We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Boutique but non pretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Trendy Boutique but non pretentious”
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Sorry for taking so long to write this review. I went to The Hotel for my bachelorette weekend in July. The hotel is very trendy without the snobby attitude If you are going to south beach, I would highly recommend staying at a boutique hotel rather than a major chain… it is just sexier. It is right in the heart of all the excitement. It is a short walk to the beach (you are one block from ocean). This hotel is by far better than the majority boutique hotels on Ocean. Therefore, it is worth staying here.
The roof top pool has an excellent view of the beach. The pool is somewhat small but who needs a pool if you have the ocean at walking distance. It is perfect for lounging.
The weight room is a decent size.
The roof top bar is the epitome of South Beach! Great before heading out clubbing. It is very chick and trendy. It is not too crowded like the other bars on the strip so you are able to hear your conversations.
The staff at The Hotel is truly amazing. Ask for Daniella. She is truly amazing. She went above and beyond. She upgraded our room at no costs and she always asked if everything was okay.

The rooms have a nice contemporary look. The shower is great. The only downside is sometimes the rooms felt a little humid but just increase the ac and you are good to go.

Before you leave The Hotel, make sure you treat yourself to Wish. A little pricey but well worth the money! The service was absolutely superb and the food was delicious. A great way to end your stay at South Beach!

  • Liked — Great Location, Trendy hotel
  • Disliked — Humid room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Queenbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    537
    120
    55
    27
See reviews for
157
984
112
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

This was our first time in South Beach so we did not know what to expect.
The hotel offers an ideal location, clean rooms, friendly stuff
But rooms are dark and small, bathroom tiny and not comfortable, windows barely open
Don't eat the peanuts/sweets they leave in the room unless you are prepared to pay $8 for each small container and they did not tell us that they would charge us for it when we checked in. Valley parking is $25, you can park it yourself for $10; parking garage is only a block away. Not a four star hotel experience for us but ok for the price we paid.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank gelila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2006

My partner and I just returned from our South Florida Vacation, and felt the obligation to rave about this hotel. The Hotel was exactly what I desired in a SOBE experience minus the down pour we had for our 2 days there. We were unable to take advantage of the amazing pool/rooftop bar due to the rain, but take my word it's stunning. It's in an ideal location, not right on ocean, but a mere block away. The service was perfect and the room was "cute". We ate at wish the first night and the food was enjoyable, but not remarkable. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — The restaurant (not to say Wish is bad, but not as outstanding as the rest)
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the hotel direct for a great rate!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TulsaNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

My boyfriend and I arrived in Miami mid-August for a 4 night stay. We were upgraded to a better room after the room we were assigned had a very smoky smell. Our room was great, with a great view....room 324. The rooftop pool was our daily hangout, we loved it!! Never too crowded, we always got good ocean-view chairs. The frozen mojitos are great too. Just a tip...if you will be traveling between now and Sept.30, check out [--]. It is a promotion called Miami Spice...a lot of the VERY high-end restaurants are participating...you pay $30.06 for a 3 course meal. The website will tell you which restaurants are participating and on which days, as well as the menus! We went all 4 nights. I would highly recommend Blue Door at Delano, Mark's South Beach at Hotel Nash, and Tamara at the National. They were all WONDERFUL! Only negative to my stay: the housekeeping staff were often VERY loud in the hallways early in the mornings, I just thought they could have been a little more considerate of the guests. I should have reported this, but never did. Would not keep me from staying here again though, we are planning to return for New Years!

  • Liked — rooftop pool
  • Disliked — noisy housekeeping staff
  • Tips/Secrets — pizza rustica at corner of Washington and 9th.......awesome!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2006

After reading some great reviews on this site I booked "The Hotel" on South Beach and stayed for four nights. Let's start with the good:

Lobby and restaurant are very nice. As you walk up to the hotel you'll see a nice patio/lounge area where people can chill and drink some Mojitos. The staff was very friendly, lobby staff, and house keeping. They clean the rooms daily and even turn down the beds during the evening hours. Bathroom was OK, a little small. They do keep it stocked with soaps and towels. The pool area is very nice with an ocean view. It was not too crowded when I was there. You can usually get a chair any time. There is a small bar by the Pool for mixed drinks/beers. One woman even went topless, but kept it some what concealed.

The Bad: Noise! I was warned by some of the reviews about how bad the noise is from other rooms but this was BAD! You can hear even soft conversations coming from surrounding rooms. I was woken up in the middle of the night on all four nights by people coming home from bars or whatever. One night was really bad as some woman was yelling for hours and it sounded like she was in my bathroom. Woke up early on my last night to hear some dude puking in the adjacent room. That was a nice wake up. So, bring EAR PLUGS if you stay here. Also, the pool was very small. Think kids waiting pool or a large spa. Still was OK despite the size. Yes, the hotel is old but so are most of the hotels in South Beach. Overall I wouldn't stay here again due to the noise but it will be fine for partiers or newly weds who are heavy sleepers. The last few reviews make this place sound like paradise so read further down for more info and you can make a more informed decision.

  • Disliked — The location and too noisy
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring ear plugs
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

this hotel is rated top three on trip advisor and this was how i selected it for our two night stay on miami beach!
We visited south beach last december and stayed in the doubletree on south beach,which was very nice and situated great for south beach but expensive to stay at and staff werent particulary nice.So checked out trip advisor and found The Hotel 801 collins ave.. we stayed 19th july till 21st staff were lovely very friendly and couldnt do enough for you!rooms are small as other people have said, but perfectly decorated you can tell it has been designed by a designer.. The shower is great and and the tolietarys are provided from the white collection from london very nice.the maids come round twice a day in the evening time to fold down your bedding and leave a chocolate for you.a small cd player is also provided along with the tv...
we only visited the roof top pool great view,once quite posey that was my only concern...
we didnt eat at the restaurant even though it is world renowned.. but expensive.. great place to stay as it is an art deco hotel ( originally the Tiffany hotel) with the original tiffany sign on the roof.
5 mins at most down onto the beach itself..
about 15 mins down collins or the agacent washington road to lincoln road for the exciting mall and eating area on lincoln road great pizza from pizza raustic very nice. and the spanish eating area on washington ave very nice breakfasts mmmm!!!
the parking for the hotel is either you can pay $11 for daily parking or $25 for daily valet.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank stephaniebubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Just stayed at The Hotel. I can't say enough about this hotel. Great little boutique hotel close to all the attractions (beach, shopping, cafes, restaurants, bars etc.), yet set apart from the chaos that is South Beach.

Pros
- location - 1 block/2 min walk to beach; on collins with all the action. Only a short walk to most attractions.
- $10 self parking at a large lot 1 block away on 7th and Collins (never had problem finding a space), can also pay for valet.
- beach service: beach towels provided, along with cushioned beach chairs and umbrellas.
- larger room (at least the one we stayed in) than some south beach hotels. **make sure to ask for a non-collins st side room, as its much more quiet.**
- not your typical room decor (stylish, but simple - though it is starting to show its age in a (very) few spots)
- friendly staff - John is a very helpful concierge (beautiful flowers, thanks!)
- great restaurant Wish (expensive, but romantic)
- Pool at top, with chairs, bar and a great little view of palm trees & beach (you can also see the top of the buildings, so the view is only ok).
- Great drink - Mojitini is great on a hot day or night.
- comfortable bed.
- room service - twice daily room service, chocolate at night, will bring ice if requested.
- daily newspaper delivered to your room door (got Miami times, but I understand you can request other major papers).

Cons:
- elevator is incredibly slow (take the stairs - one on the right as you enter the hotel)
- not sound proof room (but not the worst I've been in)
- no alarm clock (can get wake up call)
- no coffee maker in room (can get room service or walk a short block to couple cafes)
- little expensive if you pay regular rates (fortunately there are deals to be had).
- breakfast only included if you get it in your package (but there are several cafes nearby)

Overall I would definately stay here again the next time I hit South Beach. Compared some many of the other boutique hotels in the South Beach area that we saw, this looked like one of the nicest (but not pretentious).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for rooms on non-Collins st side on 3 & 4th floors
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,287 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing