We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, great price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
Ranked #146 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location, great price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Royal just one night on our way down to Key West. We arrived before check in at around 11am. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to leave our bags "locked up" while we went to lunch and waited for a room to be ready to check in to. The only problem with this was that the bags are "locked up" with what is essentially a bike lock right near the front door. This would certainly stop a thief from running off with your bags, but not from opening them. We made sure to take everything of value out of our bags and keep it with us. Other than this minor detail, this hotel was great. Friendly staff, clean room, and a good location. We were able to walk to all of our favorite spots on Washington and to the Lincoln Rd Mall area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaPulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    95
    79
    29
    47
See reviews for
19
142
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Unfortunately booked before reading reviews.Read before arrival to reviews about noise of late night club on ground floor. Arrived early (11am) to check room booked by easy to book reserved for 15.00. Offered last left (over nightclub). Receptionship agreed it would be noisy but nothing she could do as Spring break and VERY busy. Requested to cancel, told her she could relet the room and it was agreed we would find another place to stay. However, told we would have to reclaim from easyto book.com as she couldn't authorize a refund. She gave us their internet access code to cancel with easy book as we only had a UK mobile. Their email reply was 'charged due to no show'. As we booked in Florida but live in UK I wrote on return to request a refund as the full amount of $142.62 was taken from our bank account despite giving them full details of our reasons. To date neither the hotel or easy to book has bothered to reply to my complaints. Very poor customer service. We travel a great deal and will never use easy tobook again and have warned all our friends in UK too.

Room Tip: Read reviews about rooms and ensure your request is accepted before booking.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheelagh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

People this is a great Hotel. Especially the working crew overthere. I was verry happy with all their help. Nothing was too much. Advices in restaurants, cabs, clubs shops etc. etc. Great Great People. Greetings from Thierry, Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thierry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went to the Royal South Beach Hotel 3/27-30th, and had a good time! The hotel is situated approx. 3 blocks from the beach, 2 blocks from Ocean Dr. and close to everything happening in South beach. The hotel staff (especially Ms. Mel) was helpful and nice and the bed and shower were comfortable. The hotel is 'historic', don't expect a four- star hotel at these affordable prices! Really, what more could you ask for at the price and LOCATION!

Room Tip: Maybe a room further from the elevator , but that is a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Best bang for your buck! best location, clean rooms, but especially very friendly and helpfull staff! Never changing Hotel if I wanna go to Miami again!

Sander

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aragorn90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here last month the day before we left to go on our cruise thinking we were getting a good place at a good price. What a JOKE!! The pictures dont do it justice..the picture fabricate this beautiful place when it was in reality a dump. Luckily for us it is located in a really good area so we didnt spend to much time in the room just enough to catch a few hours of sleep after partying all night. Right across the street from the Dash store, a few blocks from the Love and Hate tattoo shop and on the same street as the famous Madonna club. According to our reservation we were supposed to have just a queen bed..when we arrived there was also a daybed in the room and the comforter i am assuming was to be white but was actually brown. Our door was located in the stair well on your way out to the solarium. The so called kitchenette is a cabinet in the corner with a microwave, an electric burner, and some dishes. Oh and as for the resturaunt on site...um ya we asked the girl at the front desk and she had no idea what i was talking about. There is alot of noise due to the location of the hotel but i think i drank too much to really notice. I was so disapponted i highly considered looking for another room but considering we were there to party before going on our cruise. It was a place to sleep. BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Destiny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We recently returned from a Florida trip and stayed three nights here, three nights in Tampa and two nights in another hotel in Miami. I don't know how this hotel gets as many good ratings as it does. This is a terrible hotel with the one ABOVE AVERAGE aspect of very good front desk people. The room itself was not good. Like I said we were there three nights. The room was not cleaned after the first night and it was then that we found a door knob hanger that said to have the room cleaned you had to put the hanger on the outside of the door. So we did that and still the room wasn't cleaned the next day. So we were there three days, two nights, and the room was never cleaned. There was hair all over the place---bathroom and sheets, and that was BEFORE we slept in the bed. There was mildly warm water in the shower but I have to be generous to say it was even warm--almost cool. There was no water pressure--I mean the shower water almost just drained out. The bed was awful, soft, lumpy, like sleeping on lumpy dough. Yes, it WAS a pretty inexpensive place to stay in relation to the area, but it was not worth the savings. Oh yes, the windows are thin and we heard partying on the streets and arguements on the sidewalks all night.....and I was awake til about 2-3 a.m. EVERY SINGLE NIGHT--and not by choice. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Funinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#95 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Starlite Hotel
#158 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#130 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#166 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Hotel Pierre
#185 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#105 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Property: Royal South Beach Hotel
Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing