We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

If you are looking to for a perfect location and value for money hotel, look no further! We have just returned from a ten day stay at The Hotel and we feel that it cannot be faulted in anyway.

We ate at the Wish restaurant just the once as there are many, many places for various budgets on South Beach and we wanted to sample as many as possible! But we ate either breakfast or lunch up at the pool most days and we were never disappointed. The price of food and drink is reflected in the quality and standard of staff here are second to none. South Beach gets crazy over the weekend and people trying to get you into there restaurants is a bit annoying but not anything you cant cope with or you can just cross the road onto the beach side! The Hotel is relaxed and lets you make your own mind up where to eat and drink with no pressure.

The rooftop Spire bar is absolutely beautiful. The bar staff remember your favourite drinks after your first order and they create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

The Aventura Mall is most definately worth a visit but get the 'S' local bus as it is only 1.5dollars each, each way and a taxi is about 40-50dollars each way. Bal harbour is gorgeous if designer is your thing!

Beach is spotless and also worth a visit.

Sun, sea and relaxing with a mojito is South Beach! Partying is there if you want it day or night.

  • Liked — pool and bar area
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gerty1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    942
    512
    113
    52
    24
See reviews for
146
925
102
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

I stumbled across The Hotel one evening after a terrible stay at the Chesterfield with with my husband and daughter. Livingston at the front desk patiently answered all my questions and personally promised me that he would do everything in his power to make our stay special. He had one of the doorman show us a room and even though the elevators took a while to get to the lobby we were sold.

The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable but the carpets were run down. At the Chesterfield my daughter had found dirty q-tips in the bathroom so any level of cleanliness was appreciated.

This was our first experience staying in a boutique hotel and I must say that it has opened me up to trying different things. I loved the fact that the hotel has a personality and that it was an intimate setting where you could interact with other guests. And by far, Livingston is one of the nicest and most genuine people I have ever met. You can tell that he loves what he does and that he is a people person. He gave us alot of information about other hotels in the area and things to do as there was a storm coming to Miami and we were a little panicked.

Also, Miami Beach is having some sort of restaurant promotion. Our family ate at "Wish at the Tiffany" where we had a 3 course meal. Charles and the staff there were very gracious and the food was outstanding. He even had the chef make a special birthday plate for my daughter.

All in all I dont know if we would come back to South Beach. It did not seem child friendly but if we did we would stay at The Hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Pool
  • Disliked — Slow elevator
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lmotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

Stayed for anniversary weekend, one of the biggest draws for The Hotel would have to be both the pool scene on the top deck (great drinks try the blended mojito, however go early since it is hard to find a chair after 10:30am on the weekend) as well as use of the beach chairs w/ umbrella, note that after 5pm you cannot use the beach chairs as it closes...
As other reviewers said, the bathroom is beyond TINY, and the showers are strange in that there is no shower door, just a 1ft wide slab of frosted glass next to the shower head to keep the water inside the shower. We were in room 301 and the room itself was "big" by south beach standards, but don't think for a second that you can "share the sink" because even if you weigh under 100lbs only 1 of you will be in the bathroom at one time. The closet size is nice in that you have 5 shelves (no drawers), hanging space, and a safe.
The only other complaint would definately be the noise factor, but as others have said, that is to be expected in this area of south beach and I came prepared with ear plugs which both my husband and I utilized and were fine.
The location is great in that :
1. 1 block away is the best late night (or all day and night) food, Puerto Sagua... great after a night of clubbing and very reasonable price wise.
2. The beach is 1 block away and you have chair/umbrella service
3. Decent shopping right across the street
4. It is walking distance to lincoln road
The most impressive part of our stay was the service... Dan the conceirge was amazing, and went above and beyond to help us find what we needed. Even the hotel clerks were great in helping with every request, and the housekeeping was also very good in that they respected the "do not disturb" sign and cleaned very well when I put the "housekeeping" sign on the door.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank charliembrown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2008

Just returned from a four-night stay at The Hotel, and absolutely loved it. Yes, the carpeting's a bit worn and the bathrooms are small, but the whole place is beautifully designed, the staff is incredible, the location is ideal and the pool is the best...comfortable and serene, with a beautiful ocean view. If you're looking for a place that's close to the action but not in the middle of it, and want to be treated like a valued customer, this is the place to be.

  • Liked — The staff and the location
  • Disliked — Single (slow) elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JFBWDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed at "The Hotel" for 9 nights so I was able to get a really good feel as to the overall hotel and operations. Having stayed here previously 4 years ago with just an average experience, I wanted to return to see why The Hotel is now scoring so highly with TripAdvisor - well, after 9 nights I cannot rave highly enough about the changes that have been made and can definitely assure travelors that the high TripAdvisor rating is well justified.

Many of the staff have now been on the property for many years, and the training provided by the extraordinary long-term General Manager is evident.

What separates this hotel from the competition in South Beach is the staff. The location is also very convenient - while not facing the ocean, this was not a huge problem and can even be viewed as a positive because traffic and noise is less as compared with the hotels located directly on Ocean Dr. - "The Hotel" is a block back from ocean on Collins. Situated on Collins and acrosss the street are Kenneth Cole, Armani Exchange, etc. so shopping/upscale amenities are very close by.

As some other guests have stated in reviews, noise at times can be an issue. Don't go here if you expect to go to bed before midnight without some outside or inside noise distractions - this just goes with the territory and where this property is located. Try to get a room on a higher floor away from the elevators and overlooking the garden/courtyard which is quieter than the rooms directly facing Collins.

The beds, shower/bathroom, hotel ameneties are very adequate and equivalent to some of the most expensive properties in the area. The mini-bar and refreshments provided are well-stocked and replenished promptly on a daily basis.

The pool area, while small in size, offers a beautiful view of the ocean through the palm trees. And I am happy to report that the once non-existent pool service is now extraordinary - a new bar area has been built and is well-staffed with highly attentive pool attendants. The pool area is a wonderful place to relax and have lunch/drinks without leaving the hotel - more about the food later.

The small gym is also well-equiped and the view from the gym very nice - treadmills with TV's so the workout time seems shorter.

OK - the food - WISH restaurant. The only thing I can say is that the quality of service, menu, wine list, and food itself if worth a trip to Miami Beach just to experience this incredible restaurant. Lucky for me, WISH food is also served as room service and at the pool. The menu changes regularly and offers only the freshest in high quality menu items.

Give "The Hotel" a try without hesitation. It will not be for everyone because of some of the expected noise factors and distractions due to the location, but overall I have to rate this place very highly - one of the best if not THE best now in South Beach. Oh, the price makes this place without question the best value on the beach now as well. Other properties that have not really lowered their rates for off-season are not worth the money when you can stay at "The Hotel".

  • Liked — Incredible Service and Staff Attentiveness - Pool - WISH Restaurant
  • Disliked — Some noise issues but nothing major - stay up late and have fun!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLTravelsALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

What a gem! The staff here are the nicest and most helpful I've come across in ages. While the rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up, the lobby and pool area are impressive. The Hotel is excellent value for money and the location couldn't be better. I'll be making this my regular Miami Beach hideout.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms could do with makeover
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank T0nymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

A friend of mine and I stayed at The Hotel 4 nights in early June in a Couture Room with 2 double beds. As with many SoBe hotels, the room was relatively petite but comfortable and adequate in amenities. The bathroom was also on the small side but had a large walk-in shower with double shower heads--very nice. And as others have said, The Hotel is just slightly off the main drag so noise and/or late night partying is not a factor when it comes to getting a good night's sleep (at whatever time that turns out to be...!!)

The Hotel has an on site fitness center (which has a window that looks out to the pool bar--funny!), tiny complimentary computer station with 2 pcs, Wish restaurant, and very cute indoor bar/lounge area. The rooftop pool offers great views, very comfortable loungers, bar & small dining area, and plenty of shaded areas to retreat from the heat. The pool itself is much smaller than we had expected--just a handful of people make it crowded--and stays pretty warm given the size & rooftop location. The Hotel also offers a beach club service... the front desk or concierge provides towels & directions and then the beach personnel set you up with comfy lounge chairs and umbrella.

Probably one of The Hotel's best features is the staff. Really from top to bottom, the people at this property are fabulous! Front desk, bellmen, concierge, managers... they all seem to really go out of their way to make sure their guests feel welcome and happy!! While always helpful and professional, the staff seem to have perfected the balance of proper service and easy-going interactions--The general attitude is light, comfortable, and fun. We loved the gang at The Hotel! :)

All in all, (having stayed in South Beach a few times previously) we would probably stay closer to/on the beach next time as we seemed to spend the majority of our time there. But for anyone looking for great service, reasonable rates, easy access to shopping, and outstanding personnel, you can't go wrong at this boutique hotel.

  • Liked — Great Staff!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AmyInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing