into one of the most electrifying destinations in the world. The Clinton is a boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami nestled in the middle of world class clubs, restaurants and shopping, all while being just steps from the white sandy beaches that Miami and South Beach are famous for. The Clinton Hotel South Beach boutique hotel follows its own muse with its cutting edge design and innovation and abandoning most conventional ideals of hotel design. The result is an ultra-cool, intimate South Beach hotel and sexy place to stay when visiting one of the world's most popular destinations.The guestroom accommodations are edgy, quirky and sexy. The staff is hip, cool, and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing