We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quiet.”
Review of Hotel18

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel18
Ranked #127 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed January 14, 2013

There are multiple aspects to staying in any hotel. The main things I look for are: clean, quiet, good location, and price. I don't care if the place has a piano in the entrance.

POSITIVE:
The place was quite clean, the location was very good, the manager was helpful. But in terms of service, how do you give it 4 or 5 stars when no one is there after 8PM??

NEGATIVE:
Most workmanship in the room was very shoddy (paint on the blinds, cabinets that don't fit with doors askew, poor plastering). The 2 single beds were not comfortable at all (very cheap). Air conditioner was a bit loud.

But as for quiet - it was awful. It appeared that the windows didn't fit properly and sound passed through them as if they weren't even there. There was traffic noise, and the most annoying was other guests in the courtyard yelling/talking to each other until 2:30 in the morning. The courtyard acted like an echo chamber amplifying the sound. And as others indicated (and I confirmed), there is no service desk after 8pm.

Ultimately, if I can't get to sleep in a hotel room - for me it's primary purpose - I can't recommend it, and thus the low overall rating. I've tried to be very specific in what I liked and didn't like so you can make up your own mind, but I can't believe the people who indicated the place was quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rick_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Hotel18
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 406 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is more of a 4.5 star review. We had 5 friends staying in a 1 bedroom apartment at Hotel 18 and it fit us all very comfortably. There was a queen size bed, a pullout couch, and a rollaway bed, along with plenty of room to sleep on the floor if you needed. The rooms were very clean, and had a fridge and full kitchen for long stays if you needed to cook anything. The only minor quip was the bathrooms were a little smallService was great, Wilfredo was helpful with everything you needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreww13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Amazing location, heart of South Beach, easily accessible to Lincoln Road, Collins, Ocean Drive, the beach, and Washington Avenue.

Decor is great, rooms were clean and had everything we needed and the kitchenette was a great feature, microwaves in hotel rooms should be a necessity everywhere!

Service was great too, the check-in receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We disembarked very early from our cruise ship (around 10am) and headed straight to the hotel and were granted our request of early check in! We had the room a mere hour later, 4 hours earlier than the 3pm official check in time. Very accomodating.

All in all, a solid bet for South Beach on a budget without compromising anything (except a pool), and would definitely stay here again and recommend to all

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Cozy. Updated. Furnished. Centralized location. Good service. Great value/rate. GM is very efficient and personable. Kitchenette. Separate, private bedroom. Complete bathroom. Full living room. Homey. Mostly young students from overseas. You get your own parking spot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank negss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom flat which had a lounge with sleeper couch so four of us stayed here. For the price and location it was well worth it. The flat itself was decorated very nicely and the kitchen was very clean and all the utensils were practically new. The sleeper couch was comfortable and the bed in the bedroom annoying kept moving because of the tiles but it was comfortable. Plenty of closet space. Bathroom was a bit small but always good to have a hot shower.
Since we had all the facilities we made breakfast each day and the cleaning service was kind enought to put the dishes away.
Hotel is just of Collins street and and then another road to the beach and a short walk to ocean drive and south beach. On the other side two street was Washington avenue which was also excellent. If you have a car be prepared to drive around looking for parking. We were lucky to find a spot on ocean drive on a Saturday night.

This hotel is good if you want to spend more time in Miami as it does feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V8nr0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I guess you get what you pay for, and this hotel was pretty cheap. Good location. Quiet. Clean, but small rooms. Kitchenette.

Great for sleeping. If you are looking for wild pool parties, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmedby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel18 is very well located -- a 2-block walk to the beach and 2 blocks from Lincoln Road's shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is quiet and peaceful with a nice courtyard. Our room had a fridge, a freezer, a toaster and a stove which was perfect for us! We saved money by eating breakfast in our room.

The staff were kind and helpful! Free Wifi in the room!

Some construction was going on during our stay which was unfortunate since the noise woke us up. Also the AC is a bit loud so bring earplugs!The bed was very comfortable!

The cleaning could have been better but overall we were happy with our stay at the hotel. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tima-Mulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#99 of 210 in Miami Beach
218 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#143 of 210 in Miami Beach
140 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#123 of 210 in Miami Beach
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#29 of 210 in Miami Beach
396 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#121 of 210 in Miami Beach
681 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel18? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel18

Address: 230 18th St, corner of James Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2008
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center , Nautilus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: $91 - $561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel18 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel18 is a serene apart hotel, located in the heart of South Beach. We're a friendly environment is always at your disposal by way of reserving any of our clean and comfortable standard studios, deluxe studios or one bedroom apartments. All of the apartments are set around a courtyard setting that leads to a private guest entrance facing James Avenue. Hotel18 also offers free WiFi, beach towels, communal laundry facilities, self-parking (reservations and fee required) computer station and printer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel18 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing