We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Great stylish hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms are a bit on the small side (especially the bathrooms) but that is pretty standard for an art deco boutique hotel. And besides, it's Miami Beach - you should be outside.

Hotel staff is very friendly - they greeted us by name each day. The complimentary beach towels and chair service are wonderful - a huge plus.

The pictures displayed by Trip Advisor and on the hotel's website are very accurate but do not do the rooftop pool justice. It's amazing.

Yes, drinks are pricey but there are liquor stores nearby and nothing stops you from making your own drink and bringing it up to the roof.

If we're ever back in Miami, we will definitely stay there again. We highly recommend it.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Leesburg_VAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2008

Positives - (i) Good location, right in the center of south beach, one block from the beach and ocean drive, where the restaurants and bars are, (ii) Great rooftop pool and rooftop bar- although drinks are pricy ($15), pool has view of the ocean, (iii) friendly staff -especially the concierge, John? was very helpful with us (iv) complimentary beach towels and chairs on the beach - there are people that will plant your umbrella and do the set up for you. that was nice!

Negatives - (i) thin walls - could hear the noise in the hallway and the rooms next door, (ii) Needs a face lift - carpets are getting old and gray. I think it's been a while since the Oldham upgrade....

Overall, a little pricey for the value, but we had a good time!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snakayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Excellent service and even Better Location. One block off the cheesy Ocean Drive Area, so you are not forced to walk through the mess every time you step out of the hotel. The Service was Top Notch. The rooms were nice, clean and quiet with good water pressure. The Wish Restaurant... only good for drinks. Spire Roof top lounge was excellent. The Pool is what made this hotel stand above the rest. After hanging out at the beach, a dip in the pool is mandatory!! However, it's my opinion that you shouldn't bring kids to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idealmka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Hotel for the weekend of March the 29th, and we LOVE it!!! we will come back.
Our room number was 220, we were a little bit worried since this room face the Collis Avenue, and during the day is lot of traffic, music, and people around, but we did not have any problem to sleep, the noise disappeared around 12:00 a.m. and start around 10:00 a.m.
We came last night and I already wrote The Hotel to book for New Years Eve!!!


--

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mexican02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Make no mistake, this is a boutique hotel built many years ago. I mention this because if you are looking for a Hyatt or Ritz, this is not it. The rooms are on the smallish size. Ours was very well decorated (art deco) and the bathroom while not large, was quite nice.
On the roof they have a very small, thin pool and bar area. It has a beautiful view of the ocean. The workout area has a couple of treadmills and one elliptical along with free weights.
The location is excellent. 1 block to the beach. Close to many restaurants.
The staff was also very nice. David, one of the doormen, was outstanding and very helpful.
The food at the restaurant while pricey was also outstanding. The service there was as good as the food.
We would go back again and probably will.
I think the worse thing I can say about the place is the elevator is a bit slow. But if that is the worse you can say....

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDPLVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My husband and I had one day and night to spend in Miami, and we were looking forward to staying at The Hotel of South Beach. Based on the fact that it was designed by Todd Oldham and has great looking pictures on the website, we were expecting a swank and stylish spot. When we arrived, we found the lobby to be a bit dirty and shabby. The bellman tried to take us to our room on the first floor, but found that no key cards could open the door to the hallway! We were reassigned to a room on the third floor that he said would be "much bigger and nicer." The room was small, and ugly! The carpet looked like Grandma's carpet--not a hip take on Grandma's carpet. The bedding was threadbare, and featured a velcro-off headboard that was fabric over foam. Totally unappealing. The furniture was Ikea quality. The windows did not open. They had plastic translucent covering over them, which I assume masked a bad view. The bathroom was better--funky tiles and a rain shower. Thin walls meant we could hear people in the next room coughing. We were kept up all night by the air conditioner, which every 5 minutes made a noise like a goose honking.

We checked out the rooftop pool, and it was pretty cool. At night it was deserted but looked like it could be fun during the day. The location is good, but The Hotel does not offer good value for money. Instead, I recommend you stay at the Pelican, which is just around the corner on Ocean Drive. You'll have a better boutique hotel experience for a comparable price.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpatCatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Hotel on a last minute trip to South Beach the end of January 08. We booked through the hotel website-we called as well-a deluxe couture room for $225 a night. We were excited to stay in an art deco hotel. We requested a king bed and overlooking Collins but got a queen which was fine. Our view was nice of the Banana Republic and other shops across the street and was not that noisy but we did stay mid week.
The best thing about the hotel is the location. You are literally around the corner from ocean drive with all the action and the beach. It takes less than a minute walking to get there. The biggest things to do on south beach (i lived in miami for 6 years about 8 years ago) are to stroll ocean drive and to hang out on the beach. You do not need to rent a car and in fact I heard parking is pretty expensive both at the hotel and in the public lots. A really nice touch the hotel had was that on the beach your lounge chairs w/towel cover and umbrellas are included in the price of your stay. It was really a treat to lounge all day on the beach in luxury. The rooftop pool at the hotel is small but is trendy and full of beautiful people-many topless!
We didn't eat at the Wish restaurant because it was too expensive for our taste. News Cafe which is much more affordable-we went for breakfast and for chocolate fondue for two- is just around the corner and I would recommend eating there. Also, at least mid week before 8pm most of the outdoor restaurants on ocean drive offer 1/2 price dinners. We wanted to go to the rooftop bar at night but it was under construction when we were there
The deluxe couture room is small but the bathroom is pretty big and decorated funky. The shower is huge but made me feel like I was in a nursing home for some strange reason. The bed was comfy and clean but we didn't like that the pillows had these quilt like covers on them that we couldn't tell if they had been washed or not. When we called for more pillows they said to just take out the pillows from the quilt like cover which was a bit odd. As noted in other reviews-our carpet did have some stains and the hallways need some updating and repainting. Also, housekeeping comes pretty early so don't expect to sleep in.
Overall we enjoyed our stay mainly because of our location. Of course we wish we could afford to stay at The Delano or The National or The Strand but for the price, especially winter season, The Hotel is a good deal.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,333 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
509 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
498 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,931 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $157 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing