We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second floor ikea room”
Review of The Franklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Franklin Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Miami Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worcs
Level Contributor
189 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“second floor ikea room”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

on check in it was obvious that staff just wanted to get home.(there is no one there at night )We had specifically asked for a bath but got a shower.Very overpriced.I note that the last review cited their stay at La Flora just up the road as much better.By coincidence that was where we had stayed at the beginning of our trip and that reviewer is absolutely spot on La FLora is much better in every way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patbrownett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    87
    19
    4
    8
See reviews for
83
89
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
312 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice modern studio apartment in central location. This is more of a self catering accommodation with limited hotel services. There is a full kitchen, free wifi, iron, but no safe. Staff was very friendly and helpful.The bathroom however was poorly lit and there was not enough shelf space to put things.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night which was New Years Eve but it was fantastic! Location is excellent one block from Ocean Drive. The room was just perfect. The staff were amazing and really went that extra mile for us. We look forward to staying there next time we travel to South Beach.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The second I met the staff I was all set with staying here, attitude was that of person not interested in the client. The room was overpriced based on comparable rooms. I choose the La Flora hotel which was better situated and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I recently wrote a review to express my dissatisfaction of being allocated a room at the front of this hotel and not being able to fall asleep till after 5am from sheer exhaustion.Well, have to say, that the reception staff changed me over to a room at the back the following day.extremely happy and was able to sleep well the rest of the trip. As well, we left a computer charger in the room and were flying out to Singapore so we couldnt have it sent somewhere in the U.S. anyway, the hotel staff posted it to us but unfortunately it never made it to us. They then went and took responsibility and reimbursed us for the charger-which they didnt have to do. Totally satisfied and happy with the hotel and their fantastic service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiegirlinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The appartement is very nice, modernly equipped. It is very clean and the team is very nice and helpful. The location is also very central, but as the iappartment is not very sound proof from street noise, it gives sometimes the impression to sleep in the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julien G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here as a group of 5 20somethings for a ten day beach holiday culminating with Ultra Music Festival.

The apartment is in the perfect location, 2 minutes walk from the beach & 7Eleven, with a Liqor Store and pleanty of food options right outside! An easssy taxi ride into down town for the American Airlines arena (~ $25 door to door)

One issue we had was that you aren't allowed visitors after 11 o'clock, fine if you're travelling as a couple or family, but if you're on the pull this can be problematic if you want to take people back to your place (it was for us.)

Its no smoking in the rooms, but at the end of each corridor the fire escape is fine as a smoking area, as someone from the UK with the smoking ban, this was to be expected and wasn't a problem for us!

Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavesNotHereMan1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel

Property: The Franklin Hotel
Address: 860 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5808
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Franklin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE FRANKLIN IS A BEAUTIFULLY RENOVATED ART DECO BOUTIQUE HOTEL LOCATED IN THE HEART OF MIAMI BEACH'S HISTORIC DISTRICT. BUILT IN 1934, THE FRANKLIN HOTEL'S ART DECO FACADE, CLASSIC MEDITERRANEAN TILE FLOORS, AND FULLY RESTORED NATURAL WOOD LOBBY LENDS GUESTS THE ALLURE OF OLD MIAMI WHILE OFFERING ARTFULLY CURATED ROOMS WITH CHIC MODERN LIVING ACCOMMODATIONS. WAKE UP WRAPPED IN WHITE LINEN SHEETS AND MARSHMALLOW PILLOWS AS YOU LOOK OUT YOUR WINDOW OVER THE PALM TREE LINED STREETS OF SOUTH BEACH IN ONE OF OUR FULLY FURNISHED LOFT-STYLE APARTMENTS. ROLL OUT OF BED AS YOU WALK OVER TO YOUR KITCHEN TO START YOUR DAY WITH RELAXING CUP OF COFFEE. AS YOU LAY BACK ON YOUR PLUSH DAYBED SOFA, ENJOY THE PEACEFUL QUIET BEFORE STUMBLING DOWNSTAIRS TO OUR FAST CASUAL CAFÉ FOR A BITE TO EAT AS THE CITY BEGINS TO WAKE. HEAD BACK UPSTAIRS TO YOUR SUITE FOR A REFRESHING HOT SHOWER IN YOUR BATHROOM LINED WITH HANDPICKED SUBWAY TILES BEFORE GETTING DRESSED AND HEADING OUT TO EXPLORE THE CITY. STANDING ON THE FRONT PATIO JUST STEPS AWAY FROM SOUTH BEACH'S CALMING WHITE SAND BEACHES AND BUSTLING NIGHT LIFE, LET THE TROPICAL BREEZE ROLL OVER YOU AS YOU SAY TO YOURSELF, THIS IS MIAMI. The Franklin Hotel. We Are Miami. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Franklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing