We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stay in Miami”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #136 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The resort is a little bit old and smells bad even with no smoking signs in the room. It has potential but the administration should look more for cleaning and receiving new guests. And also take off the carpets!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaVargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Every time we receive a review from a guest we want to thank you for taking the time to do so, and we appreciate you providing us with your business. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

It was a beautiful place to stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location was great.The view from the room was amazing. The staff was helpful and gave good advice for resturants and other activities. Great vacation stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you for saying that our resort is beautiful! We are so glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you during your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Everything was clean and we cooked in room one night, walked to restaurant next night. We loved the jacyzzi tub. So rekaxing after a long day in the sun! Loved that it made you feel like your home away from home. So many options nearby for entertainment! Affordable! Super friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resperdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you were able to use the kitchen amenities and our onsite restaurant. We always look forward to providing all of our owners and guests a home away from home. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we were supposed to stay at the westgate south beach from 8th of September until the 15th 2013, but it was so bad the attention of the manager that we decided to leave the hotel the 12th of September and we moved to the fountainebleau wich is a really great hotel. but talking again about the "worstgate" i would never recommend it, the rooms are old, the pool is really tiny, guests are charged for beach chairs!!!!, the staff is OK except for the manager, they don't have a parking lot, the guests are supposed to use a public parking which by the way is 10$ a day, and the misinformation caused to us a fine because the hotel give you a ticket that is valid just for one day! so all the guests are supposed to go every morning to ask for a new ticket to put it in the car, which is nonsense because the meaning of being an hotel manager is to do your job and try to make your guest feel the better possible. but instead of that we received the fine and the "manager" told us that we had to go to the miami dade and pay the fine, so we spent a whole morning of our vacations in a court to pay for an error of the misinformation of a poor managed hotel staff. the only good things i can say of this hotel was the internet and the music in the elevator. i don't recommend this hotel to anybody. stay away from it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ORLANDO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We strive to provide an exceptional vacation experience that exceeds guest’s expectations and we apologize that we fell short. Our guests are always number one, and your responses make us want to work even harder to provide an exceptional experience for you. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

i stayed at this resort end of August and I must say I was a bit nervous at first due to some of the reviews I've read. I must say I was very pleased. I had a ocean view room on the third floor. My room was clean and everything was great. I want to give special thanks to two staff member that was more then helpful during my stay Johanna and Jose. The resort is under renovation but is coming out very nice. For me I found the use of the bus was the best due to limited parking. The location was easy access to all. I had the chance to see two of the model rooms and they are wonderful. I look forward to return when everything is complete. My own request would be for them to add a fitness center. R. Van Dyke

Room Tip: ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasheeda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your vacation experience with us. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated our staff. As you mentioned, South Beach Resort is in the perfect location close to tons of unique activities and convenient transportation. We appreciate you choosing Westgate and we look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, we noticed a funky smell in the lobby, which was not too pleasant. We were assigned a room on the 1st floor since the elevator was broken at the moment; however, it was directly next to the pool, so anyone could see into the room. We asked for a different room and got one on the second floor with no issues. When we got to our room, it looked pretty nice. However, in the evening, we noticed that there were tiny little bugs crawling all over the stove and surrounding areas. They seemed to be only in the kitchen area. We also tried to use the jacuzzi tub, but there was not enough hot water, and no hot water pressure. We called to inform the front desk, but since it was in the evening, there was no maintenance on staff. We were told that they would make a note of it. The next day, we got a call from the front desk to ask how check in was, and mentioned the hot water problem again, which they made a note of again. No one ever came to fix the problem, since nothing changed the following evening. The little bugs came out in the evening again. There is no parking at the hotel; it's all city parking, so you have to buy a parking pass for $10.70 per day. We could have dealt with these issues, but what blew our minds on the third day, when we were supposed to check out, is that we got a call around 8:45-9:00am, saying that this was a reminder that check-out was at 10:00am. I have never received such a call at any hotel that I have stayed. I felt like we were being kicked out of the hotel. Perhaps this is all due to the fact that we refused to tour the resort as a timeshare. We are recent timeshare owners and were not in the market any longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize with the issues you encountered. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location but very poor service. Zero service for guests Fax & Printers!!! In the kitchen oven didn't work properly!!!! Guests were charged for beach chairs & umbrellas!!!!
Parking is horrible!!! And very expensive $10.70/day. For a guest like me 2 weeks vacation at this resort parking costs a lot $$$$$.
Closest Publix to do groceries 2 miles to drive!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We always appreciate hearing back from our owners and guests. Our resort is conveniently located nearby the beach making it a wonderful vacation spot. We do apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We always look forward to meeting and exceeding expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
The Confidante Miami Beach
The Confidante Miami Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Faena
Casa Faena
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
382 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Bentley Miami/South Beach
0.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $228 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Splitty, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing