We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Great location, great staff, excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently stayed at The Hotel on a business trip and I was very happy with the experience. The location, right across the from the beach and in the middle of all of the shops and restaurants in the area, was great. The rooftop and pool was a great, quiet space with amazing views.

The hotel staff were fantastic - very helpful, friendly and responsive. I'm comfortable saying they are the nicest staff I've encountered at a hotel and I travel a fair amount for business and fun. Housekeeping was attentive and offered an evening turn-down service.

The hotel is a smaller, boutique hotel with two buildings. Originally the Tiffany hotel (the spire is on top), it has great Art Deco touches without feeling old or worn out - just comfortable. The main building hosting the restaurant, pool, lobby and most rooms. The other building is just around the corner above the News Stand with a few rooms. I saw a few rooms in the main building and they varied in size and layout, but they were all nicely decorated and clean. My room in the other building was large and bright with an amazing balcony that overlooked Ocean Ave. and the beach. It was loud at night, but worth using earplugs to have the balcony. I suspect the rooms in the main building were quieter.

I had a simple breakfast one morning at the hotel restaurant and, unlike so many hotels, it was good, freshly made and very reasonably priced. The outdoor seating area is great. Despite being right off the street, it is full of mature plants, lots of shade and seems much quieter. The food that the hotel provided during our business meetings was excellent. Our group had nothing but positive things to say about it and we tend to be picky. My only suggestion is to have a knowledgeable staff member available during meal times to answer questions about ingredients and preparation or have that information readily-available on the description cards. We had a few guests who were vegetarian or have other dietary issues and they weren't sure of everything they could eat and there wasn't someone available to assist.

Thanks for such a great experience!

Room Tip: If you're not in the main building, try to stay on the third floor (the highest) for less street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    516
    116
    52
    25
See reviews for
147
937
104
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our 2nd stay and once again the Service, staff, facilities were wonderful, as is the location. Of all the hotels we have stayed in the world over this in its own way rates with the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the building facing Ocean Avenue, although the gym and pool are in the other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at the Hotel at least a dozen times always a wonderful amazing vacation. Staff there always makes me feel so welcomed. The roof top pool is my best feature, you are in heaven. If you need to relax and escape this is the place to come. Don't forget to try the Spire cocktail. Once again the concierge John is top notch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jnads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for work for three days. Location is ideal for south beach activities. Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms are cozy and view from roof is gorgeous. Hallway was a bit loud at night and you can hear the street noises sometimes but overall it was a comfortable stay. Meeting room was large and well furnished. Lunch provided was fantastic. I would be glad to attend another meeting held here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This review is very overdue... I have stayed in other South beach hotels but once I stayed at The Hotel I knew it was the only I place I wanted to stay while in SB. This is about my fifth stay & they never disappoint! Location is prime; walking distance to shops, Ocean Drive 
& Lincoln Rd. The staff is very friendly! From the front desk, bellman, concierge & the pool service all phenomenal! Reservation/sales specialists where very accommodating & attentive to detail since I was celebrating my boyfriend's Bday :). Don't forget to try the amazing frozen mojitos & food by the pool.. Oh free chairs & towels by the beach! Thanks again for a wonderful & flawless stay!! 

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AngR08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This is my 5th stay here and it NEVER disappoints! The staff is very accommodating - especially John the concierge. If you're looking to kick back and relax then this is the place to be! Drinks and food are great at the pool - a little more expensive than restaurants on Ocean but worth it. Location is perfect as you can easily walk to the bars and shopping. I will continue to stay here on my trips to South Beach!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastGirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great service, and location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay. The suite was great with alot of space. The food was excellent. We had the pulled pork sandwich, and Cesar salad ( chicken/shrimp for lunch. Fried chicken wings, hamburger, club sandwich, and fries for dinner....plenty. The pool is on the roof, and the view is beautiful, facing the beach....WOW!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyab40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing