We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The BEST!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel
Ranked #20 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
College Park, Maryland
1 review
“The BEST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Let me start off by saying this hotel was awesome!!!! From the staff, to the rooms, to the food, to the location.....and let's not forget all of the amenities! I read reviews about the noise level...and while they give you free ear plugs....there is no need in using them! We were actually over top of a store, and the most noise we heard was the music playing at the clothing store beneath our room...and even still that wasn't bad. The location of the hotel is perfect! Oh...and let's not forget the rooftop pool. They offer free chaise chairs at the beach everyday during your stay. I would recommend this hotel with 10 stars! I am planning my next trip already and we just got back in town yesterday!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeketaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    480
    110
    52
    23
See reviews for
129
858
96
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and the room was comfortable. I enjoyed the fact that it was one street over from ocean drive. No need to hop in the car. Loved being able to walk to the beach and restaurants. Definitely loved the roof top pool and lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The staff at hotel of south beach were AMAZING! So kind, and I mean ALL of them. The hotel is centrally located so you won't need a car your in the HEART OF SOUTH BEACH at this hotel. If your considering this as your hotel I would suggest you do it! You won't be sorry

Room Tip: All of them are nice even the designer standard is nice and clean,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My daughter and I have returned from a great break in Miami. We had travelled here to surprise my mum who was stopping off in Miami on the way home. We arrived at the hotel around 8.30pm and were tired and hungry after a long journey and a bit of a delay due to a bad thunder storm. We were greeted and welcomed immediately and check-in quickly and shown to our room, in the new annexe on Ocean Drive, which is only a few steps from the main building. These rooms are above a Cafe that is 24 hours, which we didn't really register went we arrived, more about this later.

I had chosen an Ocean Front room, but not having been to Miami before, didn't realise quite how busy it was at night ( and apparently it was low season.) The room its self was ideal , clean, comfortable, light and airy, the bathroom was a great size, and it seemed reasonably quiet. I was a little concerned though when I saw a couple of packs of ear plugs beside the bed.

We ordered room service, which was delivered promptly and was just what we needed. The portion sizes were sensible unlike a lot of US food.

We finally cashed about an hour later, the jet lag getting the better of us. I fell asleep quite quickly but soon woke an hour or so later. All I could hear was the bass of the music from cars going by and people talking and laughing in the cafe. The windows appeared to be double glazed of sorts , so it did muffle to sounds to a certain extent, but not completely. Now, I admit that I don't usually sleep that well in new beds and especially when jet lagged, so don't want to be too negative about this, but feel that people need to know the facts and then make a decision whether these rooms are for them. Apart from this noise problem, I couldn't fault it!

The next day, we waited until my mum arrived and saw her room, then decided that we really should try to change the room as I felt another 3 night with little or no sleep would be hell, after all we were there for a rest! I mentioned to the lady on reception at the time what we would like to do and she was more than helpful ! She offered to let us see 2 rooms one with 2 beds and then a 1 bed suite. David, one of the concierge guys,( all of which are great very informative and very helpful) who had actually taken my mum to her room, showed us the 2 rooms and we decided to go for the suite room 217 as it was a lot lighter than the other standard type room 216 ( which by the way I felt was quite dark and the window was frosted glass, I guess for privacy.

We returned to the old room to pack our things up and left our suit cases etc and let David know they were ready to move. We then went up the pool to catch up with mum's travels. In the mean time the rom was made ready for us and the luggage transferred to the new room, which was so much quieter. I was really impressed how everything was handled and nothing was too much trouble.

The rest of our stay was great and the staff in all parts of the hotel were happy to help and had smiles on their faces. The management should be proud of their staff as it makes this hotel a great place to stay. Although I only really chose this hotel as my mum was staying here I would certainly return .

By the way, my mums room 323 was great too, Lovely and light and quiet.

Room Tip: One bed suite 217 or 323 2 bedded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaffyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel in any way.
* staff who cannot do enough to help
* located in Art Deco quarter
* annex building faces Ocean Drive
* roof top pool overlooking the ocean
* choice of inhouse dining options
* knowledgeable concierge - not there to sell you tickets
* we upgraded on arrival to a Suite - worth the extra $$

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DadHorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My girlfriends and I were in Miami for a Bachelorette party weekend (beginning of June 2014) and we loved staying here!

Amazing staff:
-John, lead concierge, is so fabulous! He is beyond awesome and extremely helpful! We are truly appreciative of his patience and resourcefulness!
-Daniel, front desk, is also patient, funny and a great photographer!
-Pool bar staff (everyone there) was so attentive! Their attention to detail is impeccable! They also make delicious ice coffees!

Food:
The food from the pool bar is delicious and reasonably priced. The food came out hot and right on time!

Rooms:
Rooms were cute and very clean. Service came twice a day! Beds were comfortable and sheets were clean.

We loved staying here! The Hotel has the perfect combination of amazing staff, clean rooms, delicious food and centralized location!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palminator28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

For being so close to the beach and main bars, the Hotel of South Beach feels like a million miles away once you are inside. Its a lovely clean friendly hotel which is perfect to return to after the madness of the beach, pubs and clubs on South Beach. (Especially if you are there at the same time as Spring Break!) Its like having two holidays in one, one outside of the hotel and one inside. The rooftop bar is a treat as is the pool, the fitness room and the free cocktail voucher on arrival There is nothing that is too much bother for the staff. Would definitely recommend and would stay again 100% when returning to Miami

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarynB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#27 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,888 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,059 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#31 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Property: The Hotel
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing