We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property”
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boulan South Beach
Ranked #125 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful Room, 24 hour room service, great restaurant, completely boutique feel. I honestly don't understand any of the previous reviews. If there was ever a problem before, it certainly is resolved now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank MS2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Modern clean and stylish hotel, situated at bottom of Collins Avenue, and circa 20 min walk to clubs etc., on Ocean Drive. Beach access is just across the road, but there is a little traffic noise during the night, so choose a room on the 5th floor. As we were minding our two grandchildren, we had a suite, which was extremely large and well equipped. As their restaurant was being renovated, we took our breakfast in the adjoining restaurant where the quality of the food and service, were both excellent. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DublinDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Well, the room is gorgeous. No balcony and that was definitely a disappointment. Front desk service is horrendous. It took over 30 minutes to check us in, no one else was in line, the concierge has no idea what is going on. She over charged us by over $500.00, wouldn't listen to us or call a manager, our agreement was for a totally different amount! We gave up and were taken upstairs. The bellhop asks us if we have the key. He was standing there waiting for the woman to check us in, no we had no keys. He was admittedly shocked that we were checked in and sent upstairs without keys! So he brings our bags in, says he will get our keys and doesn't. We said to hell with it, went to the pool and went and got our keys. The one lady is a total fool and she's rude! The other lady, she's always in a business blazer it seems, is just rude. Extremely rude. Everyone who works here is totally out of it or just rude-or both. Onto that the pool closes at 8pm! 8pm IN MIAMI! There's no lifeguard anyway and Miami doesn't start happening until after 10pm. People want to be at the beach during the day and swim safely in a pool at night! Or when chilly the hot tub on the roof would be nice but apparently being on the roof at all after 8pm is not possible.
The maid threw out my perfectly fine, new, personally bought FIJI water. No apologies from the front desk!
The maid also broke our shower door handle!!!
This place is about as disorganized as you can get. I mean at about 700 dollars a night I would expect a little more. I would
Rather pay someone 700 a night to sleep on the beach at this point or stay in a pay by hour than waste money on something that looks nice but is chaos and poorly run. Also the breakfast for free is horrible

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmicoZZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest. I am pleased to say that we have changed management since you last stayed with us, and now offer several amenities that were not available at the time you visited.

I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

But a decent step in both directions. Not really a hotel, not just a plain condo, but worth trying if you like bigger rooms than you normally get in South Beach hotels. The one room apartments with balcony are big enough and nicely equipped. We were offered an upgrade to a penthouse, but it turned out the penthouse didn't have a balcony/terrace, which we had specifically asked for. Where's the 'up' in such an upgrade? We declined and took the regular room, and found it quite acceptable with modern furnishings, huge tv sets and even free wifi from the Setai next door. The Boulan charges for wireless, so if you want to use it for casual browsing, make sure you get a room facing Collins, since it probably won't work from the rooms facing the 21 Street. The down side of this is that you get some noise from Collins as well. Not in the room, mind you, but on the balcony you can really hear the traffic.

The pool area is nice, there always seems to be room, since people probably tend to go to the beach. The good thing is, the hotel also offers parasols and sun loungers on the beach for free at the end of 18th Street. Definitely worth trying as well. No pool bar on rooftop terrace though. But if you keep your room fridge well stacked from the Walgreen's one block away, this won't be a problem. Remember: this is not a hotel. Go for the condo experience.

There's breakfast included in the restaurant downstairs (enter from Collins). It's basically just croissants and Danishes and coffee. The staff in the restaurant seemed a bit reluctant to pay attention to 'non-paying' customers. The hotel obviously has some sort of deal with the restaurant, but since most hotel guests aren't having anything else than the free stuff for breakfast, it' no use expecting any service either. They're shooting themselves in the foot by this though: we normally try the restaurant at the hotel at least once during our stay at any hotel, but the lack of service at breakfast was so discouraging we didn't go there this time. Their loss.

On the other hand the staff at Boulan were mostly very friendly and up to the task (except for the curious 'downgrade' offered). However, they really need to change their cleaning hours, since it's absolutely too late for the housekeeping to come to clean the room at 5 p.m. This was the case almost every day, and it's rather annoying when you're starting to get ready for the evening. This, however, is not to blamed on the housekeeping staff, but it's more likely a managament issue.

All things considered, we had a pleasant stay. It may not be the cheapest option, but there's plenty to be said for choosing Boulan as well: location, pool/terrace area, large well-equipped rooms. Just to make a point: we stayed at the Surfcomber's a few years back and were crammed into a room where you had to carefully insert yourself into the bathroom. The rooms at Boulan are 4 times as large and the bathrooms are humongous. It all comes down to what your preference is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of four stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites (we were upgraded free of charge) for 4 days in March, 2013. My wife researched other potential properties and this was a very good value. Cool artwork throughout. The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and kind. Complimentary continental breakfast at the new restaurant, Charles Street, which is a part of the whole block which is being developed. The beach is right across the street which was no problem. Umbrella and beach chairs included. The Lincoln Mall restaurants were a short walk away. Top notch appliances and plumbing fixtures. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gottliebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to read that our rooms and product met your expectations! I am pleased to say that we have changed management since you last stayed at Boulan, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, and give us a chance to take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

What a shame. Funky rooms and very nice roof top pool. However, service very very poor. Our Airconditioing broken for last 4 days and they couldn't fix it. Room service never showed up even though I called everyday requesting service. Hallway floors dirty. If it was taken over by a good management company it has the potential to be a fun hip spot.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tranquilityoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. I am pleased to say that we have changed management since you last stayed at Boulan, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, and give us a chance to take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're used to having your own space (especially of you live and travel with boyfriend, husband, dog, etc) this place will suit your needs. Boulan offers apartments with 1-2 bedrooms. They are spacious and fully equipped with washer/dryer and enough pans and dishes to cook a nice quick meal if you're sick of dining out. I've read some other reviews and apparently people travel to Miami with the intention of cooking 5 star gourmet meals, so if that describes you, bring your own pans and accoutrements.

The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and next to museums, clubs, and parks. It's not a bad walking area an you're just far enough removed from the strip that you can have some peace and quiet if you want it.

The hotel is currently going trough a renovation phase where thy are adding shops, restaurants and an entire area to the ground floor. I couldn't hear any construction from my room, but this also means that Boulan does not offer the amenities you would expect from a traditional hotel: room service, restaurant, shops, spa, or very dependable room cleaning for that matter. For me, the space and the feeling of being home more than make up for the lack in amenities since you can buy anything you need down the street. There's also a very nice pool and roof area, but no bar yet.

My advice: if apartment hotels are more your style, stay at the Boulan and take advantage of the current prices. You would pay more to stay at a tiny cubhole in SLS. If you can't live without breakfast in bed, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel has special rooms that I believe are the same rate as the ones advertised, but with more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Juliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to read that our rooms and product met your expectations! I am pleased to say that we have changed management since you last stayed at Boulan, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, and give us a chance to take your experience to the next level!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#126 of 212 in Miami Beach
492 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#5 of 212 in Miami Beach
345 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#26 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sagamore
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,888 reviews
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#75 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,579 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st St, 220 21st Street and 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-1734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $219 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing