We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boulan South Beach
Ranked #121 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had a trip to Miami Beach and stayed at Boulan Suites in South Beach. My stay was great and the staff was always very helpful. I recomend these suites for anyone who has a longer stay. Great ubication. Thank you Rick for your very nice service.

Room Tip: The terrace suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to recognize our team members!

We have shared your kind words to Rick and we both would like to say thank you.

We hope to welcome you home again soon.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    106
    35
    25
    35
See reviews for
138
50
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were booked at the Boulan on Halloween night - but as we arrived on an early flight, our room was not ready yet. The fabulous Alex at the front desk let us check our bags with her and we headed off for lunch and to explore for a while. She called us when our room was ready and when we got back to the hotel, she gave us our room key. She had upgraded us to a suite - street view - absolutely beautiful room! Had 1.5 bathrooms, a washer/dryer unit, a full, beautifully decorated kitchen, living area, bedroom area, and a bathroom that we could have had a party in. This hotel might not be on the beach, but who cares! It is only one block east to the beach - and they have a most fabulous roof-top pool that we took advantage of for a couple of hours that afternoon. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is spotless - and kept in very great condition. Also worth a huge mention is Rick, who manages the valet parking and general "taking care of business" details. Very charming staff - we would definitely go back here again!

Room Tip: I think any room here would be gorgeous - but ask for a penthouse suite and you will NOT be disappoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBabe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am thrilled to hear that both Alex and Rick left a memorable impression of our hotel during your stay! We take pride in our team members and more so when they are recognized. I have shared your kind words with them both and they send you their regards.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the last weekend of October, and we really liked the place. We come to South beach every year as a stopover before we start our vacation in the Caribbean. We normally stay at Lowes or The National, which are a little closer to the restaurants/bars, and this year, The National cancelled our reservations at the last second, so we gave Boulan South Beach a try, and we lucked out.
The staff is very professional and polite. The rooms are huge, quite and comfortable. The hotel itself is one block from the beach, but our room did have a view of the ocean, and had a huge balcony. What I liked best about this place is that it is a ten minute walk to South beach, so you can go down to where all the activities are going on, but when you get back to your room, you can look forward to a quiet night's sleep. Next year we will come back here for our yearly stay in South Beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LobsterBrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I am pleased to hear that our Room Size, quality and our gorgeous ocean view rooms exceeded your expectations. Feel free to contact me personally for your annual South Beach trip.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belo horizonte
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Moved to this hotel because my previous one was dirty and dusty. Stayed at the penthouse 07, which is a 1 bedroom room. Perfect choice. The room is very clean and with no carpet, that helps removing dust. The mattress was very comfortable and the room very spacious. There was a full equipped kitchen and machine wash to do the laundry. This helped me a lot as I was traveling with my 9 months baby and had to cook and do the laundry. The staff was very kind and helpful. The valet parking and internet was a bit expensive, but this is common to all hotels in Miami I stayed before. The hotel is very well located, close to the beach and is just a few yards from the W South Beach. Certainly will be back and recommend your stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chucrutes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a the Boulan South Beach for a week in October. It's location is great, easy access to the beach, shopping and Lincoln street around the corner. The staff is very welcoming and friendly throughout. Rooms are spacious and in great shape. Noise from the street can hardly be heard when windows are closed. The only downside was breakfast. Hotel is co-operating with a restaurant around the corner, since they don't have own outlets. While this restaurant has a great breakfast choice, for hotel guests there is only a very limited assortment. You feel a little like "2nd class" while paying 200 - 300 USD per night. Ended up having a la carte breakfast every day (to be paid extra) which indeed was great. If you are looking for spacious accommodation, great location and don't expect the hotel to provide a good food & beverage offering, you should surely stay here. Didn't have the chance to try the pool though. Recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am pleased that our spacious Rooms and helpful staff played a huge role in your enjoyment of our hotel. Apologies that the continental breakfast that was included fell short of your expectations. We did upgrade a few selections since your stay in hope to satisfy future guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just got back from Florida where we spent a week with 3 year old. After extensive research we decided to stay in Hotel Boulan at Miami Beach. Its one block away from the beach, hotel provides umbrellas and chairs, they have a pool in on the roof with beach beds and comfortable baldachin- type beds ( everything is guarded so kids can't really run away).
The pool does not have a bar- so the ( young) crowd is not that much interested staying there- so the pool area is quiet, clean and pretty private.
Almost every room has a balcony- some of them patio.

The main thing is : a room. The room was about 700 Sf with full kitchen, big dinning tables, washer and dryer ,( that came very handy after every day at the beach!) two TVs ( one in the living room one in the "bedroom" , cable, two bathrooms). Its really an apartment .
Although the entire hotel has a modern design and is nor designed for children, it is children friendly, employees are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included in near by " Charles St NYC " restaurant ( don;t expect much expect for the tasty fresh pastries , fresh squeeze OJ and Lavazza coffee)

The hotel entrance is across the park, literately next to the Museum, Public Library, and blocks away from Miami Symphony Orchestra.

There is a small deli ( Ocean Deli) right around the corner, and Wallmart is 2 blocks away.

I think this hotel is still a hidden gem as it is relatively new. They are near by Richmond, Reighly, Loews, Ritz Carlton....

Also if you do a booking through hotels.com, orbitz, etc.... you will probably get around $50 off-the room-price per day

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms 403 or 503 ( bright but overlooking the park- not the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danolear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I am delighted to read that our Rooms, Rooftop Pool and hospitable staff met your expectations throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having reviewed lots of hotels in South Beach we booked the Boulan for the look of the apartment type rooms, photos on the website and overall value for money, it looked great. Normally, professionally taken website images look great and the real thing isn't so good. But at the Boulan the real thing was equally as good. The rooms, reception areas and rooftop pool were fantastic. I was equally impressed with the staff, very welcoming and a great service ethic, nothing was too much trouble. The location was great, easy to walk to the beach, restaurants & shops. I loved South Beach and didn't want to leave, I want to go back and if I do I'll stay at the Boulan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that our Room quality satisfied your needs along with our staff going above and beyond to make your stay a joyful one.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Sagamore
#68 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,703 reviews
City Center
Villa Bagatelle
Villa Bagatelle
#101 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Property: Boulan South Beach
Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing