We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort
Ranked #131 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Do not stay here. This hotel is beyond disgusting. Read the reviews. If you're like me I said 'oh, how bad could it be?', 'oh, the pics don't look that bad', 'the location seems good. All I can see is guess what, it's worse. This is by far the most disgusting hotel I've ever checked into. You arrive to the lobby, it's the 'best' part, but still doesn't look anything like the pictures, it's actually old and worn out, with still an open mind you step into the elevator, the door opens and you are greeted with some wild mural painting of a white plastic lawn chair on the beach and carpeting in the hallways which appears to be from the 1960's, stained and filthy, and the odor. There is no description for the extremely strong odor the permeates the hallways. Another reviewer wrote it smells like roach repellant. Maybe. Whatever it is it's overwhelming. You open the door to your room and 'whoa', it doesn't get any better. Everything in the room is dated and worn out, the carpets are filthy, and I mean filthy. By no means does the place look like the pictures. The safe is actually located in the corner of the closet, on the floor (the filthy disgusting carpeted floor) with a piece of plywood slapped on top of it and a fridge plopped on the plywood. You would have honestly had to get on your hands and knees to even try to use the safe, and trust me in that place you definitely feel like you need the safe. That was it for me. I couldn't take anymore. We made a u-turn and went straight to the front desk, demanding our money back. Fortunately we got everything but the first night, I would gladly give up a night's cost just to get out of there, and I did. This nearly runined our entire trip. I'm very fortunate that I found a much more suitable hotel for slightly more down the road in South Beach where there is much more action, cleanliness and class. There is absoutely nothing about this hotel that even begins to be acceptable with the exception of the 'maybe' on the location because it is oceanfront. Notice the rates are always 'non-refundable', I realize now that's because everyone who checks in wants to immediately run and check back out. Truly disgusting and is a 2 rated hotel at best.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here, they are all disgusting. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanDieg0Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Let me begin by offering you an apology for any inconvenience that resulted from your stay. You are correct in stating that the carpets are old and worn. We are in fact renovating our hallways at the end of this month with brand new carpeting, paint and art work. The hallways will have a wonderful new appearance for all our future guests to enjoy. In regards to the in-room safe, all of our safes have been mounted in the closets and are in compliance with BW standards. The ply-wood you refer to is in fact a matching piece to the room furniture that goes above the safe to hold the mini-fridge in each room and guest room closet. I apologize if the positioning of the safe caused you discomfort. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and are told often by many guests how clean and comfortable their rooms are.
I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future to stay at our hotel and hopefully have a different opinion regarding our product. We hope to see you soon and wish you well.

Best Regards,

Barbara Romano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was a little pricy, but it is on Miani Beach so it will cost a little more. The room was adequate with an ok view of the ocean. The staff was great. The issue was where to park. The hotel provides 19 spots at $26. With a couple hundred rooms, where do you park. It is hard to enjoy the hotel when you have no place to park for the night. This should be advertised up front, not hidden from potential guests. There are much nicer hotels. You pay a little more, but no hidden fees.

Room Tip: Don't choose bestwestern if this is how their hotels treat their guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 468MarkB468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara R, General Manager at Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Guest:

My apologies to you for the inconvenience with parking. Unfortunately, the hotel only offers a limited amount of parking spots due to space limitations. However, we do offer nearby locations to park that are feasible in proximity and price. We are happy to hear that you were content with the hotel itself and our staff during your stay. The good thing about staying on the beach is that there are many transportation options that are not very costly in getting around in lieu of renting a vehicle.

We hope you will give us another opportunity when staying in Miami Beach.

Best Regards,
Barbara Romano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western from the 30th June 2012 to 3rd July 2012.

The hotel was very clean and the Staff were friendly, at the reception and around the pool area.
We had a basic room with sea view. I was clean and nothing really to report on that. Checking was uncomplicated and everything as we'd booked.The Pool was a bit small in comparison to the size of the hotel, but is was clean and the service people were always cleaning the deck down.

There was no way to get parked in the area of the hotel so we paid for 4 days hotel parking.The Parking area at the back was with a parking card that operated a barrier and then some shutters. It was secure but a bit small and one had to be careful maneuvering around the the concrete columns & other cars.

The hotel is right on the beach and there's a wooded walkway you have to use in order to go the 20 meters or so to the beach. There's 1 x security beach gate operated with your room card and this was a point for us as we had our child with us.

The style of the hotel is quite ok, and it's surrounded by some cool Art Deco hotels from the 20's and 30's era.

Checking out was fine, and to be honest we had a good positive feeling about the hotel and how it was run.
We would go back as the price was ok for what we experienced.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view !!!! you won't regret it :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank symbol41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in the suite with another family prior to the departure of our cruise. The hotel was clean and had a great location right on the boardwalk and beach. It was a great value for the money. The pool was alittle small for the kids but the beach was very nice. I would recommend this hotel if you just need to stay for a few days. The hotel staff was very accomadating and helpful.

The only negative thing I would have to say was the other travelers that were very loud late at night in the hallways and the family upstairs that was jumping around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I are frequent visitors to Miami Beach and have stayed at 4 other MB hotels multiple times. We made our plans late for this visit and since it was Easter week our choices were limited.

We read the reviews of this Hotel and arrived with open eyes and minds. Our experience, while not horrible, was not great. The other reviewers who commented on the strange odor in this hotel were right on target. It was awful. You could actually smell it outside the building as you approached. It was so strong in the hallway that I had to hold my breath as I went from the elevator to our room. We were staying on the "penthouse" level. Do NOT let that term conjure up any thoughts of "luxury". The carpet in all of the hallways was filthy and wrinkled!. Our room was clean and painted in cheerful colors. The bed, linens and mattress were fine. The room was small without a desk or enough outlets. There was a fridge and a safe in the closet. The bathroom was another story. It was awful! The shower curtain was "white" cotton and filthy! There was no plastic liner. The towels were so old and rough that I joked about the benefits of exfoliation! The floor was stained and the painted blue door very dirty. I could go on about it but I am sure you can imagine the rest.

The pool was not usable in my opinion. This small, cold (unheated) pool was set in a cracked mustard color painted patio. There were no umbrellas in the area of the lounge chairs. The few people who were sitting there seemed to be all smoking. The towels were supposed to be in a cabinet in this pool area. They are for the use of hotel guests for the pool and beach. Six attempts yielded us no towels by the end of the day. I asked at the front desk and was told to "just wait for them". I also had to request that the overflowing garbage left in the pool area from the night before, be removed.

The parking garage was also a disappointment. It was self parking at the cost of $26 per day. The garage was filthy and quite scary especially at night. It was a disgrace.

For $259 per night this hotel was NOT worth it at all. They attempted to charge us a $2 "Resort Fee" which we refused to pay. This is NOT a Resort and I will never return.

Room Tip: Find another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were here last January for two weeks and decided to come again for 10 days at end of March. The location of the hotel is excellent and our room was very comfortable. And again, we were as happy with the hotel staff and services as we were in winter. We stayed in the hotel long enough to get to know people working there. We found very friendly personnel at the front desk, Tatiana, Celia, Christopher and the rest of the crew. Concierge Juan and Alex are always there to assist guests. Room cleaning by Yanila was exceptional, floor manager Mercedes was always there to help us. The rest of the staff was always pleasant. We are planning to come there again for our next winter vacations in December.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at this location in one of the suites for a weeks stay during WMC. Room was very spacious. The room was basically 2 regular rooms converted to a suite. The 2 bathrooms and balconies worked out very well for our group. The hotel staff was very accomadating to all our needs and requests. Extra towels, toilet paper, cot and trash pick up were never a problem during our stay. The only complaint would be the odor in the hallways and that the beds and pull out sofa were the most comfortable. Also, a free continental breakfast would be nice. Location is excellent. Right across from the beach and a 25-30 min walk on the boardwalk to SoBe. Not too much going on in the immediate area of the hotel but everything is a quick cab or bus ride away. Our group would definitly stay here again.

Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smcderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#103 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
L Hotel Miami Beach
L Hotel Miami Beach
#107 of 212 in Miami Beach
163 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort

Address: 4101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3210 (Formerly Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $118 - $1,234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to this oceanfront Miami Beach, Florida hotel conveniently near the Atlantic Ocean, South Beach, Port of Miami and the Miami Beach Convention Center. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort where the service is top notch and the accommodations are beachfront and affordable. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, this Florida hotel offers convenient access to many local attractions in and around Miami Beach. Guests staying at this Miami Beach hotel will enjoy spacious, ocean view guest rooms and suites that are 100% non-smoking and feature cable satellite television, refrigerator and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Dining and entertaining are made easy at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort with a restaurant and cocktail lounge right on property. After a day of enjoying all that Miami Beach has to offer, take a refreshing dip in the outdoor swimming pool or work out in the fully equipped exercise facility. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is fully equipped with a business center and meeting and banquet facilities that can accommodate up to 150 people. The BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is close to where travelers want to be while visiting Miami Beach. Nestled oceanfront, this hotel is just steps away from the Atlantic Ocean Florida beaches. Spend a leisurely afternoon touring the Miami Seaquarium or exploring the Parrot Jungle Recreational Park. Find a variety of brand name shops at world renowned Coconut Grove, located just 12 miles from the hotel. Venture out and enjoy all the excitement and entertainment offered in nearby South Beach. Guests will also appreciate this hotel's proximity to the Port of Miami, Mount Sinai Hospital and Miami Heart Research Center. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Atlantic Beach Resort is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Miami Beach, Florida. Make a reservation today and save. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Plus Atlantic Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Atlantic Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Best Western Coral Gables
Best Western Atlantic Beach Resort
Coral Gables Best Western
Best Western Miami Beach
Miami Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing