We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
Ranked #144 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok place GREAT LOCATION”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The room was nice and clean. As other people have mentioned you can hear the night club, but we where out most nights later than the club closed. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for a cheap clean place to stay and are only going to sleep in the room. We did have a problem with the toilet but they did fix it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jag16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel F, Manager at Royal South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are glad you had a pleasant stay. We hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    97
    79
    29
    47
See reviews for
19
145
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The place was very clean and as seen in the pictures. The location was awesome. The rooftop was great to sit out on as well but keep in mind the jacuzzi up there does not work and i wouldnt recommend taking a dip in it lol. Um lets see the plumbing here has old pipes i guess so the septic system kinda sucked and my toilet got clogged a few times and overflowed once too. The shower could use a new head as well. Overall the place was cool for the price i paid on such an expensive weekend. If it wasnt for the few things above mentioned and the fact that my last night here the desk lady was overly nosy trying to peek in my room and had the nerve to question my guests and me when coming in at 430am AND following me up to my room pretty much causing a scene (mind you it was the only night we had gone out over the memorial weekend and we never bothered anyone) i would have gave this place 5 stars. The host was very responsive polite and helpful before and during my stay. Would i stay here again? probably not.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzle401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great location for those who do not want to rent a car. It is possible to move by using public buses. The hotel is 3 blocks far from the beach and main Avenues like Collins Av., Ocean Drive and Washington Av.
The service was good, hotel personnel was nice and very helpful.
I recommend to improve the cleaning and the computer at the reception. Internet access is very slow when using hotel computer. When I used the wi-fi connection with my laptop I did not have any problem.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmundo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Royal just one night on our way down to Key West. We arrived before check in at around 11am. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to leave our bags "locked up" while we went to lunch and waited for a room to be ready to check in to. The only problem with this was that the bags are "locked up" with what is essentially a bike lock right near the front door. This would certainly stop a thief from running off with your bags, but not from opening them. We made sure to take everything of value out of our bags and keep it with us. Other than this minor detail, this hotel was great. Friendly staff, clean room, and a good location. We were able to walk to all of our favorite spots on Washington and to the Lincoln Rd Mall area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaPulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Unfortunately booked before reading reviews.Read before arrival to reviews about noise of late night club on ground floor. Arrived early (11am) to check room booked by easy to book reserved for 15.00. Offered last left (over nightclub). Receptionship agreed it would be noisy but nothing she could do as Spring break and VERY busy. Requested to cancel, told her she could relet the room and it was agreed we would find another place to stay. However, told we would have to reclaim from easyto book.com as she couldn't authorize a refund. She gave us their internet access code to cancel with easy book as we only had a UK mobile. Their email reply was 'charged due to no show'. As we booked in Florida but live in UK I wrote on return to request a refund as the full amount of $142.62 was taken from our bank account despite giving them full details of our reasons. To date neither the hotel or easy to book has bothered to reply to my complaints. Very poor customer service. We travel a great deal and will never use easy tobook again and have warned all our friends in UK too.

Room Tip: Read reviews about rooms and ensure your request is accepted before booking.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheelagh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

People this is a great Hotel. Especially the working crew overthere. I was verry happy with all their help. Nothing was too much. Advices in restaurants, cabs, clubs shops etc. etc. Great Great People. Greetings from Thierry, Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thierry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went to the Royal South Beach Hotel 3/27-30th, and had a good time! The hotel is situated approx. 3 blocks from the beach, 2 blocks from Ocean Dr. and close to everything happening in South beach. The hotel staff (especially Ms. Mel) was helpful and nice and the bed and shower were comfortable. The hotel is 'historic', don't expect a four- star hotel at these affordable prices! Really, what more could you ask for at the price and LOCATION!

Room Tip: Maybe a room further from the elevator , but that is a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pierre
Hotel Pierre
#189 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fashion Boutique Hotel
Fashion Boutique Hotel
#168 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#75 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Property: Royal South Beach Hotel
Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing