We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“not for the weak of heart” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Ranked #152 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not for the weak of heart”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A big disappointment overall. We have stayed at other SB hotels and has some idea what to expect. The walls are paper thin. You don't have to have loud neighbours to hear an average conversation very clearly. Unbearble at times. I wasn't ready for soap scum in the soap dish from the last guest and a very dirty bathroom mirror. There was shoe prints on one wall?? The room was not professionally painted and table surfaces had peeling paint on them. The window blind
was broken and could not be completely closed for privacy. Not an immediate issue as we faced a brick wall. The restaurant staff changes weekly and don't speak any english. Don't even think about going for any reason other that the happy hour offer.
i suspect if you see a good on this hotel review it has been written by the staff.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ensure that you get a quiet room with better soundproofing between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31ymw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We apologize for the challenges that you faced during your stay. However, we are happy to announce that the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    392
    263
    194
    168
See reviews for
132
519
97
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Clinton hotel

Pros:
Very close to the beach

Good location for shops, restaurants

Free comedy night on Tuesdays (was a bit lame but it was free!)

Concierge arranged a coach to take us to sawgrass outlet mall for $30 return (takes about 1-1.5 hours)

Complained (nicely) about the thin walls and noise and we got upgraded to a suite room with a jacuzzi! Walls were still thin though!

Free beach towels available from reception so no need to worry about bringing your own

Shower is decent, although it was much better in the suite than in the regular room!

Free airport shuttle between 9am-4pm which helps save cost of taxi to the airport; they also have a shuttle from the airport but the last shuttle is at 4.30pm so we arrived too late to use it. Make sure you book the shuttle the day before as the slots may get booked up or the shuttle won't come if it's not been booked. Our shuttle took us straight to the airport and didn't make any additional stops at any other hotels.

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly; my motto in life is you get what you give so make sure you always smile and are friendly to people and they will generally do the same back! I have no complaints about the front desk staff at all and as I already mentioned they were very helpful in changing our room when we complained about the noise.


Cons:
Very thin walls! You can hear everything neighbours say and do!!

Breakfast is very small and lame! Small plate of potatoes and egg and watered down soda! Plus you're expected to leave a tip! We found a cafe called manolos and they have a very decent breakfast for $8 so we just went there instead

Complimentary 'cocktails' consisted of watered down rum, vodka or gin with watered down mixer! Went once and didn't bother going again as it's just a waste of time! Plenty of nice proper cocktail selections along the beach and they have happy hour so you can get 2 huge cocktails for $25 or 2 regular sized ones for $15!

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, especially with our upgraded room but be prepared for thin walls and hearing your neighbours!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DidiDidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped by for a late breakfast (ordered Miami style veggie omelette) and stayed there for hours!!! Food was good, reasonably priced and the service was fantastic!!! Friendly, outgoing and personal, makes great mojitos too. Didn't see the rooms but the lobby looks great, definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reddick, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I am shocked to see all the Recent reviews of this property. I checked in one night without a reservation was only going to stay for one night and ended up staying for 3. The staff was friendly and my room was fine. Be sure to pay for parking I got lots of parking tickets for parking on the street and not paying the meter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
covington,GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It was the best vacation ever and this hotel was the perfect place to stay.the staff was kind and helpful specially Mikerlange and Bernard ,they were amazing .i had a good service from day one.the place was nice and clean .i can't wait to go back again this summer

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inorahj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the Clinton for 3 nights with my husband and kids; we've been in south beach many times to different hotels but the Clinton is our second home away from home now! friendly staff, concierge Delfi ready to help and make great suggestion. Room is clean, spacious. suitable for my little ones..
Thank you very much Michelle for your hospitality and the great room choice (256), you've been great. Hope to see you next time

Room Tip: room 256 is one of the best! very nice and spacious. it was available and suggested when I was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I found this hotel when struggling to find accommodation during the boat show. I read reviews, and the pricing was ok by comparison to others. To be honest, I was extremely disappointed. Our room did not have windows, but a row of glass bricks. We were travelling as a family of 4, and we did not have enough room to place our cases on the floor. On a positive note, the hotel was very clean. Would I return, probably not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows, you wouldn't think that was necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled to announce the Clinton Hotel has recently undergone a change of Ownership, and will be striving to provide various enhancements to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will return in the near future to experience all the exciting improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#100 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#79 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Property: Clinton Hotel South Beach
Address: 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2004, Step out of the Clinton Hotel South Beach and into one of the most electrifying destinations in the world. The Clinton is a boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami nestled in the middle of world class clubs, restaurants and shopping, all while being just steps from the white sandy beaches that Miami and South Beach are famous for. The Clinton Hotel South Beach boutique hotel follows its own muse with its cutting edge design and innovation and abandoning most conventional ideals of hotel design. The result is an ultra-cool, intimate South Beach hotel and sexy place to stay when visiting one of the world's most popular destinations.The guestroom accommodations are edgy, quirky and sexy. The staff is hip, cool, and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing