We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco Location on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #133 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Richmond British Columbia Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Art Deco Location on the Beach”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been to Westgate South Beach several times over the last 7 years and have never been disappointed. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and knowledgeable and make you feel at home as soon as you walk in the front door. The grounds and pool are well maintained and there are always flowers blooming. The rooms are very clean and every item was functional. Wifi is available at no cost. The location is excellent. There is a beautiful and well maintained boardwalk 100 feet from the hotel. You can walk right into Ocean Drive. Security is always present on the boardwalk. The Beach is 20 feet from the boardwalk. The beach is very well maintained.
We were advised a month before our reservation that they were doing some renovations and it might be noisy and that we may want to change our reservation or location to another Westgate Resort. We said no, that we had booked our flights and car rental. The construction work was being started after 9:00am and didn't last long. It was not noisy. On the days it was we were offered a lounge chair at the beach which was very nice. The construction crew kept the area spotless and they stored their working materials in one area. We were quite impressed. We will definitely go back again

Room Tip: If you have kids you may want a room overlooking the pool. I would choose rooms on the south side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garysutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We truly appreciate your review of Westgate South Beach. Our Oceanside location and comfortable accommodations make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach getaway. Guest service is our utmost priority, so it means a lot to us when you describe our staff as “friendly and knowledgeable.” Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    98
    58
    32
    28
See reviews for
143
82
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My experience is similar to ResQ4o8 with much different outcome. I also booked a stay at Westgate Southbeach last January and also recieved notice a month before reservation that renovations were being done at the hotel. We were offered to change accommodations or dates of stay. I spoke with a rep at the hotel who was very helpful and we elected to stay despite the construction work that was being done. We had a wonderful time staying at this hotel, never disturbed by any constuction noise. The staff were very courteous and helpful, Thankyou- Grace and Danielle. The location was the best, on the beach--away from all the noise of Ocean Drive and Lincoln Rd. yet very easy to go there when you wanted to. Also parking in lot across the street never a problem and also never charged because of handicap pass. We are already looking to return next year

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoringowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for review of Westgate South Beach. We are so glad to hear that you had a “wonderful time” at our resort. It is extremely gratifying to hear you describe our staff as “very courteous and helpful.” They work very hard to keep our resort clean and well-maintained. And you’re correct, location means everything. Our Oceanfront property with comfortable accommodations makes our resort the perfect place for a Miami South Beach vacation. Thank you again for choosing Westgate South Beach. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Was leery going here because of some of the comments left. But after my week stay I worried for nothing. The place was clean, friendly and convenient! I usually stay on Ocean Dr but because I have Travel Club we stayed here. So glad we did!! As a boutique hotel it was an excellent place. If you're looking for full service hotel this isn't for you. But if you're looking for a nice clean convenient small super friendly place on the beach this is it!!
They even called us to warn us of construction on the property at the time and offered to move our week. Honestly it wasn't a problem at all. But I appreciated the heads up from them. I loved this place!! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanDreamerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It’s extremely motivating to receive feedback such as yours. To exceed your expectations is precisely what we strive for. Your kind words will bring a big smile to our staff. We can’t wait to be your host in the near future. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We have a timeshare through Westgate. Booked a trip to Miami for 7 days back in January. Two days before our trip we were told that they were doing renovations and that the construction work would be very loud. Spoke to a rep at the actual hotel to ask how bad it was and his response was "I wouldn't stay here." So we had to cancel most of our stay and book a last minute cruise that ported out of Miami. Called Westgate back and expressed our concerns and issues thoroughly with the manager. His solution? Switch to a timeshare in Orlando (4 hours away from Southbeach) or stay and endure the construction. No comps, no discounts or anything that would ease the inconvenience we had to put up with.
Westgate is an international timeshare company. I was very surprised (in a negative way) when we arrived to this place. This location was nowhere near Southbeach. The room was a 2 star motel quality at best. And the staff was rude and disrespectful, having no sense of customer service. Spoke to Westgate corporate manager and was told that they would not offer any type of compensation for our inconvenience. This is not the way you treat any of your customers who have invested a lot of money over the years into a timeshare. I will never stay here again and will switch my membership to a different timeshare company.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ResQ4o8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Westgate Resorts values our owners, and our goal is to provide a quality vacation experience. We apologize for the City-of-Miami-mandated-work that needed to be done that interrupted your stay, as well as anything less than spectacular customer service . Please contact Owner Customer Service and ask for the manager-we are glad to work with you to ensure your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked the trip before i read the Tripadvisor. So after reading it i was scared when we arrived. It turned out to be one of the best places ive stayed in Miami. The staff where the best. I couldnt say anything bad about the way they treated me and my husband. When they found out it was a surprise for him they made sure they gave us a ocean view room. I will come back any time. Just because it was The Foutainbleau which me an my girlfriends stay every year when we come. They customer service out weighed them by far. Its way the lil things like smiling, talking, laughing, and treating us like friends that mattered. So what it was small and away from all the loud noisy Ocean Dr. It was cozy. Thank u Westgate South Beach.

Room Tip: Get a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamita j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate South Beach. Our oceanside neighborhood and comfortable units identify our resort as the ideal location for a Miami South Beach vacation. Guest satisfaction is our utmost priority, so we appreciate your generous words describing our staff as “the best.” I do agree with you 100% about the "little things". That's precisely what we're all about, a resort vibrant with that family/friendship atmosphere. Thank you, again, for choosing Westgate South Beach. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

In a nutshell, this property was hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. The room was literally falling apart. We found massive cockroaches in the room. Our jacuzzi did not work. The air conditioning broke. The toiletpaper roll kept falling down. Housekeeping did not clean the rooms or replace the towels. The bathroom tiles literally starting falling off during my shower. The pool was not heated as promised. The rep Daniela kept calling and pressuring me to buy the timeshare. There was no washer or dryer in the room and the cheapest bottle of soap for the coin operated laundry room was $8. The dryer didn't even fully dry our clothes. I made multiple complaints to management. Maintenance workers spent more time in the room than we did. They even walked in a few times without knocking or announcing themselves. We just happened to be in the bathroom. One maintenance worker left a large knife on the floor after working on the jacuzzi.

Do yourself a favor. Find a real resort to stay in. This one was a good 20 blocks from the strip and parking was $15 a day. Our vacation was ruined and we just opted to check out a day early. I wasted my time and my money staying at this property.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoJokeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of Westgate South Beach. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our daily mission is to exceed your expectations; in this case we failed to do so. Our resort is currently undergoing several renovations. This structure was built in 1938, and is protected by the Historic Preservation Board. There are limitations to what we can/can't do. We have challenges, it’s a vintage structure; all we ask from our owners/guests is to give us the opportunity to correct any issues that may surface. Again, we apologize for not meeting/exceeding your expectations. We honestly regret not been able to provide you with the accommodations you anticipated. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. We truly appreciate your comments, as they assist us in becoming a better and more responsive team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bliss,NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Westgate South Beach is a nice small relaxing resort. The location is amazing. We rented bikes and went down to Lincoln Avenue to shop and then down to the strip. The rooms are average. If you are used to staying at other Wesgates this one is not on the same level. The rooms definitely need to be remodeled and according to the resort next year they are being remodeled. If you are looking for a small resort, where the staff is friendly and are willing to help you, then this is the place to stay..

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of Westgate South Beach. Our oceanfront location make our resort the ideal place for a Miami South Beach vacation. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we appreciate your kind words describing our staff as “friendly, and willing to help.” Thank you for choosing Westgate South Beach as your vacation destination. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Property: Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing