We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hotel 18 - Miami Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel18 to your Saves list
Hotel18
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel 18 - Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights during the Ultra Music Festival, booked quite late as another hotel let us down. Great location, 1 minute walk just off Collins Avenue, so your close to plenty of bars, restaurants and the famous Miami Beach.
Staff were super friendly and helpful.
the 1 bed apartment style room is great, decett size bedroom with a sofa bed in the living area. We moved to a twin-single bed room and this is pretty cosy but doubt people going to Miami will stay in the room that much - the place parties 24 / 7.
Hotel is quiet and clean. We had an issue with no hot water for a couple of days - NOT the hotels fault as it was gas supply, but we were compensated by a free nights stay so helped accept the inconvenience.

Room Tip: 1 bed apartment sleeps 3-4 easily and in comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate your patience and understanding during the crazy WMC/Ultra weekend. And for your special patience during the hot water issue. We are happy to say all has been fixed!

We like to think of Hotel18 as a quiet little spot in the heart of it all - it's nice to rest off the beaten path when the time comes. We hope to welcome you back again.
safe travels
Karen and Hotel18 Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    137
    63
    21
    10
See reviews for
59
138
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is noway cheap and doesn't have any breakfast or dining services. But the location almost next to the Lincoln Road Mall is excellent. It is also almost right next to the Convention center and beaches.

Rooms are tiny, but who comes to live in a hotel room on a Miami Beach vacation anyway?
Rooms have small fridge and mini kitchen and utensils. There a good self service laundry also.

Other guests seemed to spend good time reading in the hotel inner yard. The only problem being them smoking there, but the smoke didn't come inside my room.

There is very limited parking space. So call them beforehand if you come by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank z0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hello Gang
Well, this was my second stay at Hotel 18. Stayed for a week in February 2013 and just stayed another five days last week. It has a great location (under five minute walk to the beach-just off Collins and 18 in South Beach- and in the middle of everything).

The front desk staff was wonderful, but Jorge was the best, thought he was the owner/manager…smiles, great eye contact, solid handshake, and when we needed something it got done now. Arranged taxis, let us have a late check-out, happily stored our luggage when we arrived early.

The room was a small suite with a kitchenette and it felt like home (which is why we went back this year). However, when we arrived my wife and I took off our shoes and walked across the floor and we had black feet in one stroll across the floor. That wasn't the worst part. When we asked for the floor to be cleaned, the housekeeping manager and a housekeeper showed up and both had a bad/angry attitude. I explained that the floor needed to be mopped and she said that it was already cleaned. She was clearly angry at us. It was quickly evident why the floor was dirty. The housekeeper used an old broom to quickly sweep the floor and then used a mop to give the floor a quick cleaning. She never wrung the mop out, and only spread the dirt around quickly. She was obviously angry as well. There was no sorry, only irritation. Maybe they both were having a bad day?

That night, the room remained strangely hot, as it was the second night. I informed the front desk and they had a technician there in five minutes, who told us the AC was broken. However, they moved us into another room with a great air conditioner in less than 15 minutes and offered to help move our things. So, our fault for not mentioning the AC after the first night.

So, overall our stay was good. Plenty of towels, courteous desk staff and other housekeepers except for the floor debacle when we arrived, and they had free umbrellas and beach towels. But, at $250 night we thought that maybe they should have had a continental breakfast as some places in town do, but we knew that going into it. And they should have a shelve in the bathrooms over the sink to put things. The only problem is that the housekeeping manager should have been nicer and maybe they should change out the mop water with each room. Will we say there again and recommend it, most likely yes, but if that floor is dirty NEXT year….:)

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJimmy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

First of all I need to thank the front desk person for upgrading the rom for free. It was initially booked for studio.. but he upgraded it to 1 bed and hall kitchen for us.. thank you sir..
He was also helpingbus on scheduling a cab for earky morning pick up which was really helpful and he took care of the customer end to end.. Thank you maurice for all your help..

Review about the hotel..

This is the best hotel I have stayed in US.
I felt the same weather is like india when I was in miami.. the room was like a apartment and I felt like home away from home..
Rooms were clean, house keeping was on time. . Rooms were preety large.. wifi was pretty good..
The rest room was bit small which is ok and can be compromised with amenities they give for it.. all moisturizer, sun screen protection lotions are available in the rest room.. which i nvr seen even in honolulu hotels.
Highlight was the courtyard. Nobody can stay here without spending their time here.. I did spend more time here.. its an amazing feeling.
If they could have give a complimentary American breakfast for the guests, then this will be the Tony Montana for south beach ;)

Overall I will definitely visit this place again for sure..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsmevenkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel 18 was a good choice for our family (2+2 kids) for our 5 nights stay at the Beach. The location on hotel is excellent. 5 min walk to Lincoln Road, 5 min to the beach. We had one on the bigger rooms with bedroom and the kids slept on the sofa bed in the living room. The room was nice with all amenities & utensils in the kitchen needed for family stay. The hotel even has a washing machine and dryer (2 dollars / machine) for guest to use. Very big bonus! The walls are quite thin, so if you are a light sleeper (like I am), pop out to nearby Walgreens for ear plugs :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueEllen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The service was amazing - especially Dani - she is so nice and super helpful! There was an incident at the hotel one night but they were so nice about it and let us do late check out which really shows they care about customer service. The location is amazing. My only note would be that I think they should have a security guard after 12AM since the front desk closes - just for added security.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the 2nd floor - that way you don't hear people walking around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sowpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen B, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you so very much for writing and especially about recognizing Dani - our fab Front Desk team member. We have great news that we are now fully staffed 24 hours a day - so the Front Desk always has someone to be there for you if you need them. Thanks for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and wish you Safe Travels!

Karen and Team Hotel18
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff are very accommodating at this hotel and personally take you to your room so if you have to wait in reception, don't get annoyed, it's worth the wait. Our room was a little on the small side but it still had everything we would need. It's 5 minute walk or less to the beach and there are bus stops within 100yards of the hotel to get you to downtown Maimi. There's maid service everyday and there are loads of lovely little restaurants and bars in the area for all meals. Our only down comments would be that our room was on a corner of two roads and was therefore quite noisy in the evenings and our bed was a bit lumpy.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room doesn't face onto one of the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Boutique 18
#82 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
City Center
San Juan Hotel
San Juan Hotel
#99 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#150 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,937 reviews
L Hotel Miami Beach
#108 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Villa Paradiso
#67 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Property: Hotel18
Address: 230 18th Street, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing