We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice service, location a bit sketchy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach
Ranked #132 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, nice service, location a bit sketchy”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 days mid December 2012 prior to taking a cruise. We found the room and lobby area to be clean and fairly basic in terms of towels, etc. The front desk and breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was adequate and pretty typical. Our breakfast was included as part of our room rate thru AAA. I think it cost about $12, which I would not have paid if we were not getting it included. The hotel location is very good - just a few blocks walk to Lincoln Road, the beach, Collins Ave., Ocean Drive. The stretch of block the hotel is located on felt a bit sketchy. As other reviewers have mentioned, there is a strip club across the street (and I think also there may have been one next to the hotel as well). We never felt greatly uncomfortable walking on the block, but I will say we picked up our pace a bit as we approached the hotel each evening. I did notice the hotel always has one or two front door guys at the doors every time we entered and exited the hotel which I thought was a good thing. Other reviews also metioned hearing street noise, though we did not. Our room was on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very thankful for your compliments to our great staff. I'm happy to hear that the hotel overall met your expectations.

The establishment next door is not an adult club and I can assure you it is very safe in our neighborhood. We are conveniently located the strip on Ocean Drive and the vast shopping and dining on Lincoln Rd.

I'm also happy to hear that you weren't impacted by any noise issues and our valet staff was helpful throughout your stay. Thank you again and we hope you'll visit in the future.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    297
    174
    57
    40
See reviews for
267
172
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bala, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A basic hotel building with more than adequate standard rooms and a nice roof top pool area. In a good location with Ocean Drive with all the designer shops one block towards the beach. We noticed the strip club but all was quiet when we arrived about 9 p.m. We walked across to the beach area in the morning. No problems with safety at that hour! Taxi ordered on our behalf and luggage loaded by accommodating staff member. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm very pleased to hear that everything was smooth sailing during your stay. I hope you enjoyed your cruise with the family and we look forward to welcoming you back to Miami Beach in the future. Thank you again!

Sunny regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the back end of a cruise. The room was spacious but smelled awful. The location was in a seedy part of south beach. I would not recommend staying here for any reason. Was very overpriced for what was included. The staff however were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eligat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your compliments to our staff. Please accept my apologies for the odor issue in room. We were not aware of the problem and I apologize for the inconvenience. Additionally we are conveniently located to the beach and many of the attractions in the south beach area. Our guests typically choose the hotel based on our prime location so I apologize that it wasn't a good fit for your trip. I appreciate the feedback and again please accept my apologies for any inconvenience.

Thank you,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel was full and the service was poor. Housekeeping left a different, incomplete variety of towels when they cleaned each day. I needed assistance with some directions and restaurant recommendations and the front desk personnel were not really interested in helping me. I even commented to the Service Manager about the poor service when I checked out and I barely got an acknowledgement that I had spoken. My room was fine--mostly clean and functional; if you don't have an ocean view you don't have much of a view at all (and I did not have an ocean view). And I agree with the other reviewer; look for parking nearby vs using the valet service. It is expensive. This is not one of Marriott's better Courtyards!

Room Tip: Of course, try to get an ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cljensens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_MiamiBeach, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent Marriott stay. We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your time while visiting one of our properties. It does appear that you intended to provide feedback on another Courtyard in this post. We are conveniently located in south beach and only two blocks from the beach. We do not have direct ocean front rooms, but one of our sister properties does. It seems that you stayed at that hotel and have confused ours on your response. I regret that you did not have a pleasant experience within our brand and I hope this does not prevent you from continuing to choose Marriott.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Bad first. Do not stay here with children there is a strip club right across the street. Lucky for me I did not bring kids. Night club next door as well. Don't use the valet parking, there is a public parking facility just one block up and it is cheaper overnight. Do not count on a "business center" there is only one lame computer right by the elevators & you have to stand the whole time you are using it. I had to ask an employee who was greeting a buddy next to my room to please lower their voices at night because they were talking very loud (thus thin walls). They charge for breakfast no complimentary breakfast. There is a McDonalds up the street if you are looking to save money.
Positives: Reasonable price...try booking way in advance to get a better deal. Some friendly staff. Nice size room but tiny bathrooms. My room was facing away from the street on the 4th floor which was ideal. Two blocks up the street there is a side street with great restaurants if you are looking to stay close.
Overall ok but not what I expected for the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank let1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you felt your stay was simply okay with us. We definitely strive to make each guest experience a special one. We do lease a parking lot near our hotel for the convenience of our guests traveling with a vehicle, Please accept our apologies if this service was not beneficial during your stay. We offer a full breakfast buffet at a nominal charge in comparison to many of the restaurants located on south beach. Additionally our hotel is located in the heart of south beach and we are very close to many of the entertainment venues in the area. We have had the pleasure of hosting many families at our hotel that were pleased with our accommodations. I hope you will accept my apologies that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your opinion and we will continue to use the candid responses to help us improve.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the hotel. The staff was more than accommodating throughout my stay. The manager Joe was very helpful to me with directions and room service. He and the other staff members always greeted me a warm smile big hello. They all could not have been nicer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your post. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing Joe for his service, He takes great pride in caring for our guests and we are extremely lucky to have him. Thank you again and we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great trip for Art Basel. The hotel is located in an ideal location, walking distance to Lincoln Road, the beach and the convention center. Joe, who I believe manages the front desk was wonderful. He provided us with an early check in, a great room (for four people) and was truly hospitable. I look forward to going back again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laroma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us! We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding your visit. We're happy to hear that our hotel met your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Thanks again,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 208 in Miami Beach
799 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach

Property: Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach
Address: 1530 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With newly redesigned guest rooms and located in the Art Deco District, the Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach hotel is a historical landmark, restored to the glory and grandeur of the 1940s with modern amenities for your convenience. Our Miami hotel on South Beach is also just minutes from beautiful beaches and the premier shopping, dining and entertainment of Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive. Enjoy our stylish atmosphere and stay connected with free wireless internet access available throughout our South Beach, Florida hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Beach South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Courtyard Miami Beach South
Florida Marriott
Florida Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing