We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic. Service, location and quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel
Ranked #22 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic. Service, location and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Fantastic hotel, great people providing fantastic service in undoubtedly one of the best locations on Ocean Drive.

Right from the start, valet service, check in service, bellboy, concierge all fantastic and showing an interest in us, and what kind of experiences we'd like. Not pushy at all, just helpful. Restaurant recommendations from John were great!

Rooms were great with quality furnishings and excellent servicing and cleanliness.

It's in the middle of ocean drive above News Cafe, which is brilliant for all snacks, main meals, and all drinks & cocktails. Plenty of bars restaurants and shopping all around you.

The pool area is much better than it looks on the website. Great music, food, not crowded, good places to relax and have lunch even a nicely equipped small gym.

First class, looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you SO much for your amazing review. It makes us very happy that you've had such an amazing time while at The Hotel of South Beach.
Please contact our reservations department directly, or myself, for your next visit.

Have an amazing day!
See you soon.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo. Sales Mgr of The Hotel of South Beach. naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    468
    107
    52
    21
See reviews for
123
828
94
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at The Hotel and I must say it exceeded my expectations. The location was great, the staff were extremely friendly and the rooms were very clean. It is located close to all the restaurants, shops and the beach. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The rooftop pool overlooked the ocean. Complimentary rental chairs at the beach was relaxing. The wifi connection was spotty, but I managed. The street noise was at a very minimal level. I hardly heard anything that was happening outside.

We were greeted by Pierre who assisted us with our luggage upon arrival and showed us multiple rooms. The concierge, John, was very knowledgable of the area and suggested some really great restaurants. John also assisted us with arranging a bus/boat tour for the day. I really liked how I was always greeted when entering and exiting the hotel.

I will most certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Also, I am looking forward to returning. It was a great stay.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Jessica, thank you very much for your kind words.
The Hotel of South Beach and all its staff will love to have you back. Please contact our reservations department or myself directly for your next stay with us.
We will always take good care of you!

Have an amazing day!

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo. Sales Mgr of The Hotel of South Beach. naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location: close to shops, beach, restaurants. We've stayed at the atelier suite. We didn' have the best view, but the room is very spacious and quiet, even being close to the bars. Lovely decoration!!!! And the most important: clean!!! A friend of mine stayed in another hotel, and he regret it....

Room Tip: We've stayed at the atelier suite. The entrance is at the Ocean Drive, not at Collins Av., but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nlmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate it!
Our new building on Ocean Drive was also decorated by Todd Oldham, the Fashion Designer that did the main building as well. He decided to use colors that would bring the heat of the sun on our Ocean Front and Atelier rooms. They are indeed beautiful and spacious.
Please let us know of your next visit to South Beach. We would love to see you again!

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo. Sales Mgr of The Hotel of South Beach. naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at The Hotel with my mom. It is a friendly hotel with a warm atmosphere.

Reception staff: We felt welcome from the moment we arrived because the guy who checked us in talked to us, like whether it was our first time in Miami, and he made sure we got the room we wanted. He even showed us the room we had booked and one caregory higher because we had requested a king size bed. So already at check-in, we were treated as valued guests. No one at The Hotel just did their job, but always a bit more.

Concierge: In my job as a flight attendant I have seen many 4- and 5-star hotels around the world, and this Concierge called John was one of my favorite because he really knows it all.

Housekeeping: once the hotel ran out of small towels, so the housekeeper came by again in the evening with the missing towels and cleaned the whole bathroom again.

Check-out: we appreciated being served two complimentary glasses of water with ice and lemon while waiting for a taxi to the airport.

Self-parking: not a hassle at all. No need for valet.

I would maybe stay at this hotel again. I loved the colors of the rooms, the beds and the staff. But it is quite far from Lincoln Road. And because there are so many beautiful hotels in Miami Beach, I think I want to try out some of the others as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngeles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your very detailed and nice review!! We really appreciate it.
We are very glad you had such a nice stay. Our team will love to see you again.
Whenever you decide to come back, please let us know. Contact us through our reservations dept or directly through me. We will be delighted to continue extending our service to such special guests.

Have an amazing day, for you and your mom.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager at The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel surpassed my expectations. They have an amazingly courteous staff.
The staff goes above and beyond to make sure guests are happy. The pool bartenders, especially Lares and Miro, provided exceptional service and delicious frozen drinks. Dirty Bananas!!! The Sunday night bartender at Wish, the hotel bar, had a wonderful sense of humor. We only meant to grab a cocktail there but ended up spending the evening there instead. Wonderful! David, Daniel, Christian and the others in the lobby and at the door gave excellent customer service and recommended wonderful places during our South Beach stay. They even set us up with great cabana massages for four at the rooftop pool for our Bachelorette Party.
Honestly, I'm a beach person but spent almost every day at the pool because of the staff there.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The location was ideal, one block from the beach. And the food at the hotel was delicious. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely visit again.
They made my stay worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel for two nights, in a Designer Room. The room was nice and cleane and the staff friendly. The concierge, John Durham, was most helpful with suggestions on what do see and do, where to eat and shop. Big thumbs up! Would we stay here again? Sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel in Miami Beach for two nights and had a wonderful time. We reserved a standard grade room. It was a comfortable size with a king size bed, a desk, a dresser, and nice roller cabinet with flat screen on top and glassware and stocked beverage refrigerator. The bathroom was updated and the shower was great.
The pool area was wonderful, comfortable, and quiet, with a full bar. Lounge chairs are set up around the pool with covers and towels. One evening they had a bar-b-q by the pool. A very nice set up.
THE best part of the stay was the people who worked at The Hotel. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The folks that work around the front desk, the concierge, and bellmen were so gracious. Every time you exited the elevator or arrived back at the hotel they wanted to help with suggestions. If you need help with restaurants, shopping, or anything else, they will make excellent recommendations. Trust them! And when you get back they will ask you if you enjoyed yourself and hat did you order. Almost like family.
The charge for valet parking is $28 per day, kind of the going rate in SOBE. They also have a loyalty program you can sign up to after you have stayed with them once. It will provide you with upgraded rooms at no cost. If we are headed back to SOBE we will happily stay at The Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Property: The Hotel
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing