We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #15 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 5 nights from june 10th, it is a small boutique hotel, the staff are all very nice and attentative. If you need something just ask. Its split in two and situated on 8th and collins but some rooms are overlooking ocean drive. We stayed on ocean drive with our balcony overlooking the beach and street shops. It can be a bit noisy around 5 am when the clubs are closing but the sun comes up so early it didnt bother us. The rooms are small but your not in it that much anyway being on south beach your always outside doing things. Beds were amazing, cant fault the rooms. Very secure someone on the desk 24 hrs. For a top class meal try a Fish called Avalon on ocean drive 700.

Room Tip: Ocean front our favorite level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,838 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We visited this hotel in May stayed for 6 nights. Location is perfect for Ocean Drive, room really nice and service was fantastic. Pool is on the roof with great view onto the beach, there is also a pool bar. The staff were all really nice and always very helpful especially Neil the hotel manager who made our stay really enjoyable.

Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend. So glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Hotel for 2 nights. This is our favorite hotel in South Beach. The location is unbelievable, our room was amazing, the shower had great water pressure, and our bed was so comfortable. The staff is amazing and treated us as if we were their only guests. Thank you, John for the terrific dinner recommendations! The roof top pool and view cannot be beat!! I could stay there all day. However, your reservation comes with complementary beach towels and chairs!! I cannot wait until we are back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at The Hotel for 2 nights. We enjoyed the location, it's in the midst of where it all happens in Miami, just a 2 minute walk to the beach and Ocean Drive with it's bars/restaurants/clubs. The hotel staff is very attentive and always try to help. The swimmingpool on the roof is nice, although it's not that big. It does look out over the ocean, which is always good. Unfortunately, the rooftop lounge was closed for the season, so I cannot comment on that. The drinks at the pool however were tasteful.
The only downside for me was the room. It's small (as most South Beach hotel rooms are), but it was stuffed with (ugly) furniture which made it quite hard for us to get around. The bed is also very high and me as a pregnant woman had a hard time getting on and off the bed. The bathroom is small, but nice.
Would I stay here again? I think not, simply because I don't think the price matches the quality. I've stayed in the Townhouse Hotel in South Beach a couple of years ago and I liked that one better, although I did miss a swimming pool there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Place is absolutely fabulous, great service, the boys at the desk and the vallet, the most helpful, professional wonderful bunch. Treated us like celebrity's, fantastic location, (stayed on the ocean dr side) rooftop pool is insanely gorgeous, the view, ridiculous!!! The room, OMFG! The bed, so comfortable, the shower, sexiest shower I've been in. And that mini bar, stocked to the gills! Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snips2685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well, let me start off by stating that when we arrived to south beach we did not have reservation for a hotel my husband just happen to walk in to the hotel and spoke to Daniel who was excellent he was very attentive an professional. First we booked for three days, then stayed for three more days. Our experience was great! Room was clean everyday let me add that the bar in the pool needs more of a selection but I am sure they are working on this. Our stay was made so special because of the attention of Daniel, Esteban, John, Neil and Douglas these guys are just wonderful. We felt very safe the staff were always making sure of that. We would highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed two times at The Hotel and both times have been grand! John, the concierge was friendly , helpful, and his recommendations were spot on! Daniel, the bellman was friendly and very concerned that we had everything we needed. I wish I could remember everyone's name but just so you know, everyone was friendly and genuinely glad we were there !

While on the small side (the Hotel is an historic lodging and indicative of the time period it was built), it is very classy and elegant without being gaudy. The design theme is carried throughout the building. There is even a kuerig coffee maker in the room along with a well stocked mini frig. Keep in mind, you will be paying south beach prices!

One block away from the beach, your room comes with complimentary towels and chairs at the beach . No having to lug them there!

On the day of our checkout, our bellman invited us to stay as long as we wanted. He secured our luggage until we were ready to go. We continued to enjoy the beach, then returned to use the pool on the top of the building. When we were ready to leave, we were able to shower off by the pool. The shower was equipped with bath gel, shampoo, conditioner, and a hair dryer!

On this trip, we didn't eat at their restaurant so I can't comment on that. However, there was inside (meaning air cond.) dining as well as outside in a beautiful courtyard.

All the action of ocean drive is one block away and since it sits on the corner of 8th & Collins drive, shopping is just outside the door.
We will return to Miami beach and we will stay at The Hotel again!

Room Tip: Both times we've stayed in 318 which is right across from the elevator and looks out onto Collin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 214 in Miami Beach
607 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#6 of 214 in Miami Beach
409 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#46 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,407 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,764 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $182 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing