We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, No Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #134 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location, No Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2005

I visited Westgate South Beach from April 3-6, 2005. The hotel is not luxurious or five star as the advertisement of the hotel would lead you to believe. I arrived at the hotel earlier than the 4pm check-in and they told me to come back within 30 minutes and they would have a room available for me. I arrived back around noon and was allowed to check into my room earlier. This resort does not have any amenities or many activities for children. I was traveling with my ten year old son. During my stay there were no planned activities, however, they do have an activity list which did not include very many things. They have things such as game night etc. The pool at the hotel was our entertainment the whole entire stay. It was a nice pool and it was heated so my son really enjoyed it. The beach is located right behind the hotel so it was very nice to be able to leave the hotel and walk to the beach. We spent a lot of time on the beach. This resort is located on a part of Collins Avenue where a lot of things are not going on. The closest sit down restaurant is Denny's which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Oh, let me tell you that the parking is horrible at this hotel. You can purchase a parking pass for 6.50 a day from the hotel which allows you to park your car on the street for several blocks. There is a small parking lot next to Westgate South Beach but it was full majority of the time and you will spend lots of time just driving around trying to find a parking space.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    96
    57
    32
    28
See reviews for
139
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2005

The hotel is in good condition,very nice rooms, good location, average service, would repeat this hotel in the future.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2004

I had so many problems with this Westgate property -- being referred through their owner-referral program; I was expecting a great experience as promised. Because their rooms were full, they sent us to the Clarion Hotel in Miami, and were put in their only room available -- a smoking room with a broken toilet. I was 6 months pregnant and not appreciating any of the smells. We made several trips to Westgate South Beach where the staff was nice and listened and actually felt bad, stating they've seen problems similar to ours. Because we were there on a weekend, and their customer service dept. was closed, no one could anything but apologize. We were stuck, ended up spending a lot of money on many unpleasantries.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2004

We are Westgate owners and were going on a cruise out of Miami. We hadn't stayed at Westgate except our home resort, so we thought we would give it a try. The rooms are very nice size, but ours stunk. We had to buy candles and spray to get the smell masked. The rooms were decorated very nice, but they weren't very clean. The staff didn't go above and beyond with service. The pool was dirty and not heated, so we didn't use it at all. There are no amenities at the hotel like a restaurant, toothbrush, shampoo, etc. I wouldn't advise walking at night and you have to pay additional for parking. The beach was awesome and the hotel has a playground for kids. I was expecting better from Westgate, but it wasn't awful. I can almost guarantee we won't stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank tb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2004

The westgate was actually really nice. After reading some of the reviews on here I was NERVOUS! But it was everything and more than I expected. Very clean, nice, spacious apartment/rooms. Only negative I can say was there the language barrier. I didn't know if I was in Mexico or Miami. Everyone speaks spanish there. The security guy actually told me he didn't speak English. But everything else was wonderful! lol

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2004

Took a time sharing presentation in Gantlinburg in Feb and hence got this deal to stay at the Westgate resort for three days and two nights for $49 (registration fee). Found the folks at the reception quite friendly, especially the young lady who sits at the reception during the evening/nightly hours. She was extremely sweet, courteous and helpful. Though the groceries are not nearby (as one of the reviewers complained) it is not too difficult to drive down to Publix on 46th street. There is no restaurant or cafeteria in the facility but one can always get Thai/Chinese/Pizza delivered to your room from the nearby restaurants. Ocean Blvd., the hotspot, is very close. If parking seems to be a problem there one can always catch a local bus ride and hop out on 5th Ave (on Collins) and walk a block. The beach in front of Westgate is pretty nice too and my kids enjoyed it. The swimming pool at the resort was on the smaller side and not heated. But it didn't matter as we spend much of our time at the beach and used the pool that mother-nature provided us with. On a final note though, we wanted to extend our stay by a day. So decided to check the (real!) price out and discovered that it is $275 a night! That was not something I was expecting to hear. Now I am not sure how many of the residents are paying that kind of money to stay. In spite of all the hospitality and convenience I am pretty convinced that it is not really worth that much. Thankfully we decided to drive down to Key West and spend the money there. Otherwise we would have missed the beauty and the charm of the Keys. But that's another story. As far as the stay at the resort is concerned I and my family loved it - a whopping four star from our side.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2004

We were very pleased with the Westgate Miami Beach resort. Everything a person could want was right there on sight. It was a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed the pool, the beach, the food, and the drinks.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2015
Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back to stay with us again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Croydon
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Faena
Casa Faena
#55 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#100 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 3611 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing