We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish but with attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stylish but with attitude”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

The Hotel has a great location and fancy bathtub warm rooftop pool and bar. The decor was fun and very Miami Beach. I was impressed but my husband found it a bit more standard than he expected (but we were in the cheap rooms!). Some of the staff very chirpy and friendly, unfortunately some were very snooty which may be a Miami Beach thing but is a bit much when you are paying for the privilege.

  • Liked — Location, decor and pool
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Flashpacker2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    537
    120
    55
    27
See reviews for
157
984
112
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2008

Stayed here for four nights at the back end of a business trip in October 2008. The room was very nice, nicely designed with a massive and very comfortable bed, a large tv and some nice touches like a stereo with an ipod docking station and best of all free wireless internet. I liked the colour scheme in the room a lot. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was nice. There was a small problem with the toilet continually flushing, but it was resolved swiftly as soon as I mentioned it to the front desk.

The hotel isn't beachfront, which is a shame in a way as it would be nice to have an ocean view, but has benefits in another sense in that it means you're not right on Ocean Drive where it can be quite noisy late at night. The location is good though, just one block from Ocean Drive and right next to some major shops at the end of Collins Avenue.

I was quite impressed by the Hotel but it was expensive, and it does suffer from a little bit of the pretentiousness that would seem to mark most of South Beach. The staff were very friendly and courteous though I'd have to say and I can't really complain about the Hotel at all.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the vaguely pretentious air
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John_Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2008

During my research over the years on hotels, I found that in a lot of cases, the pictures turn out to be outdated -but in this case - The Hotel of South Beach photos on this website and others are exactly as it truly is - the actual pool, bars and Wish Restaurant are even more glorious than the photos depict. The Staff was wonderful - housekeeping twice daily, the hotel itself is ultra clean, even though some of the carpets were a bit worn, they smelled clean and there was no mustiness whatsoever. Rooms a bit small but that is the norm for boutique hotels - but nicely decorated. As long as I can afford it - I will stay here again and again - no need to look for another hotel - plus - it's in the heart of all the action , yet quiet enough for resting.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, convenient
  • Disliked — Pool closes too early - 8PM
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My Girlfriend and I just got back from a long weekend in South Beach. We usually stay on Ocean Drive, but based on previous reviews, we tried The Hotel. It is a half a block from the beach. The location is great , with shopping and restaurants all around. We were extremely happy with basically everythig to do with the hotel.. The staff ( bell hops, front desk, concierge, maids ) were all very friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the second floor and was not very large, but it had plenty of storage for all of our things. The bed was very comfortable, although it was only a Queen..The bathroom was small, but I really liked the raindrop shower..The design of the room was really cool and I felt I could have stayed there for an extended period.
Another nice feature of the hotel, is an agreement they have with the chair rental people at the beach.. We loved the thick padded lounge chairs and umbrella that was complimentry. I think it saved us about $40 a day in rental fees..Finally, when we came off the beach, we headed for the rooftop pool with a great view of the ocean. We watched the cruise ships departing as the sun went down..It was awesome..
We will definately be back to " The Hotel" next time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cnpjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We experienced very good service at the hotel, excellent restaurant recommendations, good advice regarding tours, enthusiastic and helpful staff, lovely art deco style, beautiful restaurant with good service, lovely rooftop pool area which is great to chill out on when recovering from jet lag, and an awesome location near the beach and shops on Collins.

The rooms were a little on the small side and not trendy in the least but were comfortable, and the bathroom was quite small. The bathrobes are rather fun and I would have liked one but at $100 I thought this a little steep.

As guests of the hotel you can benefit from the delux beach loungers which is a real bonus, and of course the fabulous beach is a stones throw from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for a good south beach experience in the heart of the action.

  • Liked — The staff were exceptional
  • Disliked — The room was a little dated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ezelkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We reserved a suite with 2 double beds but they had us booked in a king. There was no suite available with 2 beds, that said they handled it very well, very apologetic and made every effort to make it up to us, reducing our rate, offering free cocktails etc.

Everyone we had contact with was incredibly helpful and friendly, sevice was top-notch. We felt special and taken care of all weekend.

The room was adequate, the sink a little too splashy so water got everywhere, the rooftop pool bar is much smaller than it appears on the web site but it was perfect for our needs, after beach and before heading out for the night. The beds were super comfortable, and no noise to speak of, that said we got back to the room very late each night (or early AM!)

Location is great, one block to the beach, complimentary lounge chairs and umbrella - the most comfy lounge chairs!! we could walk to nearly everything or cab fare (when we didn't want to trek it in heels) was always less than $10

  • Liked — location, service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2008

If you are looking to for a perfect location and value for money hotel, look no further! We have just returned from a ten day stay at The Hotel and we feel that it cannot be faulted in anyway.

We ate at the Wish restaurant just the once as there are many, many places for various budgets on South Beach and we wanted to sample as many as possible! But we ate either breakfast or lunch up at the pool most days and we were never disappointed. The price of food and drink is reflected in the quality and standard of staff here are second to none. South Beach gets crazy over the weekend and people trying to get you into there restaurants is a bit annoying but not anything you cant cope with or you can just cross the road onto the beach side! The Hotel is relaxed and lets you make your own mind up where to eat and drink with no pressure.

The rooftop Spire bar is absolutely beautiful. The bar staff remember your favourite drinks after your first order and they create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The Aventura Mall is most definately worth a visit but get the 'S' local bus as it is only 1.5dollars each, each way and a taxi is about 40-50dollars each way. Bal harbour is gorgeous if designer is your thing!

Beach is spotless and also worth a visit.

Sun, sea and relaxing with a mojito is South Beach! Partying is there if you want it day or night.

  • Liked — pool and bar area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gerty1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,287 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing