We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel
Ranked #20 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed two times at The Hotel and both times have been grand! John, the concierge was friendly , helpful, and his recommendations were spot on! Daniel, the bellman was friendly and very concerned that we had everything we needed. I wish I could remember everyone's name but just so you know, everyone was friendly and genuinely glad we were there !

While on the small side (the Hotel is an historic lodging and indicative of the time period it was built), it is very classy and elegant without being gaudy. The design theme is carried throughout the building. There is even a kuerig coffee maker in the room along with a well stocked mini frig. Keep in mind, you will be paying south beach prices!

One block away from the beach, your room comes with complimentary towels and chairs at the beach . No having to lug them there!

On the day of our checkout, our bellman invited us to stay as long as we wanted. He secured our luggage until we were ready to go. We continued to enjoy the beach, then returned to use the pool on the top of the building. When we were ready to leave, we were able to shower off by the pool. The shower was equipped with bath gel, shampoo, conditioner, and a hair dryer!

On this trip, we didn't eat at their restaurant so I can't comment on that. However, there was inside (meaning air cond.) dining as well as outside in a beautiful courtyard.

All the action of ocean drive is one block away and since it sits on the corner of 8th & Collins drive, shopping is just outside the door.
We will return to Miami beach and we will stay at The Hotel again!

Room Tip: Both times we've stayed in 318 which is right across from the elevator and looks out onto Collin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    476
    108
    52
    21
See reviews for
128
840
95
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night through a Hotel Tonight deal and I can't complain!!!

They offer valet parking although a bit over priced for a couple of hours $30

The check in process was quick and very attentive! The Valet person also escorted me to my room and showed me the room amenities!

My room was nice but very small and the bathroom as well but it was functional and clean!

I would definitely re book here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchelswatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As a New Yorker, a Miami trip is a must for us at least twice a year. There is no other option for us when we plan our trip, The Hotel of South Beach is the ONLY hotel we stay at when we go. There is nothing better for us. The staff are beyond amazing, from David, Esteban, John, John PIerre, Neil, Douglas... they all make you feel right at home & that is what I love so much about this hotel. The rooms are just the right size, it might be too small for some people but it works for us and the bed is probably the most comfortable bed Ive ever slept in. The pool is one of favorite spots to be when in Miami. Its on the small side as compared to other hotels in Miami but its perfect for us. There is never a lot of people crowding the pool, the pool staff is wonderful, always clean up on the rooftop & the view is to die for. As you could tell, I could go on and on about this place but I truly believe everyone should give it a try. Going to book my next trip right now! Cant wait!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Kimm T,

THANK YOU for your review and THANK YOU for a being the reason we work so hard!! We truly mean it when we say that each and every one of our guests means the world to us! People like you make this hotel just that much more special. I will definitely pass on this wonderful review to our staff members as we know how much they truly enjoy being appreciated and hearing sweet comments from our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back once again to your "Home away from Home." Stay warm in New York!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist, Goldman Properties and The Hotel of South Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at The Hotel recently. After doing a ton of online research, I picked The Hotel because of their solid reviews and I couldn't be happier at my choice. I stayed Sunday through Thursday with my sister and friend. From the moment we walked through the doors we were treated amazingly. From recommending restaurants and activities during our stay, to helping us hail cabs, to checking in on us frequently, the staff is awesome and were the perfect example of how to make guests feel special and catered too. I love the fact that the hotel is small enough that the staff remembers and acknowledges you everytime you walk in the door. How many other hotel staffers at big, chain hotels would personally walk in the middle of the street and hail a cab for a guest? Overall, I felt like the staff looked out for us and made sure they did everything their power to accomodate us in every way.

In addition to the front desk and concierge staff, the housekeeping did a great job of keeping our room tidy and supplying us with fresh towels and refilling our tissues. The room itself was clean, a bit bigger than expected and was perfectly fine for our stay. Another Yelper mentioned that the beds are not queen size but full, and I agree with that. The beds definitely seemed smaller, more like full size but then again that wasn't a big issue for us.

The pool is small but honestly I was fine with that. There were only about five other guests at the pool when we went so there were tons of chairs available. The bar area is very small and somewhat informal and lackluster, but seeing as though the pool wasn't really all that busy, so i don't fault them for that.

Some of biggest perks of staying at The Hotel are - free wifi, free chairs at the beach, and the prime location of the hotel in South Beach. The Hotel is centrally located, close to the beach (1 super short block), tons of shopping, all of the "trendy" restaurants on Ocean Drive & Collins, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way (about 15 minutes walking) and coffee shops and convienence stores. No car needed at all! Walking around South Beach only further confirmed how happy I was we picked The Hotel because IMO no other hotel's location was as great as The Hotel.

Overall, STAY AT THE HOTEL, you will love it. The staff and service alone is enough to make me come back. John and Dan specifically are wonderful, great guys who are amazing at their jobs! You both made our first visit to Miami very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Main building, 2nd floor around the corner from elevator at the end of the hall was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Anna F,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Your opinion is very valuable us. We are very happy that you decided to go with The Hotel of South Beach when making your selection. We are thrilled to hear that your stay was nothing short of perfect! It is wonderful that our staff welcomed you and made you feel absolutely special.
You are right about The Hotel being in a prime location. We too love the closeness to the beach!! But who wouldn't?!
Again, thank you for writing such a detailed review of The Hotel, the staff, amenities, and location. It comes highly appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our home at The Hotel of South Beach!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist, The Hotel of South Beach & Goldman Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Literally stumbled across this oasis during my visit to Miami in 2012 and now could not imagine visiting Miamai without staying in The Hotel. The staff are professional, warm, welcoming and provide great advice on the best surrounding dining options. The rooms are well-fitted and charming. But it is the rooftop pool and bar that seduces and leaves you begging for more!!

Room Tip: If staying within the main building, request a room overlooking the courtyard - delightful. Room 202...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotios22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Fottios22,

Thank you for your sweet review from your recent visit! We are so happy you stumbled upon us as well! There are so many hotels located on South Beach, so we feel very lucky you chose us! We are very happy to hear that our staff treated you well and that you really enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel amenities. We do hope you will choose us again in your future travels to accommodate you.
We look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist, The Hotel of South Beach & Goldman Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Firstly the name confuses cab drivers from the airport so if you tell them it was the Tiffany it may help. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, second is the location. Americans do the service thing very well, however sometimes you need a human side and touch, all the guys and girls were excellent and look after you. Two quick tips while I think about it, if you want to do any trips get the concierge ( Esteban and John really cool guys) to help out, second there is complimentary breakfast (continental), you don't have to sit in the small room, take your coffee and pastries outside! . The hotel is in the Art Deco area of south beach, the hotel delivers and does what is says on the label. Great location for the beach and Collins avenue and ocean drive. The roof top pool is relaxing after a hard day on the beach, Neil ( could be Neal) is one of the bar tenders and really looked after us. Room was large and comfortable (too many mirrors, is this an Art Deco thing? Or just Miami ?) cool place in weird city but nice people.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor facing 8th street, but remember you are next to Ocean drive it's going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drc1094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days at the end of April 2013. From the moment we arrived, the staff, in particular Estaban, Caesar and Anthony, made us feel incredibly welcome and nothing short of royalty. We were staying on the ocean drive block and the rooms were fantastic - spacious, clean and luxurious.
It was great having 2 complimentary beach chairs, and the rooftop pool complete with its own set of sun loungers which were always free, were a great addition to the package.
On our final day, we had a late flight and the hotel were kind enough to allow us to continue using their facilities.
I am genuinely amazed at the value for money and overall wow factor.
Will definitley be coming to Miami again and will undoubtedly be staying here!
Thank you to all the staff, especially those mentioned, for making those 4 days such a great experience we will always remember.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,724 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,983 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Property: The Hotel
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing