We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #136 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Small and itimate resort - it is the perfect stay for anyone who doesn't like big crowded resorts. This was my fourth stay here and I am returning next year in June. There is a nice clean pool, barbecue, volley ball and cabanas on the property. I love the cabanas! The back steps out onto the boardwalk that leads to all the action down on Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road or step off the boardwalk right onto the beach. The resort is older and has the ambiance of Old South Beach. Over the last couple of years the resort has been under renovations which are just about complete including the Tiki Bar which I am excited about!!! It is a family friendly resort and I bring my children and grandchildren here and they all look forward to returning here. It is an economical vacation great for anyone on a budget. The resort does not have a restaurant, fitness center or balconies off the rooms - the balconies and restaurant I miss. I would not rent a car because of the large volumn of traffic and you have to pay to park anywhere you go. We take the city bus or taxi to get around. For a couple bucks the bus will get you to almost anywhere you want to go such as shopping, restaurants, sights etc...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for the awesome feedback! We love having you here at Westgate South Beach Resort each year. Thank you for describing our resort as “intimate”. Thank you for understanding our renovation process and appreciating how far we’ve come. As you mentioned, we have lots of onsite amenities in-case you wanted to stay on property. We are also conveniently located directly on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We look forward to seeing you and family again very soon.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 333 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I'm an owner here, and found this small gem by the way of a trade. I love going here because it is small, the grounds are lovely and the beautiful beach access is very convenient. If the renovations were complete I would rate it higher, but that did take away from our experience. The parking continues to be an issue. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Heather was great, but I was not keen on the nearly rude and insulting sales representative that she introduced me to.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for being a Westgate owner and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always happy to hear your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. We always look forward to providing the ultimate customer service experience. We are indeed in the process of renovating the premises, therefore your patience and understanding is greatly appreciated. We hope you return very soon so you can see the improvements we’ve made.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

::just as an FYI I study hospitality and I work in a hotel currently so this review may appear slightly biased:: I was in town for a conference and only stayed two nights. This property is older and does not count as South Beach despite the name, YOU WILL NOT BE WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF ANY OF THE TOURIST TRAPS OF SOUTH BEACH. Living in Orlando I pass the massive and gorgeous Westgate Lakes Resort almost daily and so any time anyone mentions the Westgate name I create certain assumptions, this property fell well below those assumptions. The property is dingy to say the least, but in their defense they are TRYING to upgrade it. A tacky little store is attached to the lobby and the walls are paper thin. On the second floor, a room I would assume to be the water pump or elevator room whirs so incredibly loudly its a miracle anyone can sleep near that room. However, the single worst part about this entire stay was this horrid sulfur, rotten egg salad smell in our room. It was downright nauseating I asked the front desk agent to please send someone up to spray which they did, and very promptly, but the smell never left. The second day the room still had this horrid smell even after service. I'm not sure where it came from but it was insufferable. We couldn't move rooms because the place was sold out, or so we were told.
The only upside to this resort were the staff on the first and second evening we where there. Allen and the young man who does security we're helpful, insightful and real. I cannot say that much about the others I interacted with. Allen is exceptional and deserves to work at the best resorts in Miami. He is probably the only reason I didn't rate this property as terrible, but two people can only do so much.
Also parking is apparently a nightmare and you have to pay 10.70 a day to park in the city lot next door

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We take all of our guests’ comments into consideration as we are always looking for areas to improve. Thank you again for sharing your comments. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a little bit old and smells bad even with no smoking signs in the room. It has potential but the administration should look more for cleaning and receiving new guests. And also take off the carpets!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Every time we receive a review from a guest we want to thank you for taking the time to do so, and we appreciate you providing us with your business. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was a beautiful place to stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was great.The view from the room was amazing. The staff was helpful and gave good advice for resturants and other activities. Great vacation stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you for saying that our resort is beautiful! We are so glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything was clean and we cooked in room one night, walked to restaurant next night. We loved the jacyzzi tub. So rekaxing after a long day in the sun! Loved that it made you feel like your home away from home. So many options nearby for entertainment! Affordable! Super friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resperdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you were able to use the kitchen amenities and our onsite restaurant. We always look forward to providing all of our owners and guests a home away from home. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we were supposed to stay at the westgate south beach from 8th of September until the 15th 2013, but it was so bad the attention of the manager that we decided to leave the hotel the 12th of September and we moved to the fountainebleau wich is a really great hotel. but talking again about the "worstgate" i would never recommend it, the rooms are old, the pool is really tiny, guests are charged for beach chairs!!!!, the staff is OK except for the manager, they don't have a parking lot, the guests are supposed to use a public parking which by the way is 10$ a day, and the misinformation caused to us a fine because the hotel give you a ticket that is valid just for one day! so all the guests are supposed to go every morning to ask for a new ticket to put it in the car, which is nonsense because the meaning of being an hotel manager is to do your job and try to make your guest feel the better possible. but instead of that we received the fine and the "manager" told us that we had to go to the miami dade and pay the fine, so we spent a whole morning of our vacations in a court to pay for an error of the misinformation of a poor managed hotel staff. the only good things i can say of this hotel was the internet and the music in the elevator. i don't recommend this hotel to anybody. stay away from it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORLANDO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1 mi away
Boulan South Beach
Boulan South Beach
#128 of 214 in Miami Beach
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
#90 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seacoast Suites Hotel
Seacoast Suites Hotel
#185 of 214 in Miami Beach
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#132 of 214 in Miami Beach
436 reviews
8.8 mi away
Doubletree Resort & Spa by Hilton Ocean Point - North Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#92 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $187 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing