We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What kind of mattresses do they use?!?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I just got back from the Palms. I plan on going shopping for beds & mattresses next week and fell in love with the mattresses at The Palms. Does anyone know what brand they use?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MilwaukeeMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMPalms, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2010

We are very happy that you enjoyed our matresses so much that you actually would like to purchase the same one for yourself! The brand of the mattress is Sealy Posteurpedic Pillow top. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,602)
There are newer reviews for The Palms Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,566 - 1,572 of 2,602 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2010

Several times a year we go to Miami Beach to getaway, always trying out new hotels. Our experiences have always been good to excellent. The Palms was a huge disappointment and, at $250 a night, a rip-off. Our room wasn't ready at the 4:00 check-in. We waited for an hour and were given a room missing a night table lamp and with broken phones. We were moved to a new room with a broken phone and a burned-out light in the bathroom. After reporting both the phone was repaired; the light never was. Carpet had an open and shredding seam in a prominent walking area. On the second day our room hadn't been serviced by 4:00. And this was just our experience. The friends we traveled with had a piece of luggage lost for 24 hours and dried blood on the bedsheets. Most disappointing was the attitude and response of the staff. Lots of "I'm Sorry"s but little care or effort to rectify problems quickly. The hotel felt to be understaffed and the staff they had were not skilled in customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skhsrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I have never posted a review but read them often. I just came back from a 4 day, 3 night stay at the Palms Hotel. I attended an intimate wedding of 10 people there as well. The hotel was breathtaking. The wedding was amazing--I highly recommend it to anyone who is considering a destination wedding. The food at the hotel was delicious as well.

I was most impressed with the service. Everyone was super accomodating and very friendly. I brought a 15 month old with me and all of the staff went out of their way to make things easier for me.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lomby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stay** The Palms Hotel and Spa was a very relaxing stay and one of the most beautiful hotels on the beach. The staff is very diverse (Europeans, Africans, Haitians, South Americans, Hispanics, North Americans, etc.) and very friendly and attentive.
City View Room** Updated, comfortable, and clean. We had to call front desk however, to figure out how to use the shower as regular/ normal as opposed to using the rainhead shower. The breakfast was wonderful and included a nice spread of things to choose from.
Location** This hotel was a long scenic walk or a quick bus ride to lincoln rd, bayside market (fun and energetic!!) and downtown, or south beach (5th and ocean dr to 15th and ocean dr.). This hotel is on the more quiet end where you can get a good night's rest after visiting the loud and busy ocean drive, washington and collins. We mostly took the bus for $2 during the day and a $8-$10 cab ride at night. The beach is absolutely beautiful but the hotel needs to get more umbrellas and chairs. They should not run out so quickly when they charge you a resort fee for them.
Service** Mostly superb throughout the hotel! They took care of us in Room 629 anytime we had a question or concern and someone was up to address it promptly.

Problems** On the first day, we found little hairs on the sheets when pulling back the covers. I showed them and Meesha was very apologetic and sent clean linens right away. She also gave us a $25 voucher. The staff was very nice and we always tipped them when they came up. Also, at dinner one evening, a 5'7, young, latina hostess, with blond and black curly hair was very rude to us by attempting to seat the people behind us while we were talking to her! Management assured us they'd address such rude service. We also had an issue at checkout, where they added charges that weren't ours to the bill!! They took some time to look into and removed it for us without any hassle.

The supervisor, a petite lady of Hispanic descent, at breakfast was very nice and on top of things. Also, a thin, young african american girl was very nice and attentive at breakfast daily! Many other hotel guests liked her as well. The caucasion young lady at the bar with a long ponytail was also one of the nicest and attentive people we encountered at the hotel. The young guy from Russia with blond hair, did a great job at the beach service! The bellmen/ valet were helpful, especially Louis from Columbia. He was one of the nicest, most helpful person we met while in Miami Beach. Upon arriving July 8th my cousin and I were greeted nicely by a soft spoken, short, african american lady at the front desk. Since I paid for a room with breakfast daily, but was unable to take advantage of it 2 days out of the 5 due to arrival and departure I asked for hotel management to compliment us just one free lunch for one day. Unfortunately, she said no and did not even ask them for us. However, most of the staff here are clean, attentive, helpful, professional.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohio1Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

very nice hotel,direct access to the private beach, pool, well located, nice staff.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Audrouchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Okay so my Fiance and I stayed at The Palms Hotel & Spa for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend.. I only have 3 complaints.. The 1st is ALL MY FAULT.. I booked a city view room instead of an ocean front... Shame on ME! The 2nd The bathroom is GREAT Loved the spa shower, HOWEVER the bathroom is TINY.. I mean the hallway was soooo long that they could've easily allowed for more space in the bathroom! The shower area is large and easily accomodates 2.. But the square footage of the bathroom itself is a crying shame! My 3rd and final complaint is the Late Night Room Service Menu... There just wasn't much on it.. I wish they would've had more options.. But that is all as far as complaints go!

The hotel which feels more like a resort is BEAUTIFUL.. Our room was excellent, it was spacious, and the bed was sooo comfortable! We stayed in room 605 (BTW). The pool area is beautiful, the TikiBar while small gets the job done, the drinks aren't strong but they are delicious! The pool side service is great, the towels are plentiful, the parrots are great, the private beach is also great... They set up the chairs and umbrellas for you.. Just ask & its NO PROBLEM.. The beach was nice..although it appeared really deep to me.. (I'm no swimmer) but about 4 ft in and the water was up to my chest and the current is pretty strong... But there isn't much the resort can do about that LOL!

In any evet my Fiance and I had a WONDERFUL time and we will most certainly be back! We're thinking about making it a 4th of July tradition!

So, what ever your reservations may be put them to the side & go! 1 word of caution... If you're not a walker ... Make sure you get a rental or be prepared to spend $$ on taxi's because The Palm's is about a good 20 blocks (2 miles) from the SoBe action. I'm from NYC so I enjoyed the scenic walks.. But I know some aren't so enclined.. So just a word of caution! Taxi's were pretty easy to catch to & from the hotel so the choice is yours.. But other than that.. Its a wonderful & beautiful resort!

On and there were tons of amenities that we didn't use but seemed wonderful i.e. The Spa, Bars, Restaurants, and Fitness Center.

Kisses,
MsSoSick

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MsSoSick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The website does no justice to the actual facility. It is GORGEOUS!! We were greeted by professional bellmen with "Welcome to Paradise." As a federal govt employee, I requested a complimetary upgrade upon check-in to an oceanview room and the asst manager Miriam did not oblige, which was fine. We received our keys and to our surprise, we were checked in to someone else's room! Even the wonderful bellman, Altan, knew that something wasn't right, as he had checked someone into that same room earlier. Luckily, they were not there. He was very apologetic...however, when we got back to the front desk, Miriam did not say a word, only re-keyed the key cards and slid them across the front desk. This was disappointing. She later called and said that it wasnt someone elses room (yeah right), but that the room just hadn't been cleaned (It was after 8pm)...still no apology. She sent up breakfast certificates for the next morning. Many hotel employees advised us to speak to Alex, the front desk manager. We went to breakfast, which was AWESOME!!! After breakfast, we explained the situation to Alex. He was VERY apologetic and accomodating. He upgraded us to an oceanview room and guaranteed us a pleasant stay. Pleasant was an understatement. The rest of the trip was beyond words...simply beautiful. The only final glitch is that somehow a valet charge was applied to our room when we checked out this morning around 4:25am. The lady at the front desk was very understanding that this was a mistake (as we took a taxi to/from the hotel) and removed it with no hassle. Aside from poor customer service from Miriam, we agreed that we would definitely stay here again!! Here are some tips:
**Although pricey, try the breakfast buffet at least once. It was off the hook!! We can't say the same for dinner, but definitely try the breakfast. The hummus was the best part of the dinner. It was soooo good!
**Go out of the hotel, walk a few blocks to the left and eat breakfast at Tropical Beach Cafe...phenomenal--GREAT FOOD, GREAT PRICE!
**The beach and beach access was impeccable- excellent service--staff will come & exchange your towels. One guy on staff even gave us his sunscreen since we hadnt been to Walgreens yet to purchase some!
**The pool was relaxing and perfect both day & night (24 hours). Superb staff will bring you a menu and follow-up.
**We decided to forego the Aveda Spa and spend money shopping, but the spa ran a 50% OFF SPECIAL on the Friday we were there. THAT was such a blessing! We ended up having a massage, facial, & body treatment! Sandra was great.
**Walk to Lincoln Rd isnt bad, but the heat will make you want a shower by the time you get there. Catch a cab there (for about $8) and walk back after 9pm when the sun goes down.
**Our room was above a wedding reception, so the music was loud until about 1am, but we were too sleepy to care!
**Roosm and bathrooms aren't as small as some other reviews describe. It was great to have a seperate room for the sink toilet and a seperate room for the sink/shower...gave us two sinks and two spaces to prep!!
**Concierge was very helpful at all times.
**Thank yous to certain staff members who made the connection and made us feel like our money was well-spent: Jeremy,Emerick, Altan (Turkey), Alleny Sanchez, & especially Alex. THANKS!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,176 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,801 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $205 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing