We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Location, Reasonable for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach
Ranked #94 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Location, Reasonable for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Two blocks from the beach, close to many bars, restaurants and places to sin. Not a kid-friendly hotel (what place in South Beach is?). Directly across the street is a super-garishly lit strip bar. Rooms are small and a bit tired but in good working order. All of the buildings around here are old so this is pretty much what you get at this price point. Have stayed here twice for business and iffy on coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces any direction but East. The neon lights of the strip bar across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you've returned after a couple of trips. I hope you will definitely return on your next trip to Miami. As you mentioned we are conveniently located to the beach and we will continue to provide the top notch service you have come to expect. Thank you again.

Regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    269
    154
    48
    26
See reviews for
233
154
27
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I found the hotel in need of a real cleaning and upgrade. I thought my room was sub-par and not real clean or for that matter nice. Very basic and not at all worth the $179.99 per night. The Pool is a low end Roof top pool --not much to offer. The Front desk guy was great which is why I gave it a 2 stars or I would have given it a 1 star. The area around the hotel, is a bit quectionable--stay some place else--

Room Tip: Here is a tip----find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do our best to keep the hotel well maintained and clean for our guest. Please accept my apologies for letting you down. We’ve found the majority of our guests have really enjoyed the pool area. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We will use your opinion to help us continue to improve. We definitely do not want travelers to choose another location. We pride ourselves in being a part of the Marriott family and we will make sure we meet the standards our guests have come to expect. Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Clean spacious room, with view of the ocean, staff very friendly from reception to valets. The buffet breakfast was good value for money. Ideal location to walk the boardwalk and visit neighboring hotels. The pool is large enough for serious swimmers with lots of sun loungers.

Room Tip: South rooms have fantastic view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbiandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you somuch for the positive feedback and we're happy you enjoyed your stay! We welcome you back anytime. Thanks again!

Best,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I can't quite figure out what was wrong with this property. The staff was kind enough, the check in and check out services was smooth and the internet was free and of good quality.
The location is just okay. It's not on the beach and in order to walk to the beach you have to go through some not so welcoming stores/clubs.
The bathroom and room had a decoration that was quite simple. The bed did not have the standard Marriott comfort. There were no amenities in this place that caught my attention.
When I sign up for a Marriott property I have a certain expectation. Although this was not a bad experience it did not live up to what I normally expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi_Biju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We're disappointed that we didn't leave a better impression on you during your stay. We did recently upgrade all of our mattresses in November to help provide a better night's sleep for our guests. We hope that you will continue to choose Marriott when you travel and we thank you for the feedback.

Regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 301. Room was clean and big enough. We needed a fridge to store medication and staff were obliging and helpful to find one and put in room for us.

Great location, not in beach but a short stroll to beach and shopping. There's a nightclub next door was worried would hear noise but we didn't. We did hear all the party goers coming and going thru the night as room near lift and apparently it's ok to have LOUD conversations in the hallways at all hours.

I didn't sleep well despite the extremely comfortable bed. Not the hotels fault but inconsiderate patrons.

Happy to recommend hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mememouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Mememouse,

Thank you for your feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay overall and apologize for the noisy guests during the night. We do have security on the premises and do our best to control any noise interruptions. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for a conference at the Miami Beach Convention Center in South Beach (about 4-5 blocks away). Staff was very nice - courteous, always checking to see how they could assist, etc. Definitely get an 'A' for service!

The hotel itself was ok. Showing a little wear, Location was pretty good. Near quite a few restaurants, coffee shops, so you could spend $$$ for lunch/dinner or just $. Hotel offered a $12.95 breakfast which included the staples you see on these buffets (eggs, sausage, bacon, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, muffins, bagels, etc.) It was good and definitely convenient.

Got upgraded ( a Marriott's reward customer), so had a room with two queen beds. Plenty spacious enough for me for a work function. Bathroom is that style where the sink is on the outside and toilet/tub are behind a door - so nothing spacious. there's a fridge under the bathroom sink, which was great but also a lousy location as it stuck out and I kept knocking my shin into it when i used the sink. Coffee maker on the sink counter top. Had a pool but I never got a chance to check it out. elevators were a little slow considering the size of the hotel (I think 5 floors). Room was pretty quiet. didn't hear noise from other rooms, though did hear people in the hallway - what you'd expect in this kind of layout.

Pros: location, service (great front desk staff), housekeeping did a great job, free internet, taxis were easy to get and near restaurants, so you could walk a half a block or a block and get some pretty decent food (some of the uber chic restaurants are anywhere from 1.2-4 or so miles away - so all is relatively close).

Cons: a little pricey for a Courtyard (I paid $219, some co workers paid $309). Probably due to its location and the fact that there was a going on. Rooms showing a bit of wear.

Would i go back? Yes - IF I could get a better price. The closer it gets to $250-$300, the more likely I would be to check out one of the smaller art deco hotels.

All-in-all, a good stay (5 days)

Room Tip: 4thy floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentTraveler1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We're happy to hear that the location and our amenities worked well for you. We hope you will decide to choose us again when you visit Miami.

Thank you,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a blast! My sister had never been to miami and I wanted to show her around and this hotel is in the perfect location. Its in the heart of South Beach and I find that I always get reasonable prices with the Marriot. i aways know what to expect with them. They are accomodating and it's always a comfortabel stay for me. If you want to party Dream is literally 1 second away from this hotel so you don't have to go far to party at all. There are tons of bars and lounges along the strip. We purchased a deluxe room for the 4 of us and it was perfect. really big... enough space to move around especially when your sharing a room with 3 other women and there is also a comfortable couch and I believe that pulld out as well. You don't need a car if you are staying here you can walk back and forth to Ocean drive and the shopping areas. If you take a cab the most you will pay is about 4-10 bucks... Another great Miami Trip!

Room Tip: Choose a dekuxe room more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsjarette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardFLL, General Manager at Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for the positive feedback! We're happy that you had a successful weekend trip with your girlfirends. We hope you will choose us again when you visit Miami. Thank you so much.

Warm regards,
Nanyce Lanier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
Hyatt Centric South Beach Miami
#57 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
AC Hotel Miami Beach
#90 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach

Property: Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach
Address: 1530 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7801
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Miami Beach South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Beach South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Courtyard Miami Beach South
Florida Marriott
Florida Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing