We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel
Ranked #21 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Friendly staff, great location, clean rooms, roof top pool with a view of the ocean, great hotel! Stayed just one night, wish we had time to stay more. Love the retro style, definitely felt like you we're in Miami. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    469
    107
    52
    21
See reviews for
124
828
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I go to South Beach every year and we always stay in the same two block area and have tried several of the boutique hotels, but after staying at The Hotel we've decided we're never staying anywhere else. They have by far the friendliest staff, the hotel lobby is bright and clean, the patio dining area is beautiful and the rooftop pool is fantastic! Room was spacious and even the bathroom was good sized for SoBe! We much prefer being on Collins, avoiding all the restaurant hawkers on Ocean. We had a great experience, can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coleshouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 5 nights from june 10th, it is a small boutique hotel, the staff are all very nice and attentative. If you need something just ask. Its split in two and situated on 8th and collins but some rooms are overlooking ocean drive. We stayed on ocean drive with our balcony overlooking the beach and street shops. It can be a bit noisy around 5 am when the clubs are closing but the sun comes up so early it didnt bother us. The rooms are small but your not in it that much anyway being on south beach your always outside doing things. Beds were amazing, cant fault the rooms. Very secure someone on the desk 24 hrs. For a top class meal try a Fish called Avalon on ocean drive 700.

Room Tip: Ocean front our favorite level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited this hotel in May stayed for 6 nights. Location is perfect for Ocean Drive, room really nice and service was fantastic. Pool is on the roof with great view onto the beach, there is also a pool bar. The staff were all really nice and always very helpful especially Neil the hotel manager who made our stay really enjoyable.

Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend. So glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Hotel for 2 nights. This is our favorite hotel in South Beach. The location is unbelievable, our room was amazing, the shower had great water pressure, and our bed was so comfortable. The staff is amazing and treated us as if we were their only guests. Thank you, John for the terrific dinner recommendations! The roof top pool and view cannot be beat!! I could stay there all day. However, your reservation comes with complementary beach towels and chairs!! I cannot wait until we are back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at The Hotel for 2 nights. We enjoyed the location, it's in the midst of where it all happens in Miami, just a 2 minute walk to the beach and Ocean Drive with it's bars/restaurants/clubs. The hotel staff is very attentive and always try to help. The swimmingpool on the roof is nice, although it's not that big. It does look out over the ocean, which is always good. Unfortunately, the rooftop lounge was closed for the season, so I cannot comment on that. The drinks at the pool however were tasteful.
The only downside for me was the room. It's small (as most South Beach hotel rooms are), but it was stuffed with (ugly) furniture which made it quite hard for us to get around. The bed is also very high and me as a pregnant woman had a hard time getting on and off the bed. The bathroom is small, but nice.
Would I stay here again? I think not, simply because I don't think the price matches the quality. I've stayed in the Townhouse Hotel in South Beach a couple of years ago and I liked that one better, although I did miss a swimming pool there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Place is absolutely fabulous, great service, the boys at the desk and the vallet, the most helpful, professional wonderful bunch. Treated us like celebrity's, fantastic location, (stayed on the ocean dr side) rooftop pool is insanely gorgeous, the view, ridiculous!!! The room, OMFG! The bed, so comfortable, the shower, sexiest shower I've been in. And that mini bar, stocked to the gills! Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snips2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Property: The Hotel
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing