We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #136 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 1, 2010

I loved my stay at the Westgate and would definitely go back. I have to agree with the reviews I read before I left (which set my expectations at the right spot).

The good:
-the staff were wonderful: Ted at the front desk was very helpful and super nice.
-the room has everything you need (kitchen, comfortable beds, large & clean bathroom)
-the resort has a little shop (sandwiches, coffee, alcohol, food supplies including some fresh fruit/veg, post cards & stamps -it's like a Quickie Mart)
-the resort is right on the beach & boardwalk!!!!!
-the pool area is small but very nice (cleanest resort pool I've ever been in; salt water pool)
-the walk down the boardwalk to Ocean Drive is amazingly beautiful and only took about 30 minutes (strolling)
-cab fare from Lincoln Ave and Collins to the resort is only $5 (add a couple of dollars if you cab from Ocean Drive)

The less good:
-the room furniture does need an update. we put down the extra sheets over the sofa before sitting on it.
-took awhile to get hot water in the shower & kitchen

I found it helpful to know before I went about the parking (in a city lot next door $6/day arranged by hotel) and the fact that the rooms were a little dated. I had also read about the noise factor for room facing Collins Ave, so I had made a request for a top floor, pool facing room (#317- view of pool, and partial ocean view).

I liked the fact that this was not a huge resort with a lot of people & noise. I will go back and would recommend the place for a great beach vacation including some fun on Ocean Drive!.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cymru1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 328 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2010

I agree with the last review that this resort is just average. We travel and this hotel had nothing special.Very old hotel and really needed balconies with such small rooms. We did like the idea that it was right on the beach,had a pool and had a small store/sandwich shop. Had to pay for parking but they let us buy a whole week of passes so we could come and go. The last day they let us park for an extra four hrs and have a pass card for the pool etc. which was great!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carelomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

My wife, 10 month old son and I recently had a wonderful weekend at the Westgate South Miami Beach. Our expectations were low as we read previous reviews but we were pleasantly surprised as how nice the room and service was all weekend. Not a five star resort but a serviceable hotel room right on South Miami Beach.

We thank the Trip Advisor reviewers for the parking tips. The hotel did offer daily parking for $6 + tax in a lot next door.

With a 10 month old we requested ahead of time a children's bed and highchair. The front desk promptly brought them upstairs upon arrival. The maids were very sweet to our son but more importantly, they did a great job with servicing our room in a timely manner.

Our room was clean and updated recently. The kitchen was very handy for our son's meals. Our third floor room had a view of the ocean. The boardwalk out back lead to the Lincoln Road Mall and Ocean Drive to the south. Great people and building watching.

Although too cool to swim in the clean, small pool in the back, there was a relaxing playground/garden area behind it that was nice and peaceful with chairs and hammocks to sun in.

Overall, a nice, simple place to go for a long weekend.
Oh yea, the pictures in the hallway were special, especially the ones with Arnold.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JD-Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This hotel had some bad reviews before I went there, and I would say they were not all correct.
The room I stayed in was clean and well taken care of. The hotel staff was very helpful and a pleasure to talk to. The only think that I could say wrong was that it got to 50 degrees at night and the room was cold on the first night. There was plenty of covering on the bed to get over the cold. Everything in the room worked fine from the jacuzzi to the fridge.
A lot of people did get tickets on their cars because you have to change permits by noon everyday and that was a problem for some. Parking at $8 a night was also not bad compared to other big cities parking charges. I would recemend to anyone going to South Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HWiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying in this fine hotel recently. I had a room on the second floor which came fully-equipped. It was a two-bedroom meant for a family. The showers are enclosed and luxurious. Excellent kitchen with everything and bar style seating.

The salt-water pool was heated, warm and clean. The beach was located directly behind the building and has a boardwalk that runs from here to South Beach.

Staff is professional throughout and a new cafe makes an excellent addition. You will not need to rent a car if you stay in this hotel since you can take the "J" bus directly from the airport to save nearly $100.00 in round-trip cab fares.

One minor drawback: you are actually in North Beach. This will keep the noise factor down but does necessitate a 2 mile walk or bus trip down to Ocean Drive. All city buses are very close.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NooYoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The location was great because it was in great proximity to the beach. However, I found the decor and the structure inferior to other Westgate properties, especially the ones in the Orlando area. The structure was attractive at all.

The parking was free but you had to circle and wait on several occasions for a parking space. The Westgate should purchase a specified number of parking spaces for their guests.

The staff were not all bilingual. I don't have a problem with people coming to this country for better opportunities but I have a problem when I am not able to communicate in an English speaking country. The staff needs to be trained that the customer is the cause of their pay check. Wi Fi was not free in the rooms but you could get a free signal in the lobby. I was there for an hour and the front desk personell kept the TV on Spanish stations and over 5 men who appeared to be staff congregated in the lobby and they were loud.

There was no hot tub or excersise equipment. However, the pool area was attractive. ALso, the hammocks were great for relaxation.

All in all, I would give this facility a 31/2 star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1knowing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

i recived a call form the staff as soon as my plan landed. which was great. we checked in and the room was very nice 1 bd suite fully stocked.. the jacuzzi in the room was to big though it takes 3 hrs to fill.. And dont try to fill it @ night virtually impossible.. we had to use all the pots and pans to boil water and then it still toke 2 hrs 47 min.. Yes i was counting.. The staff was great very helpful and they did seem to make sure we were having a great time..

Now what i did not like is that I asked on wendesday to have the sheets changed they said we had only been there one night and they will change them on thursday.. OMG gross.. I did have male company and would like to lay on clean sheets.. But other than that.. I liked it there alot..

oh wait the parking they did not tell us upon check in that we were paying for parking.. they gave us a parking pass and said make sure you get one everyday.. So i'm like ok.. parking for our 5 days was 30 bucks and the beach chairs was 10 each and 10 for the umbrella.. So get your own..

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tqb804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
The Confidante Miami Beach
The Confidante Miami Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Faena
Casa Faena
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $228 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Splitty, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing