We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“boat captain texting not looking, nearly hit boat” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Price Tour Tickets - Miami Tours

Half Price Tour Tickets - Miami Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Miami Combo Tour: City Sightseeing, Biscayne Bay Cruise and Everglades Airboat...
Ranked #42 of 122 Tours in Miami Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Miami Double Decker Sightseeing Tour provided by Half Price Tour Tickets. We operate all Miami Tours. Miami Sightseeing Double Decker Tours in Miami. Everglades air-boat tours + Wildlife show. Miami To Key West 1 Day Tour. Segway Rental and Segway Tours. Miami To Key West Shuttle. Miami Sightseeing Double Decker Tours
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“boat captain texting not looking, nearly hit boat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were told to leave Fort Lauderdale at 6:45 for the 9:30 boat trip which would be done at 1:30. Short version is that the tour finished at 4:30. Lots of horrible stuff, the guide spoke (HER expression) Spanglish. A butchered English so that we missed much of what was said, some things were made up, and the times were all screwed up despite her yelling and yelling to BE AT THE STOP AT 4:00, we were not picked up until 4:45 after 45 min in the rain.

The boat part of the tour.see the title, the irresponsible captain was sitting in a chair driving the boat with his feet while he texted (or played games??) I watched a boat cross in front of us and waited to see if he would notice, but he did not. I tapped his arm and pointed to the boat crossing in front of us. He had to throw the boat into reverse to slow it down, so that we didn't hit the boat.

I have never witnessed such irresponsible boat driving in my life. He could have killed us.


Visited June 2013
2 Thank hyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Everglades/Miami traffic tour”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

First we bought our tickets for 55 each and shortly after saw an advertisement from another company for 35 dollars. So really they should rename their company double price tours. We spent am hour and a half in a hot bus to go like 20 miles and it ha to stop on the side of the road twice. At the gator park we went on a 10 minute boat ride and saw zero alligators. We were told by the tour company this would be 1 hour. After the ride we saw a lame show where a creepy man who spoke in a fake pirate accent showed is one crocodile a scorpion and a toad. This show lasted at least 10 minutes maybe 12. We then sat on our hot bus for another 20 minutes and drive back. In summary the biggest scam ever don't do any tours with this company.

Visited June 2013
Thank JSebVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ok saw a lot, left late”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting knowledgable driver/guide - Alfred but we were late leaving.

Boat trip not really worth the time you just see the port and houses owned by the rich & famous.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank Wexland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Roundtrip to Sawgrass”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Despite of the bad reviews, I had a really good experience with the company. First, customer service was great, they went an extra mile to help me with my tour, solving my problems quickly and offering more than I asked for. Busses were nice, driver was friendly and they were punctual. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to go to Swagrass.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank danivalentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOT worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Four of us booked a boat tour of Miami from the water. Where purchased our tickets was perfect, the bus & driver that took us to the boat at 401 Biscayne was awesome. After that things went badly.
1. there was no one at the dock to greet us or tell us what to do.
2. we waited 45 minutes for the boat captain to show
3. when he arrived he was incredibly rude and unprofessional. Even saying that we booked through 1/2 price tickets so what do we expect.
4. The captain spent more time on his cell phone then anything else
5. he offered no information for the 1st 15 minutes of the tour. When he did he was very curt and did not expound on anything. Example "This was Hemmingway's house" or "this is Madonna's house" and for part of the ride around Star Island he was too busy on the phone to say anything -
6. when we got back to the dock he announced that it was customary to give a minimum of $2.00 per person tip. Really? a tip for what?
woudl not recommend!

Visited May 2013
2 Thank Heidi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halfpricetourtickets, Public Relations Manager at Half Price Tour Tickets - Miami Tours, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Heidi and thank you for your review of our company. Reviews like yours help us to improve our company and cater to our customer’s needs. We’re glad to hear you were picked up on time and had a good experience with our bus driver on the ride there. Unfortunately, we don’t always have time to micromanage, so we were not made aware of this behavior until now. When we saw this review, we immediately reprimanded the owner of the boat tour for talking on the phone during the tour; and were assured it would not happen again. This behavior is highly inappropriate and we deeply apologize for your negative experience on our tour. If you’re ever in Miami again, we would be honored to have you use our company again and would love to offer you a free tour with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Price Tour Tickets - Miami Tours also viewed


Been to Half Price Tour Tickets - Miami Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing