We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel was a dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel of South Beach
Ranked #21 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Hotel was a dream!”
Reviewed September 26, 2007

The Hotel was gorgeous, the staff went out of their way to be friendly and accomodating... The conceirge got us VIP passes into some of the hottest clubs in SoBe. Stayed there for 4 days with a friend, and we loved every minute at The Hotel. Wish restaurant was phenomenal, overall service here is well above average. Check out the Spire bar on the roof, it's got an amazing ambience, and one of the best views in the city, if you ask me! Also, take a look at the pool- it's tiny, but so beautifully designed, you don't mind the size. Would definitely stay here next time I'm in Miami Beach, and recommend it highly!

  • Liked — Dedicated, helpful staff
  • Disliked — hmmm... nothing that comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarlitaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    525
    118
    53
    26
See reviews for
150
957
109
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

The Hotel in South Beach is located at 801 Collins Avenue, just a short walk to the beach and Ocean Drive. The hotel is typical for the area, older with upgrades and done in the traditional art deco style. Rooms are small but adequate and the building has great charm. Rooftop bar Spires and pool with great view of the ocean are a must see. Staff is very pleasant and provide great service. Most of all, the hotel is reasonably priced in comparison to many of the Ocean Drive properties yet located in the heart of the action. Highly touted restaurant Wish is decent, but frankly overrated. Try the News Cafe about 75 yards up the street for a reasonably priced, well prepared meal. Enjoy people watching on the front porch and make sure to take advantage of the free beach chair service provided by the hotel. Like everyplace else in South Beach, be prepared to deal with some noise. But really....if you are looking for peace and quiet, this town is not the place to go. This is a well run place with a pleasant decor and attentive staff. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — [rice
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pine1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

We stayed here for New Years Eve and had a fabulous time!!!!! The location was perfect, close to the beach, shopping and dining. The rooms were delightfully decorated. The amenities were wonderful. The staff was gracious. The Wish Restaurant served fresh and tasty food. The Hotel made partying in Miami Beach an experience to remember!!!!

  • Liked — The pool and the food!!!!
  • Disliked — Checking out and coming home:(
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lex_vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stayed for a long girls weekend and loved The Hotel.

It has all the right ammenities, a pool (with a bar) & an adult crowd, a resturant, beach chairs, and it is in a perfect location!!!

We hung by the pool 1 day and beached it for 2 days... I would not have been able to do that but for the beach umbrella & chairs the hotel provides.
I found the staff very attentive and accomidating.
The only downfall to this hotel is the slow single elevator, but I can easily overlook that because I found everything else so great.

I will be staying there next year for another girls weekend!!!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Me and two friends from New York City stayed at The Hotel at the end of August, and had the most amazing time. I have traveled for work and vacations a ton over the years and I have never experienced a hotel with service like this one. Every single staff member was so welcoming and amazing, went out of thier way to say hello, and did anything they could to make sure we were loving our stay. The staff felt more like friends the employees. And while the pool might need a little paint job, and the beds could be updated a bit, I will always stay at this hotel whenever I come to Miami.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — The Beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SirAR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

I had problems booking this place. I had to phone to check that I could get a room with two beds for me and a colleague, and the booking phone kept cutting out, so I had to call a number of times. Then they didn't send an email confirmation until I called a fourth time. The rate was quoted on the phone and in the email as $164.50 'daily rate'; but when I checked out, they told me that the rate went up on Fridays and Saturdays to $245. As they hadn't told me this, I queried it, and to be fair they dealt with the problem very quickly and agreed to charge me their quoted rate for the entire duration. The location of the hotel is great, and couldn't be better for getting around (note there is no parking at the hotel, though there is a multi-storey nearby which costs about $15 a day). The staff were busy at check-in and rushed me through without giving me any information about the hotel, including that the room I was staying in (223) was outside the main corridor and in a stairwell, which meant it took me a while to find it. The furniture in the room didn't match the funky design of the lobby area and was quite ugly, and there were loads of mirrors but no clock, no iron/ironing board, and limited toiletries. The bed was comfortable, though. Beware of rooms that are 'city-facing'. The street noise was terrible at night (lots of motorbikes revving!). The roof-top pool terrace was delightful, but they close it to guests if there is a function, as they did on my first night. The best thing about this hotel (other than the great location) were the doormen. They were always there with a smile and a helping hand. Otherwise, there was no personal service at all, and no atmosphere. This is an average hotel and if you're thinking of staying there over a weekend when the rate goes up, and intend to spend a lot of time on the beach, you might be better off trying somewhere else.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Stayed here for four nights in August and absolutely loved it. The Hotel was the perfect base for our trip to South Beach - close to everything you need, yet is quiet and friendly.

The roof top pool and bar are simply spectacular and were the real highlights for our trip. You can lounge all day by the gorgeous (though small) pool, sip fantastic cocktails and listen to uber-cool music. I have to say that the music choice was the best I've ever experienced in a style hotel - my iPod never even made it out the case.

The decor is very funky without being too over the top; staff are relaxed and friendly. The rooms are comfortable and a good size, though they are a little basic compared with the rest of the hotel. Considering the size of the room, the beds are quite small. The Hotel was such an enjoyable experience that none of this mattered at all.

We found South Beach extremely expensive (even with the UK pound being so strong against the dollar) but The Hotel seemed to represent really good value for money.

If you want a relaxing base to explore Miami, you'd struggle to find anything better than The Hotel. We'd definitely go back.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Small beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank R90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
403 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
454 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel of South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel of South Beach

Property: The Hotel of South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel of South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel of South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing