We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were highly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
Ranked #144 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We were highly disappointed”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was not on the beach like we thought . In fact it was 2 blocks away. The staff at the desk was not helpful , when we asked about a place to eat breakfast, she said she didn't know of any places , but gave us directions to a place 5 blocks away, while walking that way, we discovered 3 other places we could eat around the corner. Also make sure they lock your luggage up if you arrive before checkin, we asked twice and come to find out it was never secured. "it got missed" with all the other luggage it was there. The room was itsy bitty, and there was no hot water in the shower. We also had a closet bathroom. The Colony was a lot better-although the restaurant there sucked.

Room Tip: the Hot tub did not work, there was no pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nrsatheart36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    97
    79
    29
    47
See reviews for
19
145
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I stay in a weekend and was a great stay. The one bed room was nice and good for the price. The service was good and the room always was clean. I stayed im the 3rd floor and was a little noisy because there is a Club in the first floor . Clean, fresh and good service for the price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

On arrival I was put off by the smell in foyer..cleaning products...we stayed in studio, ..disappointing at first glance but then we find well stocked, basic and clean.We later discover a jacuzzi and sun beds ...so nice bonus. Location was superb and price was good as there is a night club below stairs!...so dont expect much sleep at weekends...

The reception staff were helpful but nothing more, maybe because we were not 'hotel guests'

The apartment had shower room, big, clean, the bedroom suitable for 3, altho smallish, with sink and microwave and stocked with crockery ...some complementary drinks included..nice touch. Linen can be alot better, Air-conditioned, room not cleaned during stay , so services not included, but this is welcome, no interruptions from cleaning staff..if food left lying around..ants will appear..but expected I guess.

I DO recommend this place for its price and location, comparable places much more expensive but noise from nightclub distinct disadvantage unless you stay out also!...but this is reflected in price.

I think i would stay again...its for people that will be out all day.

Room Tip: we stayed street side ,,prefer quieter room next time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudeshBunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I recently spent two weeks in South Beach and my stay at this hotel was a very positive part of that experience. The people at the desk were helpful, courteous and pleasant. My thanks especially to Mel -- who was always there with friendly advice to any question or concern that I had. To Junior, who assisted me on several occasions.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely clean. The air conditioner worked well when needed. The hotel is situated in a place where almost everything is either within walking distance or close to public transit.
In all, my stay was a very positive experience!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattyN47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Perfect for a couple nights before going on cruise. Tomas was very helpful going so far as to help find accomodations for last minute extra guests. The room is simple but nice. Lots of nice touchs like free snacks, beach towels/toys, sun screen, etc. Location is only 2 blocks from the beach and all the popular bars/shopping/restaurants. Took taxi from airport and had no need for a car over two days of sight seeing. Am light sleeper but no issue at all with noise. For the price overall very good value and service provided by Tomas was outstanding.

Room Tip: Room 329 was just as pictured overlooked whirlpool no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Link1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Royal South Beach for 6 nights over New Year; expectations were not high [previous reviews are a mixed bag to say the least], but it actually was fine. Reasonably cheap, clean, comfortable bed and extremely well located for all the South Beach action. The room was OK size wise, the shower was fine, and the interior decoration is very much an acquired taste; moulded white fibre glass that looks as though it's landed from a 1970's sci-fi movie. We actually grew to like it, although it is being replaced as we appear to be in the minority. The air conditioning unit was a bit random and occasionally noisy. Otherwise, we had no noise issues, so good to aim for the 3rd/top floor.

We arrived late and were "greeted" by the night porter. Reviews had prepared us for this.... He wasn't actually viewing porn [as one previous reviewer reported], but eye contact was non existent, various grunts were the full extent of communication, and he told me he was unable to process my card, although it turned out that it had actually gone through. Generally, he did everything to put us off. Quite why he is employed in a country where service is king is a total mystery. On the plus side, Mel the manager was charming, helpful, funny and polite.

Unless starvation has really taken a hold, ignore the "breakfast" in the foyer. The very worst of American coffee, stale croissants and oversized muffins and er... that's it. There are plenty of great diners within 3 mins walk. Our favourite was the News Cafe on Ocean Drive.


Manage your expectations, celebrate what's good about the Royal don't worry about the more dated stuff and you'll find it decent value. And there is the most brilliant pub right next door - Clandestino. For those who have struggled to find decent beer in the USA, this place is Mecca. Great music too.

Nick Ryle

Room Tip: Go for the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bodley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I plan a yearly trip to Miami Beach. This year we decided to go with this hotel. We were very pleased with the hotel and the service that we received during our time here for our anniversary. There were two rooms (beds) with two televisions. Just in case we did not want to watch the same thing, we had the option to watch something different. Of course, we watched everything together. There was a black leather couch which gave us additional seating. Very nice.staff; accomodating. Very helpful with questions especially about parking. Parking was horrible. $1 per hour or $1.75 per hour depending on where you parked. Would not recommend a car but it was good to get around to the destinations like football games, boat tours etc. We were 2 blocks from the beach and we had a solarium on top of the hotel with lawn chairs and hot tub. Definitely would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: No pool and no fitness center. Glass block windows brought in a lot of sun in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandaceYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 207 in Miami Beach
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fashion Boutique Hotel
Fashion Boutique Hotel
#168 of 207 in Miami Beach
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,806 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pierre
Hotel Pierre
#189 of 207 in Miami Beach
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Property: Royal South Beach Hotel
Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing