We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel of South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #20 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at "The Hotel" for 3 days over the Christmas period. When we arrived we parked right outside and the bell boy was quick to help unload our bags and take them to our room, we were then greeted by a friendly receptionist and given a upgrade to our room, a very nice Christmas present!

The upgrade room was in the other building above the News Cafe (some people might not like entering the hotel via a restaurant , but this did not bother us, and while in the room did not hear anything from the restaurant or smell any food cooking (we have breakfast there one morning which was excellent). The upgrade room (ATELIER room ) was fantastic and very clean, the bathroom was one of the biggest and best I have seen (especially in Miami Beach) and was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. If I had one complaint was the fact there was not a fridge available (only a minibar) and we had no place to keep our water cold.

The location was fantastic right on Ocean Drive and an easy walk to Lincoln Road for the shopping. There are numerous places to eat and drink around the hotel just watch for the prices and the added tip!

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was it had access to the beach with beach chairs available which were amazing, The attendant on the beach set up the chairs and made sure we were OK, and the beach chairs were more comfortable than some hotel beds I have slept in!!

As we were in the other block we did not really see many of the Hotel staff except security when entering the building but everyone we met were friendly and were prepared to help with any questions we had (including how to find a "Dive" bar on Washington Avenue).

I found "The Hotel" very clean the bed very comfortable (and not forgetting the wonderful bathroom), in an excellent location (including access to the beach) with wonderful professional friendly staff.

When I visit Miami Beach again "The Hotel" will be my first choice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07KopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    491
    113
    52
    23
See reviews for
137
882
98
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If you want SoBe, Art Deco, sun, fun and surf - The Hotel has it all. No silly little charges or other nusances. Friendly staff, clean rooms. For the downers - a bit pricy (but, its high season and I couldnt find anything comperable for less) and the bathroom was functional but small. The best thing is the alliance with Boucher Bros on the beach. Give your name and room # at the stand between 8th and 9th, and Boucher sets you up with lounge chairs and towels. Stayed at the Essex last year. Also very nice. That said, Essex didnt have the Boucher beach deal, but it did have a great (FREE!) happy hour for guests every night.
The Hotel is convenient to the beach and in the heart of SoBe!

Room Tip: Beds are small (double), a dated and pillows could use upgrading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSkyMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great service, excellent location right in shopping, nightlife, one block from the beach and Ocean Drive. The rooms are neat, very clean, nothing extravagant but you don't need that for what amounts to a place where you'll be outdoors. The hotel restaurant and outdoor porch area is great, the staff is very helpful especially Esteban and the pool on the roof with bar is a great place to relax and catch some South Beach sun.

Room Tip: Rooms are average in that there are not extravagant but they are neat, clean and perfectly functiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Hotel is actually two. Original Art Deco off Ocean Avenue and the new annex which is right on the avenue in the middle of the South Beach scene. We had room 325 in the annex, with a balcony overlooking Ocean Ave. not to worry, noise is completely silenced by thick sliding glass doors. Room nice size, good closet, large bathroom with wonderful rain shower head. Below hotel is the News cafe made famous by Versace. Open 24/7 good for breakfast. Garage parking $15 a day, a convenient must. Would recommend the guided Art Deco tour which leaves from the visitors center across the street. And an after dark stroll to take in the neon and "wildlife!"

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shuba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a gorgeous place. Our room had cool furniture, lots of storage and the bathroom was small but beatiful. We ate brunch on the patio and it was very elegant with great food. The rooftop pool is a great palce to sun or eat lunch. Room was a little noisy because of street noise but not too bad. Great experience - sorry we only could stay one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Got this hotel for a great price on Hotwire, and thought I'd be very happy, but not really.

Nothing was bad. But check-in was annoying, as one of the busboys was seemingly adamant at providing unsolicited advice/wanting to arrange tours - and the conversation almost literally went like, "What about a day trip to Key West? (been there yesterday) How about a tour of the city? (it's already booked, happening tomorrow) Let me show you where we are on a map (sorry, no need - already have a GPS map on my phone) ... "

I guess if you were completely unprepared, it's nice to know perhaps that they'd have you taken care of, but I of course would expect any service they would have offered would be priced far above what you could get just by doing your own bookings on Expedia/Viator or whatever. And they really shouldn't offer it without asking -- if only they had said, "Did you need any recommendations on things to do?" then that'd have been fine. ANYWAY - I digress !!

The location was good. The room was nice, large enough with quality furnishings. Expect to tip as they make it very uncomfortable for you to - heaven forbid - bring your own bags up to your room. Again, if you like that - great. I don't.

Definitely the kind of place that you'd like to go to perhaps if you want to "impress" someone - if that kind of thing would impress them.

After we left, I checked my credit card statement and there was a $5 charge there. Didn't touch the mini-bar, nothing was notified to me on check-out, and all room fees/taxes, etc. were prepaid before arrival. Tried to email them but the email bounced back as undeliverable! Not going to bother calling - but again - just watch out in case they try and charge something more!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seputus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Hotel is very well located, in the heart of South Beach, a block away from the beach and Ocean Drive. Staff is helpful and friendly, make us feel like old friends of the place. Room was clean. We would definitely come back for our next stay! Thank you to everyone, especially John for its excellent restaurant suggestions! See you soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroPombert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Angler's Hotel
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing