We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken ‘n’ Watermelon ‘n’ Waffles”

Yardbird Table & Bar
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 9/28
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #42 of 960 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th and Lenox
Reviewed October 29, 2014

This place is so original and a real treat! The manager is extremely polite and clearly very passionate about this place and so are all the waiting staff and chefs. You really get the feeling that these people value their job and their customers.

The place is decked out really nice from the tables, to the southern sayings on the walls, to the bathrooms!

The food is exceptional - southern comforts that will melt in your mouth. The chicken ‘n’ watermelon ‘n’ waffles are to die for – although I would just recommend getting one plate to share (that’s what we did and we still couldn’t finish it), the mac and cheese is probably the BEST I’ve had. I was really sad that we couldn’t have dessert, as we were so full!

Now we are back in London and just keep dreaming about this food! Please, please, please, bring a Yardbird to London!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Flora2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Yardbird Table & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Hi Flora2302,

Thanks for taking the time to review Yardbird. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our famous fried chicken and other southern fixin's. Looking forward to having you back again next time you're in town; we're also opening a Yardbird in Las Vegas in 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (4,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,948 - 2,952 of 4,531 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2014

I do not understand the hype about this place. First of all, be forewarned that everything is a la carte and the add ons to the fried chicken are pricey, and only average, compared with other southern restaurants we eaten at. They also tell you when you order, that the food will come out as it's ready, so I guess they have coordination problems in the kitchen. What they don't tell you is that your drinks will arrive after the food...Everything was mediocre. We sent the charred okra back because it was a salt bomb. They did take it off the check. Obviously with a place this popular ( and loud) they must be something right, but the appeal escapes me.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trotpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

This is one great southern cousine gem in Miami. Most options can be shared and that's the best thing to do. Go with some friends and share the flavors, it's worth it!

Thank Rafael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Yardbird Table & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Hi Rafael G,

Thanks for taking the time to review Yardbird. Glad to hear you enjoy dining with us and we look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014

We ventured away from ocean drive and tried this restaurant near 17th street and it didn't disappoint us. We shared the fried chicken and waffles with mac & cheese and watermelon. This meal was fantastic down south food with a twist. We both had sweet tea which was crazy good. I lived in Atlanta for 6 years and I have had some great fried chicken but this was the best I've ever had. This place is a must visit destination if your in South beach no doubt. Cheers to this place for the great food and the great experience. The service was incredible and I showed my appreciation in the tip I left. Thanks Yardbird!!!!

Date of visit: October 2014
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Yardbird Table & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Hi JeffreyH617,

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our famous fried chicken and waffles. Looking forward to seeing you again for more southern fixin's next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

This place is incredible. My wife and I were in Miami Beach for some R&R and weren't in the party mode that everyone else seems to be, so, we focused on good meals. This place certainly fit the category of a good meal. The decor and staff at the restaurant were both outstanding. Our waiter helped us filter through the menu and figure out what we wanted to order. The menu itself is daunting, as there are so many delicious items to choose from. Our waiter even gladly cancelled our initial order after we found a better option. I wish I remembered his name, because, he was a great server.

We chose to share the eggs Benedict BLT. This was a great starter and set the tone for the fried chicken and waffles. The chicken was outstanding. Really juicy and tender. Add in the waffles and you have a great plate. The blackberry bourbon lemonade was also incredible. Had it not been 10am on a Sunday, I would have really enjoyed the bourbon list. They have a really thorough selection.

This is not your typical Miami Beach restaurant and that is what makes it so good. I would strongly suggest eating here if you have the chance. You won't be let down.

Thank Joholl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, Owner at Yardbird Table & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Hi Joholl211,

Thanks for taking the time to review Yardbird. We're so glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed brunching with us; and we look forward to having you back again soon. In the mean time check out our sister restaurants, Khong River House, in Miami Beach, and Swine Southern Table & Bar in Coral Gables.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yardbird Table & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Yardbird Table & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.