We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Would go back!”
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I traveled to South Beach for WMC 2010 and stayed at The Hotel. The reviews we already good, but we enjoyed The Hotel even more. The staff was very nice, friendly and always helpful. Our room was very clean and the bathrooms were just as tidy. The pool on the roof is more for relaxing but there is a decent ocean view. They have poolside food & drink service and there is also a bar on the other side of the roof. Location is great for what we were there for, but could be a tad loud at times for someone who may have wanted a more peaceful stay. Close the beach, shopping, restaurants and just about everything. 15-20 minute walk to North Beach.... take the path by the beach!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp-SoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    521
    116
    54
    25
See reviews for
148
944
107
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

From start to finish our vacation was perfect. Arriving very early we were quickly greeted by David the extremely concierge, he took our bags and showed us where we could change and suggested The Pelican for lunch which was fantastic. After lunch we came back to The Hotel and lounged for an hour by the pool (phenomenal!!!) before being called that our room was ready. The room was small but cozy and had everything we needed for our stay. After settling we enjoyed the rest of the afternoon on the roof deck by the pool sipping frozen Mojitos (every drink we ordered was made perfectly).

We took a fishing charter which the concierge set up for us one day and the rest of our trip we walked down to the beach and relaxed on the complementary beach chairs under an umbrella.

I would recommend signing-up on the website to be a Gold Member, you get complementary Continental breakfast and 10% off the bars and restaurants of the Hotel. The Continental breakfast was better then we could have gotten anywhere, the croissant was sliced and toasted with jams and butter and it also included a bowl of fresh cut fruit, coffee, and OJ. It was heaven for someone who enjoys breakfast in bed :)

I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csrailton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, MI
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed at The Hotel for our anniversary. As soon as we walked in the staff greeted us very warmly. We had not selected a room and they were more than happy to take the time to escort and show us the various types and sizes they had available (which we thought was very gracious as they wanted to make sure we were completely happy with our selection). From mid-sized to large, all the rooms were great and some offer quite spacious arrangements with separate rooms and fluffy bath robes. The Concierges (David and Jean Pierre) were absolutely outstanding - very friendly and hospitable... it is apparent they take pride in doing a great job to ensure good customer service. They deserve every tip they receive. The Hotel rooms have been re-done in vivid colors and the art-deco theme has been maintained throughout. The room we chose was mid-sized, rather private on the top floor, adjacent to the pool and work out facility, and the view allowed us to see the pool balcony and ocean. It was perfectly clean, updated, and well appointed. As common with some older hotels near the water, there were no perfume-y devices / cleaning chemicals to cover any odors. The lobby is upscale-hip with a colorful, tropical feel and, though we did not eat at the hotel's restaurant, it looked fantastic (the menu listed some great selections).

Overall, we would absolutely stay there again. We travel a lot and know excellent service, value, and appropriate cleanliness. The Hotel has it all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeingWhatsNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Just came back from 4 relaxing days in Miami, and "The Hotel" was amazing! Starting with the staff, which was very friendly and acommodating (allowing us to do a very early check in and a late check out given our flight times), not to mention thoughtful (nice touch by being welcomed with a fruit platter and a bottle of wine for being my birthday).

The hotel was very charming, with a decor that combined the retro & contemporary looks. Great location, a block away from the beach (with complimentary chairs) and near all the restaurants, bars and shopping. Lovely pool in the rooftop with great views. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again if visiting Miami in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Wow! My friend and I had the best time at The Hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with such kindness and hospitality. We got in very early and were able to check in and enjoy our day. David, the concierge, was incredible! He helped us in every way- from picking restaurants to tips on how to enjoy our stay. The people working the desk were wonderful, and we loved the bartenders at the pool. Delicious frozen mojitos!

We had a fabulous week and can't wait to return in June!! :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTLMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The Hotel is a great place to stay in South Beach. It is one block from the beach and is close to shops and restaurants. In fact, my husband and I were able to walk everywhere we went. The staff is helpful, professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. The concierge recommended a great restaurant on our first night there (A Fish Called Avalon). The rooftop pool had amazing views and the best mojitos. The only drawback to this property is due to the fact that the building is old - the walls and ceilings are thin so it was a bit noisy a few times. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveSouthBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This hotel is very well located in the heart of South Beach. The beach is half a block away, and chaise lounges are available for guests. Many good restaurants are nearby, including Puerto Sagua cuban restaurant. The swimming pool on the roof is a cosy alternative to the beach. The gym is small but gets the job done. Elevator is slow. Overall, a very good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joequimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing