We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem on South Beach, An art hotel that became a piece of art” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagamore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sagamore
Ranked #73 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bonner Springs
Level Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A gem on South Beach, An art hotel that became a piece of art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We love to stay at the Sagamore when we are in South Beach, but we love small boutique hotels in general. The rooms range to nice to amazing, especially the top floor ocean front suites and the penthouse. The service is top notch, the pool, and bar are great but small, and the beach in front is perfect for south beach. I love the fact that the staff and the guests from all over the world.

We actually have prints of the Sagamore from the Spencer Tunick nude shoot in Miami. So when we are home we have a little piece of South Beach and the Sagamore to remind us we need to go back.

Room Tip: The top floor ocean front suites have an great view and you feel like your in a mini penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StealAway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
WithEight,

Thank you for your terrific 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property and can appreciate the unique artwork we have.

We certainly do have a wide range of clientele from all around the world and that is just part of the charm of Sagamore as you truly never know who your neighbor may be while relaxing at the pool. Our spacious suites make it an ideal place for a family to stay and our oceanfront rooms as you mentioned are a perfect place to spend a romantic weekend away from the kids as well.

We are happy to hear that you have a souvenir to remember us by in your spencer Tunick print and look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
James D'agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    496
    217
    96
    70
See reviews for
540
597
50
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a marvelous stay at the sagamore art hotel in south beach. Teh satff was friendly and accomodating. The food was great and the pool and beach accomodations were top notch. We travelled with our 2 children and the hotel is definitely a grat place to take kids. Gregory was exceptional!!

Room Tip: the superior rooms have 2 floors and a balcony. They seem to be the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3779willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
3779willow,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on our property. We are happy to hear that you and your family had a good time with us here at Sagamore.

Our staff is what make the difference between Sagamore and surrounding properties and we are delighted that they had a great impression with you.

I will be sure to share your praise with Gregory and the rest of our team here and we hope that you will continue to choose Sagamore in the future. Thanks again for the review.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent a couple of nights in the Sagamore hotel in July. I had booked through the British Airways holiday site while organising flights. When we arrived our hotel view consisted of a wall and a flat roof with some construction materials. While the room itself was nice, the outlook was nonexistent and not what you expect when paying £200 per night for the privilege.
When I asked at the reception if it would be possible to move to another room I was informed that as I had booked through 'an agent' I had been allocated a poorer room. I have booked through BA on previous occasions and this has never been the case before.
On a positive note, the breakfast in the morning initially looked meager however was actually of a high standard and plentiful. Access to the beach is quick and easy.

Room Tip: Do not book through an agent. Request a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Michael F,

We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay here. We apologize if there was any confusion with your booking as we always try to make sure that all agents booking our property are on the same page as our in house team to avoid any confusion.

We do offer several different room types in regards to the view, including oceanfront, garden, or non-view suites. We certainly do not allocate only the non-view rooms to our agent so it seems there was definitely a miscommunication. We are happy that this did not deter too much from your stay and hope that you will return in the future to our property.

Please feel free to contact me directly for your booking so that we can make sure you do in fact book the room type which you would like. Thanks again for the feedback and we will see you next time.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was hesitating booking at the Sagamore, according to the reviews ....but finally it was good! we had a very nice room (ocean front, very nice view, don"t hesitate!), we were with 2 teens and had a celebration: the guest service planned a marvelous gift for us, we were upgraded in a wonderful room, beds were very comfortable, even the sofa bed where they put an additional mattress; breakfast was very friendly, good service and good food. The art show within the hotel is very pleasant, nice to see and very nice decoration. the staff was very happy and helpful, particularly the front desk, where the two young ladies were VERY welcoming. Not a five star hotel, but a good value for the price. THE LOCATION IS TOP NOTCH!! just facing Lincoln and you don't need a car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mipougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Mipougne,

Thanks for your review on Sagamore. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here in our oceanfront suite. These rooms are the perfect combination as they provide the stunning views of the ocean along with the convenience of having the large space of a full size suite with separate living area and bedroom.

Our central location just adds to the appeal of Sagamore as no car is necessary having all the best shops and restaurants just a short walk or taxi ride away. I will be sure to pass along your great feedback to our entire staff.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we hope Sagamore will be your hotel of choice when traveling to Miami!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A hotel that feels like an uber cool design hotel from about 10 years ago (?) - all white surfaces and modern artworks - but now it feels a little dated and in need of freshening up here and there. Breakfast and reception staff very friendly but just a little unorganised. Those are the only tiny things making it "not 5 star, but a good 4" however - the best things are the location right on the beach (no crossing the road) and the art deco district, the perfect little pool and pool-bar, and the fact that it has - still, after all - a generally cool vibe. All at a better price than many of its immediate neighbours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Swedesara,

We appreciate your feedback on our property after your stay here with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay here and found the vibe here to be very welcoming.

In regards to the hotel being “dated,” we are currently in the process of making some exciting changes to the property that will certainly help some of the areas which you mentioned.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope you will return on your next visit to South Beach.

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My girlfriends and I loved every moment of our stay at Sagamore- The Art Hotel. Richard, James, Gregory and Richardo extended outstanding customer service. The rooms were always nice and tidy which we all appreciated. I loved the white walls, furniture and decor. It gave the feeling of super cleanliness. I will definitely choose Sagamore as my home away from if ever in Miami. The staff made my girlfriend's 40th and fab birthday bash on to remember. Thanks!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Felicia A,

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review of Sagamore. We are thrilled that we were able to provide you with such a memorable stay for your girlfriends 4oth birthday weekend celebration.

A 40th birthday is a milestone and very important occasion, and we are happy that we were able to play a role in making it so special for your friend.

We hope that you and your friends will make Sagamore your home away from home here in Miami and we look forward to the opportunity to host many birthdays in the future here with us. Thanks again for choosing Sagamore!!!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I went with 9 women on a bachelorette trip to Miami Beach and stayed at the Sagamore. We had 1 ocean front suite (for the bridal party) and 2 Sagamore Suites. Each one had a different configuration, which was fun, and different decor. All very artistic. There was quite a bit of wear and tear on the rooms, so I cannot give it full marks.

I did not dine in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

The service at the beach was excellent - for towels, chairs, umbrellas and (most important) drinks. It is worth the $10 to rent a beach chair, and if you want less sun $15 for an umbrella.

The location was excellent and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted. With a room facing the front of the hotel, there was quite a bit of traffic noise (at all hours of the night) and construction beginning by 7:00 a.m. on the weekend.

The hotel staff was efficient and gracious.

The art in the hotel was cool, but if you are bringing kids, keep in mind it is not all PG. The elevator outside our door had a video running which was brutally violent and some videos were also sexual.

I did enjoy a massage at the spa and it was well worth the money.

Overall a really good hotel, but somewhat dated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_H_513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesDagostino, Guest Relations Manager at Sagamore, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Jessica_H_513

Thanks for your recent review of our property. We are happy that you chose Sagamore as your destination for the bachelorette weekend.

Our suites are perfect for large groups as we can accomadate up to 4 guests in each room. We are glad that you also got to experience the oceanfront suite as it offers excellent views from the balcony and gives the true Miami experience.

We are working on some exciting changes in regards to the rooms to address some of these wear and tear issues that you mentioned and we are certain that you will notice some of these positive changes on your next visit.

Thanks again for choosing Sagamore and we hope you will return soon!

Best Regards,
James D'Agostino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
National Hotel Miami Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#28 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagamore

Property: Sagamore
Address: 1671 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagamore 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suite Hotel, guest rooms with individual decors, private art collections; set on the ocean, near convention center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sagamore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagamore Miami Beach
Sagamore Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing