We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice but wasn't wowed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Boulan South Beach
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but wasn't wowed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

When I booked this hotel it came up as 5* on Ebookers. Now the customer service is 5* definitely but the room just didn't wow me. So it's a 4 in my mind. I upgraded to a standard one bedroom suite which was a very nice apartment style setup with modern contemporary decor. You have a separate bedroom, 2 separate toilets, a large shower and a lounge/diner/kitchen. I was on the 5th floor but on the street side so VERY noisy!

Bedroom:
It was clean, large windows with a street view, tv, excellent blackout curtains. BUT, the room had few snags. The smoke alarm was missing and not replaced, the sliding door wouldn't close, the bed showed signs of wear and tear but top of the "snag" list, the bed had a plank of wood under it which made you roll off towards the end of the bed!?

Kitchen
Self contained and a large fridge so I stocked up on water. Didn't use the appliances so can't really comment.

Bathroom:
Nice showeroom. Large vanity unity. No problems here.

Lounge
Nice. Again. Nothing wow but just.

Location
Excellent. Stones throw away from the beach, and you have a roof top pool. As you do have a fridge, if you're trying to spend less on your vacation, I'd say pop to Walgreens (2 blocks away) and buy what food/drink you need. As always the mini bar is extortionate! (But that's like every hotel).

I will post pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SF-Exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    108
    38
    26
    36
See reviews for
144
52
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great stay at Boulan South Beach. Everyone was very helpful. We would like to thank Gloria for her great dedication and special attention to detail she showed during our stay. We would recommend this Hotel HIGHLY AND WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Let me just say I have been to South beach many times and stayed in may places ranging from small dark seedy hotels on ocean drive that look great in photos and end up being litetally holes in wall to very beautiful suites and condos ranging from the Eden Rock to SLS...but the Boulan is by far my new favorite. I usually have to find 2 small rooms in pet friendly hotels or a large expensive 2 bdrm condo for my boyfriend and I and his family...but this time Iucked upon Boulan...Gorgeous, reasonably priced, pet friendly, clean, modern, and the pool on the roof is gorgeous. Check in was easy...as well as check out...The room was huge and was a king and a queen sofa bed suite that could be separated with pull doors for privacy for both couples...It was 1 1/2 bath...perfect for going out with a group...and the master bath..holy cow...amazing...I took three showers just because the rain shower was so amazing. The only downside was that there wasnt free coffee and breakfast wasnt really breakfast.
The beds were comfy and there was a full kitchen complete with frigde dishes and microwave..even oven. It was close to everything and cabs were easy. From now on Boulan is my only choice in south beach. AMAZING time. Thank you Boulan for changing my perception of South beach hotels

Room Tip: Rooms are large, clean, and quiet...bring your own instant coffee and beware of the NON refundable p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kseascaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location.

We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

On the quiet end of South Beach, perfect for families. Just a short distance to the beach and the rooftop pool is amazing. Many great restaurants to chose from. The rooms are spacious and modern, so maybe not ideal for small children but great for families with Tweens and teenagers. We got 2 rooms, one for me and my husband and the other for my mom and the kids. Our room was larger than a studio apartment in Brooklyn. One large bedroom suite with separate kitchen and living area, wow! We could have gone with one room but the space was nice to have. It could also be great for couples because the terraces are amazing... A must stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as we will take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

My family and I stayed for one week, the location was ideal along with the accommodations. We were welcomed upon arriving and every morning we were greeted with smiles. Any issues we had were addressed right away. Our suite was somewhat of a condo which was roomy and very up to date in decor. Only a two minute walk to the beach and a roof top pool which was very private and the feeling of VIP treatment. I would highly recommend this property for reasons like safety, location and customer service. The staff are always there to help with any inquiries. Ask for Alex, Jimena, Samantha, Rick and Armando. We miss you already!!!! :) Lets not forget Gloria in housekeeping, lovely lady!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, and take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed at the Boulan this past weekend with 5 girlfriends for a bachelorette party. We stayed in the Luxury Two Bedroom Suite, and the room was great! Full kitchen, 2.5 bathrooms (one very large), huge terrace...it was exactly what we were looking for, + more. The rooftop pool was perfect, and the service at the pool was top notch (only good service we came across all weekend). The location of the hotel was ideal (right across the street from the Seagull & W), with easy access to the beach.

We had two very big complaints. First- the room is advertised as a 6 person suite, which is how many people we had. So imagine our confusion when they only provided us with enough chairs at the beach for 4 people. We had to pay an extra $30 at the beach to get the additional two chairs. When we would ask at the front desk for 2 more chairs, they were rude and dismissive. They should 100% be providing a chair for each person in the room.

The second complaint- we were there for 3 nights, and 2 of those nights the fire alarm went off! Not just an ordinary fire alarm, a VERY LOUD one, with a women speaking- "Can I have your attention please, Can I have your attention please, a fire has been reported in the building, a fire has been reported in the building, please proceed to leave the building using the stairs, do not use the elevator...WOMP!! WOMP!! WOMP!! WOMP!!"...and was repeated many times. The first time it happened it was 4am in the morning, we all raced to get dressed, and had to run down the stairs. People were carrying screaming babies down the as well! When we got to the lobby, a hotel employee very nonchalantly was telling people it was a false alarm, someone smoked a cigarette in the adjoining nightclub, and we could all go back upstairs. He did not even apologize. When we went down the next morning, the people at the front desk didn't seem to care either, acting like it wasn't their problem. We asked for the 2 extra beach chairs as a sign of goodwill, and they refused. Two nights later, the same thing happened at 3am. Instead of racing downstairs, we stayed put to see if the alarm went off, which it did after about 4 minutes (talk about the boy who cried wolf). Again, we went down the next morning to talk to the people at the front desk, and again they were nasty and uncaring about the matter.

Overall, the hotel is great, but I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family until they have the fire alarm situation worked out. Until they do, they should work on their customer service skills....people would feel a lot better about getting lurched out of bed in the middle of the night, if they felt like they were getting apologized to, and some sign of goodwill. Maybe they could have thrown us 2 extra beach chairs and my review would have been a 4/5? Who knows

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the inconveniences you endured with the fire alarm and beach chairs. are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, and take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

During our 3 night stay, there were two separate fire alarms on Thursady and Saturday in the middle of the night, one at 2:30AM and one at 3:30 AM. We had to run down 5 flights of stairs to go to the lobby, only for some rude front desk receptionist to tell us this was a false alarm and had to do with the club connected to the hotel. Aside from this, we received no apologies for being woken up in a frenzy two separate evenings. We also had issues with chairs for the beach. They only gave us 4, for a 6 person suite. Our phones in our room did not work as well, and we were told to use our cell phones if we needed anything from the front desk. While the room was modern and nice, the service was just so poor, I would definitely not stay there again. They also did not give us a late check out for after 12, and had NOWHERE to shower, no locker rooms, nothing. So we all ended up changing in the public restroom in the tiny lobby for about an hour or so before our departure. Also, the Happy Hour deal was a rip off, and took 30 minutes to get one drink, so we didn't have an opportunity to take advantage of the reduced pricing. They also screwed up our orders for both the food and drinks, and also ran out of foods for both breakfast and dinner (This was at Orange Blossom connected to the hotel)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the inconvienences you endured while staying with us due to the fire alarm and phones. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Sagamore
#70 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
City Center
Villa Bagatelle
Villa Bagatelle
#115 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Property: Boulan South Beach
Address: 220 21st St, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing