We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break at Westgate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #135 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A very nice, well maintained and upgraded resort. It has the art deco character that we really liked. It is right on the beach and short walk ( 5 minutes) down the wooden boardwalk you can enjoy a drink and a meal and watch the world go by. You can also walk down to Ocean Blvd and enjoy the many shops and restaurants.
The one bedroom with a kitchen we had was very spacious. The grounds and pool were very well maintained. They had barbecues, and a volleyball court as well. The resort was quiet. The only disadvantage we could find is that parking in the lot next doorwas not guaranteed even though you paid $10 a day. On Saturdays and Sundays it was impossible to get parking until after 8:00pm as many people from Miami came down to use the beach. It is a very beautiful and groomed beach,

Room Tip: We were on the ground level so we did get traffic noise on Sat and Sundays. I would choose a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank garysutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateSouthBeach, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2011

On behalf of my staff and me, I’ll like to thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward for hosting you and your family real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 333 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

I want to start off by saying that everyone that works at the Westgate in south beach was very friendly and helpful. At check in I was greeted by a beautiful young lady named Daniela which she took us to the room and showed us how everything works and where everything was. The property was very clean and well kept. The next day we spoke to the friendliest and most helpful man in the world “ Gary ”. During our whole stay Gary came up to us asking us how we were doing and if we needed anything making us feel right at home. Every time we went by the front desk a young fellow with glasses, i dont remember his name would put a smile on our face, he has a wonderful personality. The best part of all was the beach; it’s directly behind the resort, two steps on the board walk and your there. The pool was heated, the room was big and it had it all except washer and dryer but they did have the Jacuzzi in your room that was a plus. All I know is that I’m hooked for life to this beautiful resort

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igoanywhere34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateSouthBeach, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

It’s extremely satisfying to receive such an astounding assessment. Our daily mission is to exceed guest expectation, that’s what we do. It’ll add to our satisfaction to accommodate you and your family in the near future. We truly appreciate your comments.

Enrique Gallardo - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The personal attention we received was excellent. All members of the administration and staff were friendly. We are especially thankful to the personal in charge of the activities, they when out of their way to ensure that our children were having a good time. The BBQ was delicious and FREE. Gracias, see you next summer.
The Sanchez Family

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DASEIN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateSouthBeach, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Sanchez Family,

It’s extremely refreshing to receive feedback such as yours. That’s precisely what we strive for, that’s what we do. Those kind words will bring a big smile to the activities department. We can’t wait to be your host next year. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here 17 June 2011 for 1 wk,after a long flight from the UK we were faced with an un pleasant member of staff,no greeting ,just `are you checking in`,natually afer just being dropped off by shuttle and 2 cases in tow! We took the advise of a previous comment and asked for a top floor room.The room itself was clean,spacious and comfortable.The hotel has a shop attached the young chap that was often on duty did not have a care in the world,asking if they had any teabags in stock was such a chore for him,take your own is my advise! Be advised that the nearest decent restaurant is a good 20min walk from hotel,but the buses run frequently and drop you off near hotel,this we found out by ourselves as hotel staff were clueless on public transport.Nearest place for a lovely bar is up the board walk to Edan Roc,a lovely hotel,superb location,happy hr 4-6,this also a good 15min walk. Lincoln Road 30min walk,Ocean Drive 1 hr walk.
Westgate is a timeshare resort and you are going to be pestered with their options,just say no thanks! Overall we got what we expected,and enjoyed the experience, and no we will not be back.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellers1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateSouthBeach, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Our mission is not only to meet your expectations but to exceed them. It seems that we fail to do so with you and your companion, and I sincerely apologize. I want to thank you for bringing to our attention the poor greeting you experienced. It will definitely be addressed in our next staff meeting, and it’s a great tool for training purposes. We’re constantly trying to improve, and honest feed back, such as yours, will certainly make us a better team.

In addition, we truly appreciate your review about our rooms, as our housekeeping staff worked very hard to maintain our rooms up to par with comfortableness, and cleanliness. If you decide to visit us again, I’ll like nothing better than to have the opportunity to make your stay a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We've been owners since 2002. This year we tried this smaller location in May with the family for a full week. It is literally on the beach!!! We walked to the beach every morning. The resort is conveniently located within walking distance to restaurants. The rooms are ample and comfortable. The boys at front desk were knowledgeable, helpful and friendly round the clock. We will return next summer satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bucketlisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateSouthBeach, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Thank you very much for your feed back. It is always a pleasure to receive such high praise for our efforts. Looking forward to accommodate you and your family next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at this Westgate resort when we came to Miami for a Steelers/Dolphins football game, and it was fine for our purposes. We are vacation timeshare owners, so we only had to pay a $140 exchange fee for a week stay, so I am not sure of the regular price of staying here, but for $140 for the week it was fine.

The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. We stayed in a 1 bedroom and had a kitchen, dining area, and sitting room as well. We did cook once in the kitchen and it was fine, plenty of cookware and such that we needed.

The hotel is right on the beach, and they have their own little area with lounge chairs and umbrellas for the Westgate guests, but they are not free. You have to pay for the chairs and the umbrella, and because we were there during the "off season" we could not find anyone around the stand where you rent them. We were lucky that there was another couple who had an umbrella and two chairs they had rented that were leaving the beach, and offered them to us for free. We were out on the beach for at least three hours and didn't see anyone come to the stand, so we would not have been able to get one if not for the nice couple who gave us theirs.

The hotel also claims it is "walking distance" from all the South Beach excitement, which is a bit of a stretch. It is probably a mile walk down the boardwalk, and most of that time it was pretty isolated so we weren't sure if it would have been safe to be walking there late at night. We are not really into the party scene, so we were never out late but I definitely would not have wanted to be walking back to the hotel alone late at night (most of the way on the boardwalk we saw vacant hotel properties, which was a little creepy at night).

The staff was mostly helpful and friendly, and they assigned us a "concierge" who was dedicated to us the whole time so if we needed anything she was the person who could help us find it. However, it is a timeshare property, so even though we were already timeshare owners they still kept pressuring us to attend some kind of presentation to talk about our options. We kept declining (and avoiding the lady who kept asking us to attend), but that was pretty annoying.

I would recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for clean, comfortable rooms near the beach, but is not interested in being in the middle of the South Beach action. It's quiet, a little bit out of the way, and more geared toward someone looking to relax (families with small children, older couples) than someone looking for a lot of nightlife or other excitement (singles, college students, young couples).

Also, be sure you don't leave anything in your hotel room when you check out. My husband left two authentic football jerseys (worth about $120 each) in the closet after we left. I called the hotel and was given the run-around for three days before I could reach anyone who could help me. I spoke with several people, who all told me that there was only one person at the entire hotel who could access the "lost and found" closet of stuff that the housekeeping staff collected from the rooms, and she was apparently never at work because I could never reach her, even during the hours I was told she would be there. Finally about five days after we checked out I was able to reach that person, she took another couple of days to get back to me and confirm that they had the football jerseys. They offered to mail them, and charge my card for it. They sent it FedEx two-day air and it cost about $40. I wish they would have asked me if I needed it sent so quickly, because we did not need them ASAP, we just wanted to make sure we recovered them after leaving them at the hotel. I would have preferred not to be charged $40, because they could have been sent with a slower option.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracyHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enriquegallardo, General Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

I'll lke to personally thank you kindly for you review of our property. We take every guest commnet very seriously, and we'll be looking into your feedback. Rest assure the we are continuosly trying to improve. Our mission is to exceed guest expections. Hopefully next time you visit us, I'll have the opportunity to meet you.

Sincerely,
Enrique Gallardo - GM
305-532-8831, ext. # 402

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very simple hotel ,not a five star, more like two stars,no restaurant, no services to clean or fix beds only if you pay for it, THIN WALLS, you could hear EVERYTHING from the next room!!!!

Room Tip: room in the 3 floor in the middle of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valeriachouzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We have made many improvements since you last stayed with us and hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at any of our other Westgate Resorts.

Best Regards,
Ariel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1 mi away
Boulan South Beach
Boulan South Beach
#130 of 214 in Miami Beach
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
#89 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,126 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seacoast Suites Hotel
Seacoast Suites Hotel
#185 of 214 in Miami Beach
349 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#132 of 214 in Miami Beach
438 reviews
8.8 mi away
Doubletree Resort & Spa by Hilton Ocean Point - North Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort

Address: 3611 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4009
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $186 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort in beautiful Miami Beach, Florida, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home along with abundant onsite amenities, including beach access and a heated outdoor pool - all within minutes of South Florida attractions and walking distance to many area restaurants and specialty shops. Westgate South Beach offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Westgate South Beach Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Westgate South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing