We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Given wrong password, had to spend night outside by gates!!!!”
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel18
Ranked #128 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hi, dont usually leave reviews but that case just unexectable!!!! Stayed on tue in hotel18, place is clean , good location, its not a party place. Front desk guy gave us wrong password for gate door to get in inside, that would be ok if he would get his lazy ...after we called 4 times to open door. But nope. We had to call cops and were just lucky somebody opened gates. So next morning i told about that to front desk persone, she took my number to give to the manager to at least appologize or offer anykinda refund since we spended 2 hours outside. And in 3 days novody called or contacted so basicly nobody cares!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel18_SoBe, General Manager at Hotel18, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

We regret that your experience was not a usual one. After your departure and upon the staff's report I attempted to contacted you by phone several times but was unsuccessful. At Hotel18 we have two entrances as is shown to all guests at check-in. At the time that the erroneous code was given to you as a result of human mistake, our reaction was still open to the public. The police offer even advised that you should use the other entrance to get to your room. It was reported by you that you felt that you did not have to go around to the other entrance because your room was closer to the James Avenue entrance. It was an unfortunate confusion, but I assure you this has never occurred before. We also have signs with the after hour line that starts after 12 am. Since your incident occurred at approximately 10 PM our Front Desk Agent attempted to buzz you in while attending to another guest. We regret that communications were not clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed six nights for a business trip exhibiting at the Miami Beach Convention Center. Location is great, only a 10-minute walk to the Convention Center. Front Desk staff – Jorge – is very professional and courteous! Room is clean and has fridge and stove top – very convenient. The only thing is both beds squeak quite a lot – maybe from some sort of plastic wrapping to protect the box spring? At any rate, our stay is very pleasant. Great value!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights to kick off a road trip around Florida. We had a 1br suite. The furnishings are a little dated but the rooms are large and comfortable. Parkings available for $20/night - forget trying to park on the street. It's 100m from the beach and right in the middle of everything going on in hedonistic Miami Beach. Surrounded by bars and clubs, yet absolutely quiet at night. But the best thing about the place (I know this is a cliche but...) was the staff. Best service I've ever had- down to an email (out walking with my phone off) to tell me one of my tires was going flat, dealt with the rental company and found a nearby place to get it fixed.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon.
It's not a fancy hotel but it met all our expectations and was very clean and had à friendly staff.
It is located just à few minutes from the beach and everything U need is within walking distance. We definatly enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel18 is really a stand-out! Small hotel family owned AND MANAGED by the family - that was key! GREAT LOCATION close to Miami Beach Convention Center - half a block. Friendly staff, reasonable rate, and I had $$ photo gear in my room for four days with never an issue (or concern, really). Not super luxe but VERY recently updated, nice premium upgrades here and there, super clean and super convenient. Five stars for overall value!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PdubPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night to attend Miami ballet. The hotel is small but cozy. Friendly prompt check in. Rooms are small but clean. We were able to easily walk 2 blocks to the theater. Surrounded by fun restaurants. Limited parking available so make sure you reserve a parking spot before arrival.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBMARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

a cozy little hotel with great service. Located in a quiet neighborhood, with perfect distance to beach and resturants and shopping in lincon road. Slightly worn bathroom but otherwise good standard. Is very.The staff did a great job. Thanks to Alex, Jorge and Sachy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tor erik h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Belleza
#105 of 212 in Miami Beach
66 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#116 of 212 in Miami Beach
239 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
164 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#93 of 212 in Miami Beach
908 reviews
Hotel St. Augustine
#100 of 212 in Miami Beach
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th St, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2008
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $115 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing