We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff will jump through hoops for you if needed”
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #82 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newport News, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The staff will jump through hoops for you if needed”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

One of the best,if not the best overall staffs.I just can't say enough about them.The hotel itself was always clean from top to bottom inside and out.There was and is some construction going on next door so you do need to watch which room you get if you want to sleep in.I did not use the spa nor eat there,not because of the hotel, just other plans.It made South Beach the hit it was for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLR946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
SLR946,

Thanks for the terrific feedback of our wonderful property. We are delighted that our staff helped make your stay so memorable. We thrive upon our level of customer service and our staff truly is the backbone of our great property.

It’s a shame that you did not get to experience our other outlets of our property such as our spa or restaurant, as they are both excellent as well. Our pool bar and grill is one of the best options for a quick tasty meal while still enjoying the beautiful weather out by the pool area.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    514
    234
    102
    78
See reviews for
564
617
53
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoran Desert
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

seriously, a great option in south beach if you want a prime location, great service with no attitude and big rooms/suites; only wish i could've stayed longer than a night. i'll be back on next work or play trip to miami.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMGUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
CMGUSA,

Thanks for your review after your short stay here at Sagamore. One night is certainly not enough to enjoy all that South Beach has to offer, however we are happy that your short time here was a good one.

We hope in the future you get a chance to return for a few nights so that you may get the full Sagamore experience and discover even more about what makes Sagamore so special.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in November 2012 and had an ocean view suite. The suite was very nice and well sized. The staff were attentive and polite. However easily fixable things let the hotel down. In the small gym only two of the three exercise machines worked properly. On the phone system the button for house keeping did not ring house keeping, or the button for front desk did not ring the front desk. I only found this oit after repeated attempts to contact both those and getting no answer and walking down to the front desk to be told oh sorry those buttons don't work. Dial 0. I don't mind being charged extra for consumable items but at the price I paid for the room being asked for an extra $10 for a sunbed every time I went to beach annoyed me. I also think the hotel should employ people who understand English and can get the room service orders right. So overall a great location but could do better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikewlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Mikewlane,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback after your recent stay at Sagamore. After reading your review I would like to address several of the issues that you mentioned.

In regards to the gym, we have since had a technician in here and all of the machines are currently in the proper working order. I also apologize about the issue you had with the guest phone, and that is something that was corrected by our engineering department. As far as the price of a sunbed, this is one of the reasons we developed the Sagamore Plan. For $18.00 per person per day, you receive a full American breakfast buffet, a chair on the beach, and the wireless internet. This serves as a great value as individually these items would cost over $40.00.

I hope that you will indeed give Sagamore another chance in the future to show you exactly why we are one of the best hotels in Miami Beach. We thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I have stayed in Miami Beach/South Beach on a number of occasions. There are many great hotels and many are quite expensive. What makes the Sagamore unique is the size of the rooms. It is not one of the beautifully restored art deco properties but is instead modern and art filled. Our suite consisted of a large bedroom, separate living room, kitchenette, and large bathroom. The room was spotless and bathroom filled with Aveda products. Perhaps most important is that the room was very quiet at night allowing for a restful sleep.

The location is the best. It backs to the beach and is far away enough from the road that noise is not an issue. It is two blocks from Lincoln Rd. There certainly is not much of a late night scene but that can be found nearby. The pool is lovely and beach service attentive.

I would not recommend buying the daily Sagamore Plan which is $18 per person. That gives you breakfast and a free chair on the beach (chairs at the pool are free without the plan). There are so many nice coffee shops near by for breakfast and we did not sit on the beach everyday of our trip thus paying for the plan would have made little sense (We had payed for it on a previous Sagamore stay). In summary, the Sagamore has the best location and best rooms for the money, it is however very expensive, and the quiet which I enjoy may not be for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hivedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hivedoc,

Thanks for the terrific review of Sagamore. We are happy to hear that you have stayed here with us on several occasions. We certainly are unique as we have one of the largest art collections you will find in any hotel and also have some of the largest suites here on south beach.

Our location is second to none when it comes to our proximity to Lincoln road and Ocean Drive, where you can find some of the best restaurants around.

We thank you again for choosing Sagamore and we hope that you will continue to do so when traveling to Miami in the future.


Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is delightful from almost every point of view: great location on the boardwalk, excellent Argentine chef for lunch around the pool, tasteful design, spacious rooms, good service. But there is one fatal flaw: the noise from the adjoining hotel is unbearable. Disco music with mega bass speakers overwhelms the room until 2AM, and then canned music takes over from 6AM on. We had to buy earplugs at the CVS down the street for our second - and last - night at the hotel.

I strongly recommend avoiding this hotel until they soundproof the bay windows in the "luxury" bungalows.

Room Tip: Stay away from the bungalows until they soundproof the bay windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Robertonathan,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your review after your stay with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of our neighbors. South Beach is full of many clubs, hotels and restaurants, many of which do have private functions with live music and entertainment. We always do our best to let our guests know when we do anticipate something which may cause extra disturbance, however sometimes this is beyond our control.

We hope that our level of service and our overall facilities did in fact leave a good impression with you and we hope in the future you will give us another opportunity to show you that Sagamore is truly one of the finest properties on South Beach.

We thank you again and hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutier, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is the perfect place for a stay in South Beach. The location is fantastic: the beach, Lincoln Avenue, nice shops and restaurants, everything is very close. Furthermore the local is very peaceful and wonderfuly decorated. The staff is very efficient, friendly and helpful. Difficult to imagine another place with all those qualities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Zina T

Thanks for your review of our property. We are very pleased to hear such wonderful feedback about our entire property.

Our staff is very dedicated to making sure that everyone who travels to Sagamore has an experience similar to yours and we are happy that you were able to see this first hand.

We hope that you have found your new home away from home here at Sagamore and we look forward to your next stay here with us.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldtraveller-360
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had to find a place to stay at the very last minute and I remembered this hotel from many years ago from before South Beach became too commercial.
I was pleasantly surprised to find out that this hotel managed to keep the magic of that time . We only had an issue with the magnetic door keys and the place should be a bit cheaper considering the barebones breakfast and lack of views of the rooms assigned to us . The concierge people were very accommodating but lacked experience. Over all a good stay and the location is very convenient .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveller-360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,299 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,456 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,868 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing