We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice and each time it's been awesome! First, the rooms are neat, clean and nicely decorated. They are a little small but so are most of the hotel rooms in this area. Second, location, location, location! It's on 8th and Collins right in the heart of South Beach but not on Ocean Drive where there is too much action and noise to sleep. The staff has always been helpful giving us passes to the local clubs and the bar (again, a bit small) was cute, classy and accommodating. Also, for some reason, this hotel is less expensive than many of the hotels on Collins with more amenities. Hello! ROOFTOP POOL! This is where I always stay when I'm in South Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    469
    107
    52
    21
See reviews for
124
828
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed here twice once in February 2011 and February 2012. We were met by the same bell hop who recognised us second time around. He and the rest of the staff were all very friendly and helpful especially when on the second visit we asked to change rooms because there seemed to be a family of clog dancers in the room above. The roof top pool is amazing especially if you go up there at about 8.30 am and have breakfast. A brilliant start to the day and for 2 days we spent all day up there. The hotel is ideally situated with only a road between it and the beach.There are a myriad of restaurants all around and at any of them you can eat out side and people and vehicle watch especially all the late night "cruisers". Ask for a top floor room at the back of the hotel and you might get some sleep. But then you didn't come to South beach to sleep did you? There are cheaper hotels I am sure but this one is worth paying the extra for. Believe me you won't regret it. grumpy

Room Tip: Top floor room at the back of the hotels seem to be slightly quieter than elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I stood here with my husband in August 2012. It was great, but the food in the hotel is very expensive. There's a great Cuban restaurant down the block that the food is great and affordable!!! I recommend that restaurant. The hotel is located in a great spot. Wet Willies is down the block and Mangos is around the corner. The staff at the hotel are great and friendly. The pool is located in the rooftop and its a beautiful view. I think the rooms should be more spacious. There bed is soooo comfy!!! I would come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay again at The Hotel of South Beach for 7 nights and I got to the conclusion that this hotel is full of surprises when you dig into it.
pros and cons:

CONS:
The personnel of the Hotel and its restaurant: The personnel at the hotel is not what you would expect from a traditional well respected hotel. Although friendly, their job at The Hotel is one of their many jobs and that draws lax behaviors and such lack in service gives a lingering feeling of a mix bag of “bloody mess” and mixed bag – that might appeal to young clients but it is unlikely that the personnel and the service will fit the bill for more demanding clients.

For instance you have:
(i) the bartender of the rooftop that does NOT have Absolut Volka in his bar + had his red bull cans STOLEN WHILE IN THE BATHROOM and then… after 30min of waiting for him to sort things out he reminds you that cuz he “gave his best” for you he needs a good tip (!!!)

(ii) they push you to use the Valet service and then may charge you for the use of this service even though you did not watch your credit card statement. Some of the Valet looking like convicted felons who served their sentence and are now doing menial jobs… if you have a fancy car I would suggest to avoid the valet service.

In and all you feel this hotel is NOT managed like an hotel and is rather under the control of an Italian mafia (witnessing a heated exchanged in the patio between Italian employees/boss is priceless). Actually the owner of The Hotel is NOT a group specialized in hotels management and The Hotel is their only acquisition in this sector. This explains a LOT and you can feel it.

PROS:
- Well situated with decent sized rooms, the new estate right on ocean drive is noisy but right in the action of SoBe (next to the Wet Willie’s and its so-called Call A Cab drinks!)
- Breakfast is OK and cheap (14 USD tip included for 2 in a small and sweet patio)
- Rooftop pool is the most heated in SoBe! Regardless of the weather you will be in heaven in that pool!
- Rates are well positioned drawing a large amount of diversified clientele to The Hotel. It’s a good second choice on SoBe!
- The main building is a beautiful example of Art Deco architecture.
- Free wi-fi (although not very good!)
- No hidden fees or resort fees

So in a nutshell:
If you are laid back and want to save some bucks on Sobe hotels invoices this hotel will definitely do the trick and I heavily recommend it. Especially if you can endure or actively appreciate ill management hotel or if loathe big hotel groups / you prefer hotels with a STRONG personality you will love this one and have fun in "people watching" Then 4/5

Yet starting from additional 50 USD per night you have better options on SoBe for demanding clients looking for a comfy and relaxing experience on SoBe (Betsy on Ocean Drive for instance is the paragon of a small boutique hotel with strong etiquette and solid personnel). Then 2.5/5

Room Tip: New building for more action. Old one for smaller rooms and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WetWillie_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was clean, the staff were super friendly, and it was conveniently located half a block from Ocean Ave, in the heart of south beach, near restaurants, bars and shopping. Four of us girlfriends went from Sun-Tues in March and the cost was $300/night per room. The rooms were nice (not extravagant but nice). The hotel has a small rooftop pool and lounge area, with a pool bar/cafe that overlooks the ocean. We would go up to the pool area to have breakfast, lay out for some sun, and have lunch & drinks. The food was good and the waitstaff were great. They always came by ready to get you another. The pool is small and heated, but it was good enough to take a dip and cool off when the sun got too hot. There is also a small gym with cardio machines and weights if you want to get a work out in. The gym overlooks the pool area, so you don't feel like you're missing out. We also arranged for a massage in a private cabana by the pool which was top notch (cost $100).

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 x buildings. One on Ocean Ave and one on Collins Ave (back-to-back). We stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MNowak1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at The Hotel during South Beach Wine & Food this past February. The hotel is right on Collins and one block away from Ocean Drive which was great. The rooms are really basic but I hear all the hotels are like that in that area.

I didn't eat at the restaurant on site because the menu wasn't what I was wanting and wasn't too wowed by the in room dining. The staff was friendly and the pool was great and away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive.

Good location, decent room, not sure I would stay again though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I decide to give this hotel a shot because my favorite one was sold out for the weekend. The location is very nice, and it's right in front of the shooping area in the Collins Ave. Rooms average, comfy beds, clean room (excellent housekeepers), but stained carpet that make it gives a dirty look. The staff was friendly and helpful. But, what you get for the price is totally not worth it (+500) for what you get. It was a busy weekend (first of march), but the price was just insane, we took it because we have no option.

Room Tip: Away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Property: The Hotel
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing