We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Disappointed”

The Spa at The Setai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Setai proudly introduces a re-imagined spa experience: The Spa at The Setai by THEMAE. The luxury hotel's new spa experience offers specially formulated THEMAE treatments and products curated from four types of teas: red (rooibos), white, green and black teas. THEMAE, a Paris-based cosmetics and spa brand, is inspired by the art of tea and named after the Japanese tea preparation ceremony. Its revitalizing spa rituals and exclusive skincare products are created with extracts from four different kinds of teas. The Complexe des 4 Thes(R) (4 Teas Elixir) blends antioxidant green tea, regenerating white tea, soothing rooibos or "red" tea, and stimulating black tea with pure spring water sourced in France to maintain purity. The Spa features four private spa suites, all with room for up to two guests, ocean and pool views, a private bath and steam room. For an even more private experience, select spa treatments are available to enjoy in the comfort of your guest suite for a nominal fee, upon request.
Reviewed November 1, 2014

I have always been a fan of the Setai, I'm a local and enjoy the bar and restaurant quite often. I thought I would try the spa, which was not a good idea. The massage itself was good, but the lack of relaxation area, the attendants yelling at one another and banging around (the locker room area is about 1/2 the size of a guest room), the guest that walked into my room during the middle of my treatment to ask where the spa entrance was and the club music you can hear during the treatment from shore club, all added up to a less than stellar experience. I wasn't wanting to relax and treat myself to luxury, this is definitely not the place. Although you still pay a luxury price! I tried to share my feedback to the spa supervisor and he wouldn't let me explain, just came back with an excuse for everything and how those are things they can't control. If that's the case, they may want to reconsider the pricing.

Date of experience: November 2014
4  Thank Cynchalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

12 - 16 of 33 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

I had a great massage at the Setai Spa on the Monday morning that we were returning to Boston. On the weekdays spa guests can have access to the pool area which has 3 pools. We were there in August (off season) so double check pool area access when you book. The massage rooms were located on the second floor overlooking the ocean. The staff, especially Ramses who was very helpful. After the massage we had lunch in the hotel which was the perfect ending to a great day.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Holden140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle F, Public Relations Manager at The Spa at The Setai, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to have welcomed you at The Spa on your last day in Miami before returning home. It sounds like the perfect end to your holiday! I hope you come back and visit us again soon.

With warm regards,

Danielle Finnegan
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The service was wonderful, great body polish and massage.
The spa is not really a spa facility - on a small side with no room to change and only a sauna. There were a few people in the locker room and no place to change or relax. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The great thing was that you can use beach and pool facilities - at no charge! That is great

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank lm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle F, Public Relations Manager at The Spa at The Setai, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so glad to have welcomed you. I am glad you enjoyed the spa and then got to spend time at the pool. It is indeed a lovely way to spend the day! I hope you will join us again on your next trip to Miami.

With warm regards,

Danielle Finnegan
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I went to Miami spa month and the Setai spa was great.
Super service, really relaxing and magical environment.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went to the Setai for a couples Balinese Massage.
The Massage was amazing. We get massages about 6 times a year in diferent hotel spas, and this one was one of the best.
Having said that, nothing else was great.
Facility is average, nothing great stands out about it.
Customer service was less than average.
We also used the beach and had lunch there and customer service in the entire hotel is less than expected.
Not bad, just not good for a place like this one.
All in all I would go back just for the Balinese massage, Ramon, my therapist was superb.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank cpaola34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spa at The Setai also viewed

 

Been to The Spa at The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing