We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Affoltern am Albis, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hotel is what we where looking for. All the positive reviews made us book this hotel. If you are looking for a quite place, you probably shouldn't go to Miami Beach or not book a central hotel and then expect it to be quiet. I really don't get people complaining about this and reducing rates for this reason. Because this hotel is really great!
The location couldn't be better. We walked a lot, Collins Av and Lincoln road have great boutiques. Ocean Drive and all the clubs and restaurants are close to the hotel. We always felt save. As it was a short stay, we didn't go to the top floor deck area with pool since the beach was much more interesting to us but we might check it out soon during our second stay after our Bahamas cruse. Rooms reflect the art nouveau decor, which is not what we personally like but it was very clean, which is way more important to us. The staff is just great and friendly and made us feel very welcome like at home :) A big THANK YOU to all of you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Branka22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    536
    120
    55
    27
See reviews for
156
982
111
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san juan capistrano
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Many years ago we stayed here before the current renovation. It is much better now. Only a few negatives. Bathroom floor/shower was not working at the time of arriving and the floor grout was moldy. Bed was comfortable but the bottom sheet was not fitted and therefore kept coming separated from the mattress. Internet was not consistent and kept turning off which required resetting and login. While our ocean front room, (325), was nice the noise from the News Cafe below and the fact that it was opened 24 hrs was disconcerting when trying to sleep. The complimentary welcome drink was unpleasant. The hotel staff was pleasant, especially the service person Daniel. Did not eat here, dining ambience was not inviting. Did not see the pool. The hotel is on Ocean in the back rooms and on Collins in the front. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Hotel is what South Beach is all about. The exterior and interior are the epitome of the Art Deco style. The location couldn't be better on the corner of Collins and Eight Street
in the very heart of the area. Great boutiques all around yet only a short block from the action on Ocean Drive and all the clubs and restaurants. The beach is right there too with free reserved chairs and towels for hotel guests. The Hotel also has a great top floor deck area with a pool and bar serving great food at breakfast and lunch, with comfortable lounge chairs and a great view of the ocean. Rooms also reflect the art nouveau decor. They all have a Keurig K-cup coffee maker refreshed daily, as well as a mini-bar, flat-screen TV, a comfortable bed and deco-tiled shower in every room. Classy international clientele -especially for Art Basel. A great place to stay with great staff under the direction of Monica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latkes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Pros: SUPER friendly staff who are very welcoming and very polite, it's well located, Nice rooftop pool with a view, close to the beach and reserved chairs. I was travelling alone and felt safe and comfortable here. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Cons: They initially gave me a room with frosted windows that was very dark, but then moved me to a room with a street view. I don't think I would have been happy in the other room. The rooms are not huge. Wifi is spotty.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collins are loud, but have good light and are lively. Not for the light sleeper but I e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n_walia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Director of Sales at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear n_Walia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback !

Indeed some of our rooms have frosted windows because they do not have much of a view, we are limited in this by the architecture of the Hotel. However, these rooms are usually the quieter ones as after all, this is South Beach and as you mentioned, the streets can sometimes be a bit noisy despite our best soundproofing efforts.

I have shared your comments with our staff and management and we are happy that you were satisfied with their service.

If you return to Miami, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be a pleasure to help you organize your next trip.

Best regards,


Marc Pendaries
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfield hills, mi
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Originally booked the Catalina but noticed the reviews were not complimentary. Changed my reservation and could not have been happier. What an excellent location. EVERYTHING within walking distance. One block away from all the action. My room was ready early. Room 101, at first I was very disappointed in location of the room. At the beginning of the hall right by the door. I was worried about hall traffic and noise. The room was perfect. Minimal noise, quiet at night. Small and quaint. The bathroom was also small, but matched the feel of the room and the style very well.
The roof top pool is an oasis away from the hub of South Beach. The beverages were quite good and the snacks tasty. The view was very nice.
What makes this hotel special is the staff and especially the concierge staff. The suggestions for dinner were right on. Breakfast suggestion could not have been better. I kept getting turned around a bit with my directions and they were always patient. As I would leave they would make sure I was heading in the right direction.
I felt safe and very welcomed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adawosdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Director of Sales at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Adawosdi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review " The Hotel of South Beach" !

We are all very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your comments with our front office staff and thanked them for their efforts.

Should you return to Miami, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, it would be a pleasure to assist you in organizing your next visit.

Best regards,


Marc Pendaries
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our 4th stay at The Hotel and they did not disappoint. We love everything about The Hotel. From its great location, food, roof top pool, free wifi, computer with printer in lobby, friendly staff and newly remodeled rooms. already looking forward to our next visit to The Hotel of South Beach. Also has a gym to get in a workout.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Director of Sales at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear John G,

It was such a pleasure to read your review ! We all thank you very much for taking the time to review "The Hotel of South Beach" and for giving us your feedback.

I have shared your comments with our management and staff and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

For your next visit to Miami, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, it would be a pleasure to assist you in organizing your next trip and we would like to offer you something special as a token of our appreciation of your repeat stays.

Best regards,


Marc Pendaries
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We felt welcomed as soon as we walked in. Agree with all the reviews about the service. Great location, a block from the beach and close to all the restaurants. Pool was very nice. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in south beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel of South Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our customer service sets us apart. Thank you for pointing it out as well..

Please let us know of you next visit, email us directly at anytime (reservations@goldmanproperties.com) . We will offer you great compatible rates for an incompatible customer service and hotel.

Have an amazing day!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo - Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,281 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
479 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,561 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,904 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing