We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
$275
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$451
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$243
$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$381
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$269
$199
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$198
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$315
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$388
$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
113
103
61
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
103
61
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharebbq areavolleyball courtbeach chairs and cabanasfire pitsouth beachfull kitchenbeach barthird floorup to dateliving areaan umbrellathe general managerart decopartial ocean viewspring breakupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 338 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, we noticed a funky smell in the lobby, which was not too pleasant. We were assigned a room on the 1st floor since the elevator was broken at the moment; however, it was directly next to the pool, so anyone could see into the room. We asked for a different room and got one on the second floor with no issues. When we got to our room, it looked pretty nice. However, in the evening, we noticed that there were tiny little bugs crawling all over the stove and surrounding areas. They seemed to be only in the kitchen area. We also tried to use the jacuzzi tub, but there was not enough hot water, and no hot water pressure. We called to inform the front desk, but since it was in the evening, there was no maintenance on staff. We were told that they would make a note of it. The next day, we got a call from the front desk to ask how check in was, and mentioned the hot water problem again, which they made a note of again. No one ever came to fix the problem, since nothing changed the following evening. The little bugs came out in the evening again. There is no parking at the hotel; it's all city parking, so you have to buy a parking pass for $10.70 per day. We could have dealt with these issues, but what blew our minds on the third day, when we were supposed to check out, is that we got a call around 8:45-9:00am, saying that this was a reminder that check-out was at 10:00am. I have never received such a call at any hotel that I have stayed. I felt like we were being kicked out of the hotel. Perhaps this is all due to the fact that we refused to tour the resort as a timeshare. We are recent timeshare owners and were not in the market any longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. We apologize with the issues you encountered. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent location but very poor service. Zero service for guests Fax & Printers!!! In the kitchen oven didn't work properly!!!! Guests were charged for beach chairs & umbrellas!!!!
Parking is horrible!!! And very expensive $10.70/day. For a guest like me 2 weeks vacation at this resort parking costs a lot $$$$$.
Closest Publix to do groceries 2 miles to drive!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafiul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We always appreciate hearing back from our owners and guests. Our resort is conveniently located nearby the beach making it a wonderful vacation spot. We do apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We always look forward to meeting and exceeding expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great resort with excellent location for all Miami Beach activities, but not in south beach.
The inside rooms need make-over, specially the bathroom, loose tiles, no place to put your toothbruch and soap in the sink.
The stowe is old and does not heat right.
The good thing is the bus stop is near and great walkway in the back and the beach is right there in the back of the hotel also.
The receptionist was nice and also the maids were friendly and helpful.
We will go back next year.

Room Tip: room facing the ocean have a nice view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vivianrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach! We appreciate your feedback; it will only help us improve. We apologize in regard to the challenges with the issues you experienced. We will take note of them and pass them onto management. We would love to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After we checked out of the St. Regis in Bal Harbor we headed down to "South Beach" to begin the next stay in our Florida vacation. When we saw the area we were shocked and disappointed.

Environment: This is NOT South Beach. This is in an area where there are many buildings in all stages of demolition, and all construction seems to have stopped. We didn't see any evidence of active construction. Terribly depressing. I would call it "just short of ghetto." So what you are left with is a poor eyesore area quite a ways from the glamorous South Beach area. What it has going for it is that it is on a beautiful beach where you can rent umbrellas and beach chairs. That's right, they are not included, only discounted if you are an OWNER a timeshare owner at the hotel. When you are out on the beach you can forget about the bedraggled room you are sleeping in.

We made a timeshare trade through Interval International and we traded a beautiful Marriott one bedroom villa at South Lake Tahoe for this run down pathetic 2 bedroom / 2 bath apartment. We had suite #204, which is on the second floor of three. Out the filthy windows you could see the pool, which might have been a saving grace had it not been for the shrieking of children that started at 8 am and went on until after dinner. The single pane windows did nothing to block the noise. Past the pool we had a view of a large abandoned white bldg with window air conditioners, drained pool and boarded windows. There may have been squatters in the building because I did see a sheet move that was covering a window.

It seemed as though the owners have tried very hard to perk up this decrepit building with cute (but cheap) retro furniture and interesting colors on the walls. The wall art was pleasant. The king size bed in the Master was comfortable, with nice sheets and down duvets, but the pillows were lumpy and hard. There was a large jetted tub in the master bedroom, but the water pressure is so low it would have taken an hour to fill so we never used it. The master bathroom had a large shower and a single sink in a granite counter. The kitchen also had granite counters and dining bar. The central air was quiet and worked well. There were 3 flat panel TVs.

The floors in our apartment were like a fun house. They slanted toward the sag in the middle of the living room, which made all the furniture visibly tilt forward toward the center. I put six magazines under each front leg of the couch and it STILL wasn't level! We could hear people walking on the third floor above us. My son couldn't sleep because the people in the room next to his partied until 3 am all three nights and he said he could actually hear every word of their conversation.

There is wi-fi, but you will pay $9.95 per EACH device per day.

Parking is $10.70 per day across the street in a city-owned lot. You have to go to the desk each day by noon to get a new tag which you put on your dashboard. If you return after 9 pm, good luck finding a place anywhere in the neighborhood to park! On Saturday night we were directed to park at a lot TWO MILES away and walk or take a taxi back. And we had already paid for parking that day. I would never walk in that neighborhood at night.

A door from the lobby opens into a small grocery shop with pastries, coffee & snacks. That was convenient.

There is no maid service, but they bring fresh towels daily, which they leave stacked in the bathrooms. They also take away your garbage. No washer/dryer in the apartments, but there is a "coin-op" service in the basement. How cheap is that?

We had planned to stay a week because we gave up a week at our home resort, but we only stayed three nights. That was three nights too many. Do yourself a favor. Don't stay there. It should be torn down, and it will be... sooner than later.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Renery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Allow us to apologize for any issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your comments as we are always looking for areas to progress. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and the issues you experienced are not our usual standard of service. We would love to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First time to Miami Beach. We had 2 units - one end unit/one down the hall-parking lot view, each 1 bdrm, 1 ba. 5 friends. Large beds (one slept on pullout in living room), decent bathrooms, kitchen had plenty of space/utinsels. Shower water went from nice and hot to cool sometimes. We were not in the renovated section but had nice view overlooking play area (grill, volleyball, tables/chairs, etc) and could easily see out past the boardwalk to the ocean. Walked boardwalk to meals at nearby hotels open to public. Nice pool (with sun part of the day). Parking was tricky at the WestGate and everywhere though. If you are driving Miami Beach/South Beach, be aware it is very, very busy even in summer, so leave extra time to get to your destination. Would stay here again easily; visited the renovated units and they are really nicely updated. Front desk and valets were very available and helpful.

Room Tip: End units with a view of the boardwalk overlooking the ocean are really fun!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreeToRoamAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

We are honored you chose to stay with Westgate South Beach. We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds. But we also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! We are happy to hear that you will be returning. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews